$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tonkichi
Friends
Chicago
May 23, 2012

I couldn't use the internet.

Very clean and Nice saff but I couldn't use the internet in the room. I tried many times but I couldn't. I tried to passward and open the Red roof inn Home page but I couldn't.It was very uncofortable. There are close to Shopping and tourist area. It was cofortable: )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M Morley
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Good value

Location was perfect for a 4-day sightseeing trip. The hotel was a short cab ride from most sites and was only a few blocks from the train that we took to Wrigley Field. 1 block from tons of shopping on Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baseball trip gang
Family
washington dc
Jun 8, 2012

Convenient location

The location was great and price was very reasonable. The front desk was understaffed and didn't coordinate well with the valet/parking attendant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CityGirl0612
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 15, 2013

Location Location Location

Great location! The room was kind of old looking but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol Grill

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Han Cheng Huang
Friends
west lafayette, IN
May 6, 2013

Students from Purdue

this hotel is pretty comfort with good location but the valet parking is a little bit too slow that need to be improve, otherwise everything is fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing123
Family
Little ROck Arkansas
Jul 17, 2013

Practical solution

We were pleased with this hotel. A clean and safe rooms was all we were looking for and that's what we got. As far as we could tell there were no significant amenities beyond the location, but that was huge. This reasonably priced hotel is one block off the big shopping street of Michigan Ave. It is a practical solution to balancing amenities with cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We travel on the cheap but found that a cab was competitive with the cost of public transportation for four people getting to the museum campus (Shedd Aqarium and Field museum) and definitely for the Art Institute. Like all cities, get to attractions early as the lines get long.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sanaa
Business
IL
Aug 17, 2013

Good location

Overall experience was not that good, very less space i wish rooms were more spacious but location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston road warrior
Business
Boston
Sep 12, 2013

Convenient location off the Miracle Mile

Rooms are small but adequate and very clean despite the older facility and décor. Best feature is the location and a decent price when I had to book a business visit at the last minute during a heavyconvention week in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takashi Takahashi
Single
tokyo, japan
Nov 24, 2013

Nice place to stay if you don't need luxury things...

It's right in the center of the downtown chicago, close to many attractions of the city that you can walk, or take a train...Very convenient... If you don't need any luxury things, just very basic amenity, this is a very nice place to stay...it's clean, neat, and comfortable enough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubblehead
Family
Holland, MI, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Vacation day

It is a smaller hotel 1 block off Michigan avenue. It is an older facility, but a place to sleep and not much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duncan donut is one half a block away. Other dining options are on west Ontsrio plus a grocer.

Back to menu Return to top