$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
159 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelinpam
Wisconsin
Dec 15, 2012

Great Location

For a budget hotel this was a great find. The location couldn't be better, close to shopping and dining. Room was small but bed was comfortable asonly for sleeping really . A little noisy but it was Sat. night so.... Would definitely stay here again for the money it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jslddkj
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Oct 13, 2011

Old, dingy

No significant problems with the hotel and the location for the downtown area/MI Avenue is excellent but the place is old and in need of a major renovation. Definitely not worth the money - too grundgy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonym
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Sorely Disappointed

Hotel was dirty and falling apart. The online pics must have been taken many years ago. Our room was so small my husband and I had to coordinate our movements to go from the bed to the bathroom, not to mention dirty and falling down around us Elevator was broken for over a day on a weekend. Definitely don't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shivering in Chi
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2012

Cold & Cramped

Room was very small and cramped. Had to turn sideways to pass each other. Never could get the temperature to go above 62F. Was at 60 when we checked in. Chosen for price and distance from 2 day event. After $36.00 for overnite parking was added, I could have chosen a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
b pro
Business
Detroit
Oct 31, 2012

Red roof of louseyness

This Hotel was THE WORSE i have ever stayed in. Dungy, gloomy room, BUGS, yes BUGS all over bath room floor. Not just (1) But many. I would have rather slept on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just some angry customer
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Dec 28, 2012

the worest

This is simply the worest hotel i have ever lived in chicago. Bad services, not polite staff rubbish room, nothing conected to the word "good" is about this hotel, except the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Quinten
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 10, 2013

Filthy

This is the dirtiest hotel I have ever seen. There were hairs all over the bathroom and I even found one under a pillow! The bed was uncomfortable. The room stank of some flowery cleaning product. It was noisy. Disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detroit Mom
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2013

Chicago Mother/Daughter weekend

I could have lived with the closet-sized room. After all, all you do is sleep there. But the sandy grime in the bathtub? Disgusting. There were two incredibly slow, cramped elevators. But don't dare try to get on one during "cleaning time". TWICE the elevator doors opened for me only to be told by staff already in the elevator that I would have to wait for the next one because it was full. What? Any respectable hotel would inform their staff to disembark and give guests the elevator if needed. I waited for another five minutes for another elevator to return when we decided to take the stairs down instead. Opened the stairwell door to a DARK STAIRWELL! No lights. Hmmmm. That doesn't feel safe. So back to waiting for an elevator. All this for ONLY $199/night! Disappointing and disgusted don't even begin to describe my stay at this horrible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JenniferMarie
Business
Chicago
Nov 2, 2013

Wi-fi rarely ever worked

I booked this hotel bc it had wi-fi and it was a decent rate. This was a complete waste of my money. The wi-fi rarely ever worked. I told the front desk that I was having problems connecting to wi-fi and was told that when there are a lot of people are on it, it is hard to connect....AND bc it was raining outside, the connection was bad. Aside from the terrible almost non-existent wi-fi connection, the room was not the best. The toilet kept making a noise throughout the day/night. There was too much dust on the headboard of the bed. The space between the bed and tv was extremely small... a person would have to walk sideways to pass that area. The tub was extremely slippery. A towel had a long black hair in it....as well as other small hairs. The elevators are slow and dingy... there is an odd odor in them. Overall, just completely unimpressed with this hotel. It is just not worth the rate that it is being advertised at. There are other hotels in the area that have similar rates and my stay at those hotels were far better than this one. On a positive note....the location is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Big time
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 18, 2014

red roof

This hotel is exactly what you pay for; rooms are small and there are no king size beds. Bathroom was not clean and I wore bags on my feet to take a shower. Elevators are the size of a kids room.This hotel is just an absolute bust and needs a lot of improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are not that far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UGHHHHHHH
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 28, 2014

definitely felt cheap

Yes I was looking for a cheap hotel quickly, but this was a little too cheap for me. So first off they get you with a terrible $44 dollar parking charge, which I was not aware of. The valet was very very polite though, so was the front desk clerk when we arrived. We got to our room and the TV was on, kind of weird. The safe was also locked, so I called the front desk, and they told us we had to change rooms. So we packed up all of our stuff, came back down to the lobby and they gave us a new room. TV was on again, so now we figured it was just something they do (which I think is really weird, not even like the hotels channel or anything, but like sport center was on in the first room, and then a telemundo spanish channel was on in the second). There was a dirty towel in our bathroom laying in the middle of the floor. We decided not to complain this time because we didn't want to pack up our things AGAIN and get switched over a towel. At least the save worked this time. The next morning we were in a rush to get ready, and of course what else could go wrong but the toilet over flowing. It didn't even have any reason to clog, the flush just didn't work and water went everywhere, flowing out of the bathroom into the hallway. Not cool. So I called the front desk (it was about 6 am) and the service lady said "um….okay….can you wait an hour?" UMMM NOO!!! there is water spilling out of the toliet! Bring us some towels or something! Jeez! Needless to say, we could have cared less at this point, because we were leaving in twenty minutes, so we called the valet to bring our car and they told us 10 minutes. It took 30. Not a good experience, but what can you do when you want a cheap hotel quick. (i went with it originally because i saw a few average reviews so i figured it wouldn't be for just a quick overnight stay. I was wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top