$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Mi
Sep 15, 2009

Fun Trip

Staff was friendly, hotel was very clean, room was a little on the small side, however, who is in their room when they are in Chicago? There was a tragedy in the neighborhood, no fault of the hotel's. On the whole is was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard to pick only one answer, everything was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSP
Sep 6, 2009

Within walking distance to...

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Downtown Chicago is hustling and bustling with people, and I did not feel unsafe as a single woman walking in this area. It was within walking distance to my destination of the AVP tournament at Oak Street Beach. I walked to Navy Pier, Watertower Place, John Hancock, the fountain and many great shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking - avoid it if at all possible. It is hard to find and expensive. Public tranportation is the way to get around to areas that you can't walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
devilRox
Business
madison, wi
Sep 7, 2009

unbeatable hotel location for the price!

If you wanna spend few days in chicago and stay downtown , close to everything to visit and enjoy, this is hotel is what you're looking for!! it's clean with a friendly staff and just a block from the magnificient mile, the paradise for shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Egospotter
Business
Fox Lake, Il
Oct 17, 2010

Great Location

We stayed here one night for a quick trip downtown, we just needed a place to sleep that was close to a tour we were taking - this hotel fit the bill and was reasonably priced for the area. Room was small, but we didn't spend much time there. Less than a block from the middle of the Mag Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ocean city NJ
Oct 17, 2010

Great Location in the heart of Chicago

Hotel was great, but a little dirty but cost half the price of other big fancy hotels in area, and we only sleep in the room and spent all of our time out doing things so who cares if the room wasn't just remodeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

stay here spend $250 a day more on your self in Chicago

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Good for a quick trip to Chicago

It was a decent hotel. I didn't expect too much because it was the cheapest rate I could find. All things considered, for the price, it was in a good location. Good hotel to consider if you are in town for a night or two and don't expect to spend much time in the hotel anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 young seniors
Business
St Paul, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Red Roof Inn downtown Chicago

Excellent Location: 1/2 block E of Michigan Ave (Miracle Mile), north of Chicago River (night-life). Walking distance to Navy Pier, Hancock Bldy observatory. Longer walk to loop, Millennium Park, Museum Campus, etc. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops, music, shopping, sights nearby. Basic room: comfortable bed, TV, coffee maker, quiet - (good for adults, no ammenities to entertain kids). Great hotel for the price. Safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train from Midway Airport (Orange line to Loop, then Red line from Roosevelt station to Grand Ave station) 6 blocks to hotel. Walking is more convenient than having a car and you'll see more. Rent a bike for an afternoon at Navy Pier and ride the lakeshore path.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 24, 2011

Great Location

This is a good value hotel only 15 mins walk to the Navy Pier, 1 min to Magnificent Mile and 5 mins to the Chicago River. Service was good and the rooms decent. It's all about the location however!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KristinaMarie
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Aug 31, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

This is a great hotel if you are looking for cheap and a great location. Room was not too bad. You obviously get what you pay for however, if you aren't planning on staying at the hotel very much then this is the perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking to shop then this hotel location is perfect. It's only one block from the magnificent mile and about three blocks from the nightlife. We only had to take a cab to the attractions such as the Shedd Aquarium and Field Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Feb 20, 2011

About what I expected.

For being one of the cheapest hotels in the Chicago area, it wasn't that bad. The hotel room itself is small, and a little dirty but for the value its a good deal. It's very easy to get to from the Red line or using the bus system. It's in the middle of the shopping district which is great. Me and my friend was only there for one night and I didn't have any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right in the middle of downtown Chicago. I alot of attractions are within walking distance, or like I did USE THE PUBLIC TRANSIT. I used the buses and the L Train. Great for saving money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top