$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubblehead
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Vacation day

It is a smaller hotel 1 block off Michigan avenue. It is an older facility, but a place to sleep and not much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duncan donut is one half a block away. Other dining options are on west Ontsrio plus a grocer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Jan 24, 2011

Could have been worse

The hotel room was kind of dingy and the water pressure in the shower was terrible, but they have valet parking, and the staff members were friendly and helpful. The day we checked out we were going to be staying in chicago for the rest of the day, and the hotel had a baggage check for free so we didn't have to worry about where to put them. We went to timothy O Toole's a block away and the hotel had 20 % off coupons for there, so that was also nice. Not the nicest hotel for sure, but for the price in downtown Chicago it was as nice as I could have wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right next to magnificent mile, which has nice shopping and dining. Don't forget to make dinner reservations. Also, don't talk to the people who want to shine your shoes... say no thank you and keep walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 18, 2007

Location Stands Out. That's About It.

It's pretty much just cramped without much disntinction, but with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant downstairs is good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Mi
Sep 15, 2009

Fun Trip

Staff was friendly, hotel was very clean, room was a little on the small side, however, who is in their room when they are in Chicago? There was a tragedy in the neighborhood, no fault of the hotel's. On the whole is was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard to pick only one answer, everything was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSP
Sep 6, 2009

Within walking distance to...

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Downtown Chicago is hustling and bustling with people, and I did not feel unsafe as a single woman walking in this area. It was within walking distance to my destination of the AVP tournament at Oak Street Beach. I walked to Navy Pier, Watertower Place, John Hancock, the fountain and many great shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking - avoid it if at all possible. It is hard to find and expensive. Public tranportation is the way to get around to areas that you can't walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
devilRox
Business
madison, wi
Sep 7, 2009

unbeatable hotel location for the price!

If you wanna spend few days in chicago and stay downtown , close to everything to visit and enjoy, this is hotel is what you're looking for!! it's clean with a friendly staff and just a block from the magnificient mile, the paradise for shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Egospotter
Business
Fox Lake, Il
Oct 17, 2010

Great Location

We stayed here one night for a quick trip downtown, we just needed a place to sleep that was close to a tour we were taking - this hotel fit the bill and was reasonably priced for the area. Room was small, but we didn't spend much time there. Less than a block from the middle of the Mag Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ocean city NJ
Oct 17, 2010

Great Location in the heart of Chicago

Hotel was great, but a little dirty but cost half the price of other big fancy hotels in area, and we only sleep in the room and spent all of our time out doing things so who cares if the room wasn't just remodeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

stay here spend $250 a day more on your self in Chicago

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Good for a quick trip to Chicago

It was a decent hotel. I didn't expect too much because it was the cheapest rate I could find. All things considered, for the price, it was in a good location. Good hotel to consider if you are in town for a night or two and don't expect to spend much time in the hotel anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 young seniors
Business
St Paul, MN
Sep 27, 2010

Red Roof Inn downtown Chicago

Excellent Location: 1/2 block E of Michigan Ave (Miracle Mile), north of Chicago River (night-life). Walking distance to Navy Pier, Hancock Bldy observatory. Longer walk to loop, Millennium Park, Museum Campus, etc. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops, music, shopping, sights nearby. Basic room: comfortable bed, TV, coffee maker, quiet - (good for adults, no ammenities to entertain kids). Great hotel for the price. Safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train from Midway Airport (Orange line to Loop, then Red line from Roosevelt station to Grand Ave station) 6 blocks to hotel. Walking is more convenient than having a car and you'll see more. Rent a bike for an afternoon at Navy Pier and ride the lakeshore path.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top