$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
195 reviews
Awesome family trip

Staff are friendly and helpful. Room is very clean but need some more towel (we have only 2). Hotel... See full review

  • Loan Heiderb
  • May 4, 2015
Awesome family trip!

The hotel was one block off Muchigan Avenue. The staff was great! They were all very friendly and... See full review

  • Beth K.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 195
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkcajun1
Business
Fishers
Apr 24, 2015

Excellent Location - Pet Friendly

The Red Roof Inn has an excellent location near Chicago's magnificient mile. It is pet friendly and dogs stay free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PVel
Business
Chicago
Mar 17, 2015

Great Location

Don't be fooled and don't be a fool. You don't have to be a millionaire to find a good hotel for a good price in Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Red Roof Inn might not be a 5 star hotel but you can't beat the location. Culture tourists will be pleased to know you can walk from the hotel to The Arts Club, The Museum of Contemporary Art and the Art Institute. And even though the room layout is a bit ackward, the hotel is super clean and the staff super attentive and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy7
Business
Galesburg
Mar 9, 2015

Nice hotel great location

Great location, affordable, clean, nice for a quick trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ligia a.
Business
ny
Mar 2, 2015

Perfect location great price

It is what it is, cheap but great location especially if you are not going to spend time in the hotel and just outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gregory M.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Red Roof Inn

I'm often in Chicago for a few days a week. I go for the cheap cause you aren't going to spend a lot of time in your room. But, as in most my reviews, you get what you pay for. You want a boutique hotel, go pay a premium. You want a decent place to rest your head and then start up the great time that Chicago is again the next day, then this place will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Tee
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Would Not Recommend

This was a last minute stay due to the recent Chicago storm and it was an awful experience. Upon checkin, there was a huge dog near the front desk with his bones and food nearby in full view. My room was cold and I could not adjust the temperature because there were no batteries in the thermostat. My bedding was extremely dirty with stains across both queen bedspreads and lastly the shower head was broken. Please think twice before booking here. You will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pj.851
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Great value for basic accomodations.

Great value if all you need is basic accommodations. Hotel is in need of a makeover--looking a little run down. Quiet and a great location for Michigan Ave. and convenient to the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top