$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
145 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 145
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing traveller
Florida
Jul 10, 2014

Good location

Good location,nice price,a good choice for shot trip.I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing traveller
Florida
Jul 9, 2014

Good location

Good location, nice price, a good choice for short travel, I'll recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nasilem
Madison, Wisconsin
May 4, 2014

Chicago getaway

Really cheap for its price though the room and lobby is quite small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

a walking distance to Michigan avenue and a bus trip to millennium park.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nasilem
Madison, Wisconsin
Apr 29, 2014

Chicago getaway

Great location, and quite cheap! Service there still has a lot of room to be improved, but overall, I would come here again because of the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Michigan avenue is right at the corner. And to go to the main area like the millenium park, skydeck etc. is just a $2.25 bus trip away.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UGHHHHHHH
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 28, 2014

definitely felt cheap

Yes I was looking for a cheap hotel quickly, but this was a little too cheap for me. So first off they get you with a terrible $44 dollar parking charge, which I was not aware of. The valet was very very polite though, so was the front desk clerk when we arrived. We got to our room and the TV was on, kind of weird. The safe was also locked, so I called the front desk, and they told us we had to change rooms. So we packed up all of our stuff, came back down to the lobby and they gave us a new room. TV was on again, so now we figured it was just something they do (which I think is really weird, not even like the hotels channel or anything, but like sport center was on in the first room, and then a telemundo spanish channel was on in the second). There was a dirty towel in our bathroom laying in the middle of the floor. We decided not to complain this time because we didn't want to pack up our things AGAIN and get switched over a towel. At least the save worked this time. The next morning we were in a rush to get ready, and of course what else could go wrong but the toilet over flowing. It didn't even have any reason to clog, the flush just didn't work and water went everywhere, flowing out of the bathroom into the hallway. Not cool. So I called the front desk (it was about 6 am) and the service lady said "um….okay….can you wait an hour?" UMMM NOO!!! there is water spilling out of the toliet! Bring us some towels or something! Jeez! Needless to say, we could have cared less at this point, because we were leaving in twenty minutes, so we called the valet to bring our car and they told us 10 minutes. It took 30. Not a good experience, but what can you do when you want a cheap hotel quick. (i went with it originally because i saw a few average reviews so i figured it wouldn't be for just a quick overnight stay. I was wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paulyd9331
Madison, Wisconsin
Nov 23, 2013

Quick stay in Chicago

Great location for a great price. I had to get a visa the next morning and it was a close walk to many consulates and a lot of restaurants. The hotel was ordinary, but clean and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeedOo
chicago
Nov 17, 2013

Nice trip with my friends

nice location,but it doesn't have parking ,so I paid 44 just for my car.Nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel25
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 5, 2013

Backstreet Boys Concert!

The hotel was in a wonderful location, right in the middle of everything. Would definitely stay there again & recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Han Cheng Huang
west lafayette, IN
May 6, 2013

Students from Purdue

this hotel is pretty comfort with good location but the valet parking is a little bit too slow that need to be improve, otherwise everything is fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Siirena
Dallas TX
Apr 23, 2013

bring your own broom

We opted for the Red Roof Inn because the location was ideal for an event we were attending for the weekend. I understand about check in policies, but I had never experienced *any* hotel not allowing for a little earlier check in (RRI has a 4pm time). It all made sense later... As we were coming down the elevator, a woman told us to check our sheets because she found bed bugs in hers. We returned and thankfully did not find anything in our beds. The cleaning of the room was marginal. My bed just had the covers pulled but beneath, the bottom sheet had not even been stretched. There was a small piece of paper on the bathroom floor that remained for the entire 3 days we were there, making it clear the maid was not sweeping, much less moping the bathroom floor. The coffee and tea supplies were never re-stocked, and even some empty sugar wrappings and used cups left behind. The hotel has an ideal location, the room was very comfortable. The front staff's friendliness ranged from dry and bothered to very friendly. I hope the hotel corrects the mediocre cleaning of rooms.... no wonder they cannot possibly check in guests a little earlier!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search