$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
200 reviews
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Safe, Secure, Clean, Comfortable, AWESOME STAFF!

I'm not fancy but this hotel checked off all the important boxes where I am concerned. This hotel... See full review

  • NordicGoddess
  • May 30, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henrik K.
Schaumburg, IL
Mar 31, 2013

Great value!

Great rates, friendly staff, spacious rooms, and walking distance to to the main entertainment areas. This is a great choice for the budget minded tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubblehead
Holland, MI, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Vacation day

It is a smaller hotel 1 block off Michigan avenue. It is an older facility, but a place to sleep and not much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duncan donut is one half a block away. Other dining options are on west Ontsrio plus a grocer.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out to Shop
St. Louis, Missouri
Aug 20, 2011

Worked for what we needed

Our experience at Red Roof Inn was alright. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for my mom and I. We were there to shop and do a little bit of sightseeing. So with her bad knee we were close enough to the mile to make shopping easy. We also used the free trolley to get to the Pier. However, the room was a lot to be desired. It was very small. The bathroom was so small, there was no where to move to. I think I could touch both sides of the wall with my arms barely outstretched. If your looking for glamour and comfort, this is not the place. But location and price was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was on the back end of a block of Magnificent Mile. So location was everything for us.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubblehead
Holland, MI, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Vacation day

It is a smaller hotel 1 block off Michigan avenue. It is an older facility, but a place to sleep and not much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duncan donut is one half a block away. Other dining options are on west Ontsrio plus a grocer.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chard
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2011

Location Location Location

First, let me say that I live in the city of Chicago so I understand the importance of location when looking for someplace to stay. With that being said, I believe that if this hotel were located anywhere else in the city, you wouldn't pay more than $30 per night. The rooms are tiny. The beds are VERY soft so if you want any firmness you will be disappointed. Bathrooms are so tiny that you almost have to walk in sideways. The room also smelled terrible; musty, old body odor, and stinky feet. I went out and bought spray air freshener and sprayed the room and bathroom down several times. Finally, with air conditioning on full blast and windows open, the room aired out a bit. Now for the good stuff. As I said, the location is outstanding. Despite the stale, musty smells, you could tell the rooms were clean - just needed some airing out. Bathrooms were very clean, showers and water pressure were great considering the vintage building. Finally, the staff is the absolute highlight of this property. Everyone from the Front Desk, to the Housekeeping team, the Maintenance Team and Valet were extremely professional, SO friendly, and definitely went above and beyond to make sure all their guest's needs were taken care of. I would definitely hire this team for any hotel property I was working for. Bottom line? You will get a clean room, all the amenities you expect from a limited service hotel, in a great location, and you will be treated like gold by the staff. If you are looking for an experience like The Peninsula, Wyndham, Elysian, or Sofitel - you'll be disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chard
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2011

Location Location Location

First, let me say that I live in the city of Chicago so I understand the importance of location when looking for someplace to stay. With that being said, I believe that if this hotel were located anywhere else in the city, you wouldn't pay more than $30 per night. The rooms are tiny. The beds are VERY soft so if you want any firmness you will be disappointed. Bathrooms are so tiny that you almost have to walk in sideways. The room also smelled terrible; musty, old body odor, and stinky feet. I went out and bought spray air freshener and sprayed the room and bathroom down several times. Finally, with air conditioning on full blast and windows open, the room aired out a bit. Now for the good stuff. As I said, the location is outstanding. Despite the stale, musty smells, you could tell the rooms were clean - just needed some airing out. Bathrooms were very clean, showers and water pressure were great considering the vintage building. Finally, the staff is the absolute highlight of this property. Everyone from the Front Desk, to the Housekeeping team, the Maintenance Team and Valet were extremely professional, SO friendly, and definitely went above and beyond to make sure all their guest's needs were taken care of. I would definitely hire this team for any hotel property I was working for. Bottom line? You will get a clean room, all the amenities you expect from a limited service hotel, in a great location, and you will be treated like gold by the staff. If you are looking for an experience like The Peninsula, Wyndham, Elysian, or Sofitel - you'll be disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 24, 2011

Great Location

This is a good value hotel only 15 mins walk to the Navy Pier, 1 min to Magnificent Mile and 5 mins to the Chicago River. Service was good and the rooms decent. It's all about the location however!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 24, 2011

Great Location

This is a good value hotel only 15 mins walk to the Navy Pier, 1 min to Magnificent Mile and 5 mins to the Chicago River. Service was good and the rooms decent. It's all about the location however!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 14, 2011

Spring break at the Red Roof

Definitely not a fancy place, but you should be spending your time enjoying the city anyway, not your hotel room. Location seriously couldn't be better; it's in the middle of the city, near a red-line metro stop. Free wireless internet,although signal can be a little weak. If you want a hot shower, let the water run a few minutes, or make your friends shower first. Hotel provides shampoo, but bring your own conditioner. Otherwise, it's safe, quiet and comfortable. Book early if you want a non-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 14, 2011

Spring break at the Red Roof

Definitely not a fancy place, but you should be spending your time enjoying the city anyway, not your hotel room. Location seriously couldn't be better; it's in the middle of the city, near a red-line metro stop. Free wireless internet,although signal can be a little weak. If you want a hot shower, let the water run a few minutes, or make your friends shower first. Hotel provides shampoo, but bring your own conditioner. Otherwise, it's safe, quiet and comfortable. Book early if you want a non-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morenitos
Eau Claire, WI
Feb 23, 2011

Okay....

I went to Chicago for the weekend with my boyfriend. The room size was good and the bed was confortable. The bathroom was okay, but just okay, not the shiny and everything white you expect in a hotel. The better thing of this hotel is the ubication and the price is really fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top