$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente, CA
Sep 13, 2009

Orbitz is not a deal

They put us in a smoking room with bugs in the beds (room 808 I believe), cigarettes in the ash tray and an unvacuumed carpet. They said there were no other rooms . When we complained they gave us a new room and recommended we not use Orbtz in the future and that would would creit my credit card (not credit with Orbitz) $30 for the inconvenience. If I get a full refund (not credit with Orbitz) I may use you again. I had used you for over 10 years until now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington
Nov 16, 2008

Shopper

The only good thing about Red Roof Inn was the location. The room was so small we could hardly get around in it. Cleanliness was lacking and only one of the two beds was made up properly. The second bed just had the sheet and cover thrown up on it. We had to ask for towels, wash cloths, paper cups and soap. The carpet was very dirty both in the room and in the public areas. We will definitely not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mokena
Jan 2, 2011

OK for the money

When we first arrived our rooms were tiny. Barely enough room for 2 people to stay comfortably. One of the rooms had black mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and dirty towels on the floor although it looked like the room had been cleaned. After some complaining they moved us to slightly larger rooms which was alright but one of the rooms again had dirty towels on the floor. All in all it was ok but it took too long to be right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Jan 6, 2011

Red Roof hotel Reservation for a night !

Was only one night and was fine !! .. The place of the hotel is very close to Michigan Avenue which is the most beautiful street in Chivago in my opinion. Otherwise, the hotel was not bad !! But I expect it to be better !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue close to the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2009

Small Rooms but Great Location

The satellite kept going out; there was no housekeeping during our 4 day stay-therefore, no clean towels, no trash pick-up, we had to take our trash to the front desk and ask for clean linens. They vaccumed the hallway during our stay but did not come into the room. At least at other hotels for the 4 days we would get clean linens and the trash would be picked up and the TV would work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brodhead, WI
Nov 2, 2008

No hot water

No hot water for showers at night or in the morning. Staff was very friendly when I brought it to their attention, a pass for a free night was offered. The expiration date on the free night however is less than 60 days, and probably won't be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car and walk, you are right next to Michigan avenue. Parking doesn't get any better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chard
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2011

Location Location Location

First, let me say that I live in the city of Chicago so I understand the importance of location when looking for someplace to stay. With that being said, I believe that if this hotel were located anywhere else in the city, you wouldn't pay more than $30 per night. The rooms are tiny. The beds are VERY soft so if you want any firmness you will be disappointed. Bathrooms are so tiny that you almost have to walk in sideways. The room also smelled terrible; musty, old body odor, and stinky feet. I went out and bought spray air freshener and sprayed the room and bathroom down several times. Finally, with air conditioning on full blast and windows open, the room aired out a bit. Now for the good stuff. As I said, the location is outstanding. Despite the stale, musty smells, you could tell the rooms were clean - just needed some airing out. Bathrooms were very clean, showers and water pressure were great considering the vintage building. Finally, the staff is the absolute highlight of this property. Everyone from the Front Desk, to the Housekeeping team, the Maintenance Team and Valet were extremely professional, SO friendly, and definitely went above and beyond to make sure all their guest's needs were taken care of. I would definitely hire this team for any hotel property I was working for. Bottom line? You will get a clean room, all the amenities you expect from a limited service hotel, in a great location, and you will be treated like gold by the staff. If you are looking for an experience like The Peninsula, Wyndham, Elysian, or Sofitel - you'll be disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out to Shop
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Aug 20, 2011

Worked for what we needed

Our experience at Red Roof Inn was alright. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for my mom and I. We were there to shop and do a little bit of sightseeing. So with her bad knee we were close enough to the mile to make shopping easy. We also used the free trolley to get to the Pier. However, the room was a lot to be desired. It was very small. The bathroom was so small, there was no where to move to. I think I could touch both sides of the wall with my arms barely outstretched. If your looking for glamour and comfort, this is not the place. But location and price was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was on the back end of a block of Magnificent Mile. So location was everything for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Zurich,il
Aug 1, 2010

NEED NEW BEDS

We asked for a cot that never arrived,and we were too tired to mess with it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EGGSPERIENCE WAS A TERRIFIC BREAKFAST PLACE!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado adventure
Business
Indiana
Mar 8, 2010

Red Roof not quite

The problem was really the other guests -- they were loud at all hours of the night (apparently the police was trying to wake someone up as well), chatted away stupidly on their cell phones in the hallway, and smoked in the hallway. The hotel is only partially renovated, so some rooms still seem to be in need of attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

located right off Michigan Ave -- excellent location for just about anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top