$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
199 reviews
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Safe, Secure, Clean, Comfortable, AWESOME STAFF!

I'm not fancy but this hotel checked off all the important boxes where I am concerned. This hotel... See full review

  • NordicGoddess
  • May 30, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Sep 28, 2009

red roof inn

We wanted to stay here for the price and location. It was not worth the savings the bed was very uncomfortable. The line to check in was very long and the elevators were packed and slow. Pay the extra money and stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
baritone88
Madison, WI
May 26, 2009

Seriously, stay someplace else.

We arrived for an overnight trip to Chicago and were really disappointed in the quality of this place. We waited in line for 30 minutes to check in. Then we crowded into the tiny elevator, only one of which seemed to be working. The room was tiny, making it difficult to move around. The beds were lumpy with springs poking us. The box springs had big stains on them that looked like someone had done some kind of hotel-based surgical procedures at some point. The bathroom floor was dirty. The little tear-open packet of shampoo had someone's hair all over it. The pillows smelled, and were clearly mismatched. The air conditioner did not work at all, and was partly rusted through. The walls were thin, and we could hear every word from the cramped hallway outside. Luckily we were there only one night. Consider paying a few extra bucks and get a decent night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shivering in Chi
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2012

Cold & Cramped

Room was very small and cramped. Had to turn sideways to pass each other. Never could get the temperature to go above 62F. Was at 60 when we checked in. Chosen for price and distance from 2 day event. After $36.00 for overnite parking was added, I could have chosen a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 18, 2008

LOCATION-LOCATION

THE RED ROOF IN CHICAGO, WAS IN A PERFECT LOCATION, AT THE CORNER OF MICHIGAN AVE. & ONTARIO. THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT, NOTHING ELSE WAS. THE ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL, WALLPAPER PEELING OFF THE WLLS, TUB/SHOWER WAS ALL PEELED, AND PLASTER PEELING. IN ADDITION, THE ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN, AND PEOPLE WERE FORCED TO USE THE STAIRS. VERY OLD, AND CREEPY ROOMS. NO RESTAURANT, OR BAR, AND ALL THEY HAD FOR THE MORNING, WAS A MACHINE WHICH DISPENSED COFFE, AND HOT CHOCOLATE IN LITTLE CUPS, WHICH WAS BAD. IT SERVED IT'S PURPOSE I GUESS, BUT VERY DISAPOINTED IN THE CONDITION OF THE ROOM, AND I WOULD BE EMBARRASED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brighton,MI
Jun 22, 2010

growing unhappiness

When we arrived we weren't expecting much because the price was lower than anywhere else. The room was tiny, but we were ok with it. It went downhill from there though. One of the lights didn't work, the alarm clock was set to the wrong time (not that big of a deal but it's that bottom line housekeeping?) The air conditioner started making a very loud noise the second day and we asked to be moved to another room but all they had available was a smoking room (we did not move rooms). Also we found food under the bed which means the room was not cleaned very well. Needless to say we didn't get any type of refund for our problems. Great location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverboat architectural tour is really good. You learn about the city, and I knew my way around the city better after the tour.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saginaw
Oct 5, 2008

Red Roof Inn---awful experience

Our room was extremely small )--there were two small beds and a dresser with a tv on it---a cutout hole held a rod for clothes and an ironing board----(that was the closet)---the bathroom was tidied up but the floor was NOT clean......the carpeting was OLD OLD OLD ---dark, dirty and nasty.....the bedspreads were old and very faded ---the door was very thin---not real wood---and the dead bolt was cracked right in two--like someone had kicked in the door and snapped the deadbolt....my daughter and I just didn't feel safe. The manager was upset that we didn't let him rectify the problem with another room--but we just didn't want to stay there--it was a safety issue at that point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to Magnificent mile.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonym
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Sorely Disappointed

Hotel was dirty and falling apart. The online pics must have been taken many years ago. Our room was so small my husband and I had to coordinate our movements to go from the bed to the bathroom, not to mention dirty and falling down around us Elevator was broken for over a day on a weekend. Definitely don't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Nov 8, 2010

Filthy Dirty Never Stay Here

If you want black mold in your bath room. Air vent so packed with dirt and dust they are blocked. Drawer fronts taped on with duct tape. Vacuuming done maybe once a week. And the heat not working and having to live in 62 degrees and then being told to come down and get extra blankets if you want some. STAY HERE!! I hope we didn't bring bed bugs home!!! I can deal with small rooms and not a lot of fanciness but pure filth, is not acceptable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

not worth it

Even though the hotel is the least inexpensive in the area, it was still not worth the hassle or the money. After the toilet wouldn't stop running in the first room, to the floor being soaking wet in the second room, i finally gave in and stayed in the third room even though there were cigarette burns everywhere and the sink was stained black from being back up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saginaw
Oct 5, 2008

Red Roof Inn---awful experience

Our room was extremely small )--there were two small beds and a dresser with a tv on it---a cutout hole held a rod for clothes and an ironing board----(that was the closet)---the bathroom was tidied up but the floor was NOT clean......the carpeting was OLD OLD OLD ---dark, dirty and nasty.....the bedspreads were old and very faded ---the door was very thin---not real wood---and the dead bolt was cracked right in two--like someone had kicked in the door and snapped the deadbolt....my daughter and I just didn't feel safe. The manager was upset that we didn't let him rectify the problem with another room--but we just didn't want to stay there--it was a safety issue at that point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to Magnificent mile.

Back to menu Return to top