$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rutoa
Effingham, IL, USA
Mar 17, 2012

In the middle of everything!

Great for the price. We didn't stay in the hotel long, but the stay couldn't have been better. Room was clean and comfortable. Location was great! You can walk every where. Don't know why the rating and reviews aren't that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gino's East and get a deep dish pizza! Also Hard Rock Cafe isn't that far. Might have to wait long but it was worth it. We couldn't find many breakfast spots but we did find this very popular place called Eggsperience Cafe. Walk down the Magnificent Mile for shopping and go to the Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 18, 2008

LOCATION-LOCATION

THE RED ROOF IN CHICAGO, WAS IN A PERFECT LOCATION, AT THE CORNER OF MICHIGAN AVE. & ONTARIO. THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT, NOTHING ELSE WAS. THE ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL, WALLPAPER PEELING OFF THE WLLS, TUB/SHOWER WAS ALL PEELED, AND PLASTER PEELING. IN ADDITION, THE ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN, AND PEOPLE WERE FORCED TO USE THE STAIRS. VERY OLD, AND CREEPY ROOMS. NO RESTAURANT, OR BAR, AND ALL THEY HAD FOR THE MORNING, WAS A MACHINE WHICH DISPENSED COFFE, AND HOT CHOCOLATE IN LITTLE CUPS, WHICH WAS BAD. IT SERVED IT'S PURPOSE I GUESS, BUT VERY DISAPOINTED IN THE CONDITION OF THE ROOM, AND I WOULD BE EMBARRASED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never Again Red ROOF INN
Warren, MI
Aug 23, 2009

Horrible

I did not like the hotel at all the rooms were very small and the bathrooms were dirty in both the rooms i was assigned it was a horrible experience !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saginaw
Oct 5, 2008

Red Roof Inn---awful experience

Our room was extremely small )--there were two small beds and a dresser with a tv on it---a cutout hole held a rod for clothes and an ironing board----(that was the closet)---the bathroom was tidied up but the floor was NOT clean......the carpeting was OLD OLD OLD ---dark, dirty and nasty.....the bedspreads were old and very faded ---the door was very thin---not real wood---and the dead bolt was cracked right in two--like someone had kicked in the door and snapped the deadbolt....my daughter and I just didn't feel safe. The manager was upset that we didn't let him rectify the problem with another room--but we just didn't want to stay there--it was a safety issue at that point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to Magnificent mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brighton,MI
Jun 22, 2010

growing unhappiness

When we arrived we weren't expecting much because the price was lower than anywhere else. The room was tiny, but we were ok with it. It went downhill from there though. One of the lights didn't work, the alarm clock was set to the wrong time (not that big of a deal but it's that bottom line housekeeping?) The air conditioner started making a very loud noise the second day and we asked to be moved to another room but all they had available was a smoking room (we did not move rooms). Also we found food under the bed which means the room was not cleaned very well. Needless to say we didn't get any type of refund for our problems. Great location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverboat architectural tour is really good. You learn about the city, and I knew my way around the city better after the tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Big time
St. Louis, MO
Feb 18, 2014

red roof

This hotel is exactly what you pay for; rooms are small and there are no king size beds. Bathroom was not clean and I wore bags on my feet to take a shower. Elevators are the size of a kids room.This hotel is just an absolute bust and needs a lot of improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are not that far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonym
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Sorely Disappointed

Hotel was dirty and falling apart. The online pics must have been taken many years ago. Our room was so small my husband and I had to coordinate our movements to go from the bed to the bathroom, not to mention dirty and falling down around us Elevator was broken for over a day on a weekend. Definitely don't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lovedoctor
kc mo
Sep 26, 2009

stay at red roof inn

The thing that I didn't like was it didn't have a ice box or a microwave in it for the price I paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Nov 8, 2010

Filthy Dirty Never Stay Here

If you want black mold in your bath room. Air vent so packed with dirt and dust they are blocked. Drawer fronts taped on with duct tape. Vacuuming done maybe once a week. And the heat not working and having to live in 62 degrees and then being told to come down and get extra blankets if you want some. STAY HERE!! I hope we didn't bring bed bugs home!!! I can deal with small rooms and not a lot of fanciness but pure filth, is not acceptable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon2014
Business
Florida
Sep 14, 2014

Do NOT stay there!

Maid only cleaned room first of four days. Put new linen others, but no new coffee or hand lotion. Had to go down to front desk for more. WiFi was a "joke". Went in and out every few seconds. Elevator is small and slow. TV channel control did not work most times. Had to push buttons several times. Front desk did not know how to get channels with a dash in their number...said just use up/down button! Limited "Intelligent" programs. For $300 a night sure expect the BEST of everything! Typically with the maid problems normal get at least one night refund but they only offered me a pitense off! Only good thing was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Apr 14, 2007

Never again!

We were a family that reserved 6 rooms for one night and most everyone had complaints ranging from a room right next to a noisy ice machine, a room that had a heater that couldn't be turned off, elevators that couldn't handle the size of the hotel.The only good thing about the place is the location so if you only have o be in your room to sleep, take earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Av. shopping is a block away as are many great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search