$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
176 reviews
couple trip

It was good staying at the hotel. I'll recommend this hotel because of the experience I've had See full review

  • Eddy L.
  • Jan 23, 2015
vacation

The hotel is off the expressway. Next door was a Target, gas station , and Denny's... convient.... See full review

  • PollyCracker
  • Jan 17, 2015
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 176
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shivering in Chi
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2012

Cold & Cramped

Room was very small and cramped. Had to turn sideways to pass each other. Never could get the temperature to go above 62F. Was at 60 when we checked in. Chosen for price and distance from 2 day event. After $36.00 for overnite parking was added, I could have chosen a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just some angry customer
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Dec 28, 2012

the worest

This is simply the worest hotel i have ever lived in chicago. Bad services, not polite staff rubbish room, nothing conected to the word "good" is about this hotel, except the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
baritone88
Business
Madison, WI
May 26, 2009

Seriously, stay someplace else.

We arrived for an overnight trip to Chicago and were really disappointed in the quality of this place. We waited in line for 30 minutes to check in. Then we crowded into the tiny elevator, only one of which seemed to be working. The room was tiny, making it difficult to move around. The beds were lumpy with springs poking us. The box springs had big stains on them that looked like someone had done some kind of hotel-based surgical procedures at some point. The bathroom floor was dirty. The little tear-open packet of shampoo had someone's hair all over it. The pillows smelled, and were clearly mismatched. The air conditioner did not work at all, and was partly rusted through. The walls were thin, and we could hear every word from the cramped hallway outside. Luckily we were there only one night. Consider paying a few extra bucks and get a decent night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tskove
Business
Northeast WI
May 17, 2014

Not worth the money

I have stayed at better hotels for less than 1/2 the price. Very small room, things are old and plumbing leaks. Virtually no amenities and very expensive parking. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Sep 28, 2009

red roof inn

We wanted to stay here for the price and location. It was not worth the savings the bed was very uncomfortable. The line to check in was very long and the elevators were packed and slow. Pay the extra money and stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Dec 4, 2010

I felt the rooms were not re=designed.

The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cbit
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 23, 2013

Not a great impression

We were disappointed with the Hotel. Lobby is small and ugly; elevators are old and need updating. Room was Ok, bed comfortable but bathroom very small and uninviting. The hotel has virtually no amenities. Overall, not very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JENNIFER CASTELLO
Business
rockford
Jan 4, 2014

REDROOF

it was ok. The room was adorable but there was a smell that i can not describe. It smell like dookie. The elevator was too small, the staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lawnmunchkin
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2014

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is in an amazing location off the Magnificent Mile. Surrounded by great shopping, good food and close to the red line. However you honestly get what you pay for. I stayed in the queen room. Our room was super tiny. The lighting in the room is really dark. There is no overhead light except above the front door, and the lamps don't properly light the room. The bathroom door wouldn't fully shut, and the bathroom was so small that opening the door meant hitting the toilet. The bathroom looks like a bathroom you would get in a cheap apartment somewhere. My bathroom at home is nicer. There were also bugs in the bathtub, which is always "fantastic." The TV was broken. After about 10 minutes, it would emit a loud ear piercing static noise. So you couldn't watch any TV. The wifi is free though, which is nice. All in all, if you are looking for a small place to crash, then this will suit you fine. If you want the hotel experience, then I would go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2009

Small Rooms but Great Location

The satellite kept going out; there was no housekeeping during our 4 day stay-therefore, no clean towels, no trash pick-up, we had to take our trash to the front desk and ask for clean linens. They vaccumed the hallway during our stay but did not come into the room. At least at other hotels for the 4 days we would get clean linens and the trash would be picked up and the TV would work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top