$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
200 reviews
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Safe, Secure, Clean, Comfortable, AWESOME STAFF!

I'm not fancy but this hotel checked off all the important boxes where I am concerned. This hotel... See full review

  • NordicGoddess
  • May 30, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 200
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4
Value:
2.8
Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wendyho
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 19, 2014

Awesome Employees, kinda irritating guests.

The hotel is in the perfect location to the Mag Mile. Spent all day Sunday shopping and enjoying the hustle and bustle. Had an AMAZING dinner nearby at Joe's Seafood, Prime Steaks. The staff were always friendly and funny. I was even able to joke with some of the staff about their grandma elevators (she could race up the stairs faster). My entire floor was fresh and arrogant with a earthiness... I almost thought I was in Colorado or Washington. The walls were pretty thin, so I heard a lotta love on Valentine's Day. One time coming off the elevator, there was a guy holding a fan of $100 bills. I really hope it was for buying fur.... Chicagoans seem to love their fur in winter! For the price, it's great for people on a budget. It's a great location, friendly staff, but if you don't have the means of luxury, you just get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are half a block from a Midwestern Rodeo Drive: Burberry across from Marshall's. There is a store for everyone.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blakis
Chicago,IL
May 27, 2013

Bear Pride/IML

Right off of the Mag Mile, Great location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chard
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2011

Location Location Location

First, let me say that I live in the city of Chicago so I understand the importance of location when looking for someplace to stay. With that being said, I believe that if this hotel were located anywhere else in the city, you wouldn't pay more than $30 per night. The rooms are tiny. The beds are VERY soft so if you want any firmness you will be disappointed. Bathrooms are so tiny that you almost have to walk in sideways. The room also smelled terrible; musty, old body odor, and stinky feet. I went out and bought spray air freshener and sprayed the room and bathroom down several times. Finally, with air conditioning on full blast and windows open, the room aired out a bit. Now for the good stuff. As I said, the location is outstanding. Despite the stale, musty smells, you could tell the rooms were clean - just needed some airing out. Bathrooms were very clean, showers and water pressure were great considering the vintage building. Finally, the staff is the absolute highlight of this property. Everyone from the Front Desk, to the Housekeeping team, the Maintenance Team and Valet were extremely professional, SO friendly, and definitely went above and beyond to make sure all their guest's needs were taken care of. I would definitely hire this team for any hotel property I was working for. Bottom line? You will get a clean room, all the amenities you expect from a limited service hotel, in a great location, and you will be treated like gold by the staff. If you are looking for an experience like The Peninsula, Wyndham, Elysian, or Sofitel - you'll be disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chard
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2011

Location Location Location

First, let me say that I live in the city of Chicago so I understand the importance of location when looking for someplace to stay. With that being said, I believe that if this hotel were located anywhere else in the city, you wouldn't pay more than $30 per night. The rooms are tiny. The beds are VERY soft so if you want any firmness you will be disappointed. Bathrooms are so tiny that you almost have to walk in sideways. The room also smelled terrible; musty, old body odor, and stinky feet. I went out and bought spray air freshener and sprayed the room and bathroom down several times. Finally, with air conditioning on full blast and windows open, the room aired out a bit. Now for the good stuff. As I said, the location is outstanding. Despite the stale, musty smells, you could tell the rooms were clean - just needed some airing out. Bathrooms were very clean, showers and water pressure were great considering the vintage building. Finally, the staff is the absolute highlight of this property. Everyone from the Front Desk, to the Housekeeping team, the Maintenance Team and Valet were extremely professional, SO friendly, and definitely went above and beyond to make sure all their guest's needs were taken care of. I would definitely hire this team for any hotel property I was working for. Bottom line? You will get a clean room, all the amenities you expect from a limited service hotel, in a great location, and you will be treated like gold by the staff. If you are looking for an experience like The Peninsula, Wyndham, Elysian, or Sofitel - you'll be disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top