$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
200 reviews
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Safe, Secure, Clean, Comfortable, AWESOME STAFF!

I'm not fancy but this hotel checked off all the important boxes where I am concerned. This hotel... See full review

  • NordicGoddess
  • May 30, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derek357743
Business
Lansing, mi
May 4, 2014

Red roof

Cheap for Chicago but kind of dirty and had no water pressure in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAYZEE
Rock Island, IL
Jun 14, 2010

Good price for the location

You get what you pay for. Had I paid this amount outside the city it would have been much nicer. However with that being said the location is great for that amount of money. Place just needs some work done to improve things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most anything you are looking for.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAYZEE
Rock Island, IL
Jun 14, 2010

Good price for the location

You get what you pay for. Had I paid this amount outside the city it would have been much nicer. However with that being said the location is great for that amount of money. Place just needs some work done to improve things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most anything you are looking for.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sum3
Business
dayton, oh
Feb 4, 2014

It's a bed.

So the rooms were pretty grungy, and the staff was a little ghetto (smoking when we came in, goofing off, etc), but considering it was downtown chicago-it was a bargain. If you don't need anything but a bed-this place will do fine. Just don't expect it to be very clean-because it's not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2007

If you aren't spending time in your room...

I can't say I was expecting anything more than what I got. The location is fantastic, but the hotel is sub-par. No breakfeast, coffee, etc. Even the vending machines were empty or out of order. Cleaning staff missed a day and requests for towels took over 30 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnificent Mile right outside your door

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kinney
Omaha Nebraska
Jul 27, 2009

Great Location for the Price

This hotel is in a great location, can walk or grab a bus to anywhere in the city from here. Lots of great restaurants and bars nearby. The staff was very helpful and friendly, however the room was amazingly small with only one 10'by 14' mirror in the whole room. Also the elevator was extremely small and a little 'iffy'. Over all though we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The heart of Michigan Avenue is only one block away!

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out to Shop
St. Louis, Missouri
Aug 20, 2011

Worked for what we needed

Our experience at Red Roof Inn was alright. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for my mom and I. We were there to shop and do a little bit of sightseeing. So with her bad knee we were close enough to the mile to make shopping easy. We also used the free trolley to get to the Pier. However, the room was a lot to be desired. It was very small. The bathroom was so small, there was no where to move to. I think I could touch both sides of the wall with my arms barely outstretched. If your looking for glamour and comfort, this is not the place. But location and price was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was on the back end of a block of Magnificent Mile. So location was everything for us.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Duby
Business
Greeley, CO
Apr 17, 2010

Getting your money's worth?

Staff very nice. TV remote not funtional. Has a small fridge and a safe. Not very clean, but a reasonable value for the money. I don't go for fancy when I travel so this is adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few steps West of this hotel is an Italian restaurant called BICE. It is FABULOUS! Their osobucco is beyond decription.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 5, 2008

not impressed

We did like the staff at the hotel and the location, but the room was very small and not clean at all. The bathroom was disgusting and when we asked them to come reclean they did, but to walk around in our socks was a could not. When we did our socks were black on the bottom. Once again, we were happy with the service, but our hotel room was less than desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The magnificant mile was right around the corner.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Zurich,il
Aug 1, 2010

NEED NEW BEDS

We asked for a cot that never arrived,and we were too tired to mess with it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EGGSPERIENCE WAS A TERRIFIC BREAKFAST PLACE!!!

Back to menu Return to top