$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
194 reviews
Awesome family trip

Staff are friendly and helpful. Room is very clean but need some more towel (we have only 2). Hotel... See full review

  • Loan Heiderb
  • May 4, 2015
Awesome family trip!

The hotel was one block off Muchigan Avenue. The staff was great! They were all very friendly and... See full review

  • Beth K.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 194
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 18, 2008

LOCATION-LOCATION

THE RED ROOF IN CHICAGO, WAS IN A PERFECT LOCATION, AT THE CORNER OF MICHIGAN AVE. & ONTARIO. THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT, NOTHING ELSE WAS. THE ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL, WALLPAPER PEELING OFF THE WLLS, TUB/SHOWER WAS ALL PEELED, AND PLASTER PEELING. IN ADDITION, THE ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN, AND PEOPLE WERE FORCED TO USE THE STAIRS. VERY OLD, AND CREEPY ROOMS. NO RESTAURANT, OR BAR, AND ALL THEY HAD FOR THE MORNING, WAS A MACHINE WHICH DISPENSED COFFE, AND HOT CHOCOLATE IN LITTLE CUPS, WHICH WAS BAD. IT SERVED IT'S PURPOSE I GUESS, BUT VERY DISAPOINTED IN THE CONDITION OF THE ROOM, AND I WOULD BE EMBARRASED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lovedoctor
Business
kc mo
Sep 26, 2009

stay at red roof inn

The thing that I didn't like was it didn't have a ice box or a microwave in it for the price I paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Tee
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Would Not Recommend

This was a last minute stay due to the recent Chicago storm and it was an awful experience. Upon checkin, there was a huge dog near the front desk with his bones and food nearby in full view. My room was cold and I could not adjust the temperature because there were no batteries in the thermostat. My bedding was extremely dirty with stains across both queen bedspreads and lastly the shower head was broken. Please think twice before booking here. You will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Jan 6, 2011

Red Roof hotel Reservation for a night !

Was only one night and was fine !! .. The place of the hotel is very close to Michigan Avenue which is the most beautiful street in Chivago in my opinion. Otherwise, the hotel was not bad !! But I expect it to be better !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue close to the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
criptonight
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Mar 12, 2014

exhaling

Ordinary. Nothing special basic room in a central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 10, 2009

Basic needs met; great location

This hotel met my needs - a low price rate, a great location and cable TV on a wide flatscreen - without making me pay for amenities I don't require. The staff was friendly, cordial and helpful. The rooms could use a little more attention to detail, such as coordinated drapes and spreads and cleaner carpets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takashi Takahashi
Business
tokyo, japan
Nov 24, 2013

Nice place to stay if you don't need luxury things...

It's right in the center of the downtown chicago, close to many attractions of the city that you can walk, or take a train...Very convenient... If you don't need any luxury things, just very basic amenity, this is a very nice place to stay...it's clean, neat, and comfortable enough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top