$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
199 reviews
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Safe, Secure, Clean, Comfortable, AWESOME STAFF!

I'm not fancy but this hotel checked off all the important boxes where I am concerned. This hotel... See full review

  • NordicGoddess
  • May 30, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 199
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Big time
St. Louis, MO
Feb 18, 2014

red roof

This hotel is exactly what you pay for; rooms are small and there are no king size beds. Bathroom was not clean and I wore bags on my feet to take a shower. Elevators are the size of a kids room.This hotel is just an absolute bust and needs a lot of improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are not that far

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whatever13
Springfield il
Nov 11, 2013

Not

The room was not how the pictures showed on the website . Very small and bathroom was nasty. Elevator only could fit two people in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing123
Little ROck Arkansas
Jul 17, 2013

Practical solution

We were pleased with this hotel. A clean and safe rooms was all we were looking for and that's what we got. As far as we could tell there were no significant amenities beyond the location, but that was huge. This reasonably priced hotel is one block off the big shopping street of Michigan Ave. It is a practical solution to balancing amenities with cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We travel on the cheap but found that a cab was competitive with the cost of public transportation for four people getting to the museum campus (Shedd Aqarium and Field museum) and definitely for the Art Institute. Like all cities, get to attractions early as the lines get long.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detroit Mom
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2013

Chicago Mother/Daughter weekend

I could have lived with the closet-sized room. After all, all you do is sleep there. But the sandy grime in the bathtub? Disgusting. There were two incredibly slow, cramped elevators. But don't dare try to get on one during "cleaning time". TWICE the elevator doors opened for me only to be told by staff already in the elevator that I would have to wait for the next one because it was full. What? Any respectable hotel would inform their staff to disembark and give guests the elevator if needed. I waited for another five minutes for another elevator to return when we decided to take the stairs down instead. Opened the stairwell door to a DARK STAIRWELL! No lights. Hmmmm. That doesn't feel safe. So back to waiting for an elevator. All this for ONLY $199/night! Disappointing and disgusted don't even begin to describe my stay at this horrible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmink
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Chi-town visit

We checked in on Friday. The staff at the counter did her job and was nice about it, but more robotic than friendly...no small talk. She was more concerned about leaving because her shift was over than helping the line of 4 people that walked in behind me. We moved into our Suite with 4 people, 2 in the bedroom and 2 on the sofa sleeper. Actually one on the sofa sleeper, one on the floor because the sofa sleeper was so small. No extra blankets for the sofa sleeper, so we called down to the desk. We had to go and get them. The room came with 2 bathrooms, one with a shower and one without which was great, but only 2 bath towels. We called down to the desk, but again we had to go and get them. I assumed this was because there was only one person at the desk. Maybe a little under staffed. The stay was pleasant, but all we really used the room for was sleep. They told us to give the valet our ticket 15 min. before we needed the vehicle. Good thing we gave it to him 30 min. early because it took 30 min. to get it. For the price, i guess it was what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect location, but then again, isn't every hotel on the magnificent mile

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonyaG
pleasant hill,mo
Apr 2, 2013

Great location and value

I was very happy with my decision to stay here. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Yes it's pretty basic but I couldn't have asked for more at the price I paid. I would definitely recommend someone stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the breakfast at yolk.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler4250
Indiana
Jul 7, 2012

Don't turn around!

While location can't be beat at this hotel, they've apparently taken a single room and made it into a double with two full beds. If you're young and traveling with a backpack, the room is perfect. Otherwise, consider the room to be where you park it and sleep and nothing else. Beds are old, just enough room to get round the bed, little room for luggage - even the bathroom is half-size. Pay a little more to stay somewhere you can turn around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try hitting floors 14-15 in the Merchandise Mart - while a lot of wholesale showrooms have closed due to the economy, you can still visit a few with sample sales that will sell to the public at 1/2 off of wholesale. Cash only, bring your own bags. General home stuff, but also has furniture..

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ewinck
Pittsburgh, Penssylvania
Jun 30, 2012

Fantastic Location

This hotel is in a fantastic location. It's a good hotel, thought the room was a little small. Besides that, everything absolutely fine. Very good option if you wanna stay downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baseball trip gang
washington dc
Jun 8, 2012

Convenient location

The location was great and price was very reasonable. The front desk was understaffed and didn't coordinate well with the valet/parking attendant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wildcat
Manhattan, Kansas
Jun 1, 2012

Nice location, Nice staff!

It's really close to the downtown that I don even need a ride. Some good restaurants around and the staff are really nice and warm. Overall, will stay there again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top