$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Dec 4, 2010

I felt the rooms were not re=designed.

The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duby
Business
Greeley, CO
Apr 17, 2010

Getting your money's worth?

Staff very nice. TV remote not funtional. Has a small fridge and a safe. Not very clean, but a reasonable value for the money. I don't go for fancy when I travel so this is adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few steps West of this hotel is an Italian restaurant called BICE. It is FABULOUS! Their osobucco is beyond decription.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 5, 2008

not impressed

We did like the staff at the hotel and the location, but the room was very small and not clean at all. The bathroom was disgusting and when we asked them to come reclean they did, but to walk around in our socks was a could not. When we did our socks were black on the bottom. Once again, we were happy with the service, but our hotel room was less than desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The magnificant mile was right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whatever13
Springfield il
Nov 11, 2013

Not

The room was not how the pictures showed on the website . Very small and bathroom was nasty. Elevator only could fit two people in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler4250
Indiana
Jul 7, 2012

Don't turn around!

While location can't be beat at this hotel, they've apparently taken a single room and made it into a double with two full beds. If you're young and traveling with a backpack, the room is perfect. Otherwise, consider the room to be where you park it and sleep and nothing else. Beds are old, just enough room to get round the bed, little room for luggage - even the bathroom is half-size. Pay a little more to stay somewhere you can turn around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try hitting floors 14-15 in the Merchandise Mart - while a lot of wholesale showrooms have closed due to the economy, you can still visit a few with sample sales that will sell to the public at 1/2 off of wholesale. Cash only, bring your own bags. General home stuff, but also has furniture..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Zurich,il
Aug 1, 2010

NEED NEW BEDS

We asked for a cot that never arrived,and we were too tired to mess with it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EGGSPERIENCE WAS A TERRIFIC BREAKFAST PLACE!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wendyho
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 19, 2014

Awesome Employees, kinda irritating guests.

The hotel is in the perfect location to the Mag Mile. Spent all day Sunday shopping and enjoying the hustle and bustle. Had an AMAZING dinner nearby at Joe's Seafood, Prime Steaks. The staff were always friendly and funny. I was even able to joke with some of the staff about their grandma elevators (she could race up the stairs faster). My entire floor was fresh and arrogant with a earthiness... I almost thought I was in Colorado or Washington. The walls were pretty thin, so I heard a lotta love on Valentine's Day. One time coming off the elevator, there was a guy holding a fan of $100 bills. I really hope it was for buying fur.... Chicagoans seem to love their fur in winter! For the price, it's great for people on a budget. It's a great location, friendly staff, but if you don't have the means of luxury, you just get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are half a block from a Midwestern Rodeo Drive: Burberry across from Marshall's. There is a store for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JENNIFER CASTELLO
rockford
Jan 4, 2014

REDROOF

it was ok. The room was adorable but there was a smell that i can not describe. It smell like dookie. The elevator was too small, the staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lawnmunchkin
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2014

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is in an amazing location off the Magnificent Mile. Surrounded by great shopping, good food and close to the red line. However you honestly get what you pay for. I stayed in the queen room. Our room was super tiny. The lighting in the room is really dark. There is no overhead light except above the front door, and the lamps don't properly light the room. The bathroom door wouldn't fully shut, and the bathroom was so small that opening the door meant hitting the toilet. The bathroom looks like a bathroom you would get in a cheap apartment somewhere. My bathroom at home is nicer. There were also bugs in the bathtub, which is always "fantastic." The TV was broken. After about 10 minutes, it would emit a loud ear piercing static noise. So you couldn't watch any TV. The wifi is free though, which is nice. All in all, if you are looking for a small place to crash, then this will suit you fine. If you want the hotel experience, then I would go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out to Shop
St. Louis, Missouri
Aug 20, 2011

Worked for what we needed

Our experience at Red Roof Inn was alright. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for my mom and I. We were there to shop and do a little bit of sightseeing. So with her bad knee we were close enough to the mile to make shopping easy. We also used the free trolley to get to the Pier. However, the room was a lot to be desired. It was very small. The bathroom was so small, there was no where to move to. I think I could touch both sides of the wall with my arms barely outstretched. If your looking for glamour and comfort, this is not the place. But location and price was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was on the back end of a block of Magnificent Mile. So location was everything for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search