$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rutoa
Effingham, IL, USA
Mar 17, 2012

In the middle of everything!

Great for the price. We didn't stay in the hotel long, but the stay couldn't have been better. Room was clean and comfortable. Location was great! You can walk every where. Don't know why the rating and reviews aren't that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gino's East and get a deep dish pizza! Also Hard Rock Cafe isn't that far. Might have to wait long but it was worth it. We couldn't find many breakfast spots but we did find this very popular place called Eggsperience Cafe. Walk down the Magnificent Mile for shopping and go to the Navy Pier.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHDC
Business
Chicago, IL Magnificent Mile
Aug 19, 2013

Great Place to Stay Downtown Chicago

Great choice if you want to be economical while staying downtown. The hotel is next to everything. If I was staying more than a few nights, I may want to splurge for a luxury hotel but I was very happy and satisfied with this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sanaa
Business
IL
Aug 17, 2013

Good location

Overall experience was not that good, very less space i wish rooms were more spacious but location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel25
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 5, 2013

Backstreet Boys Concert!

The hotel was in a wonderful location, right in the middle of everything. Would definitely stay there again & recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing123
Business
Little ROck Arkansas
Jul 17, 2013

Practical solution

We were pleased with this hotel. A clean and safe rooms was all we were looking for and that's what we got. As far as we could tell there were no significant amenities beyond the location, but that was huge. This reasonably priced hotel is one block off the big shopping street of Michigan Ave. It is a practical solution to balancing amenities with cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We travel on the cheap but found that a cab was competitive with the cost of public transportation for four people getting to the museum campus (Shedd Aqarium and Field museum) and definitely for the Art Institute. Like all cities, get to attractions early as the lines get long.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
great beer off fire
Business
michigan
Jul 8, 2013

great location

clean and in a great location, for a red roof inn it was not what we expected ,would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mortons steak house. expensive but well worth it

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detroit Mom
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2013

Chicago Mother/Daughter weekend

I could have lived with the closet-sized room. After all, all you do is sleep there. But the sandy grime in the bathtub? Disgusting. There were two incredibly slow, cramped elevators. But don't dare try to get on one during "cleaning time". TWICE the elevator doors opened for me only to be told by staff already in the elevator that I would have to wait for the next one because it was full. What? Any respectable hotel would inform their staff to disembark and give guests the elevator if needed. I waited for another five minutes for another elevator to return when we decided to take the stairs down instead. Opened the stairwell door to a DARK STAIRWELL! No lights. Hmmmm. That doesn't feel safe. So back to waiting for an elevator. All this for ONLY $199/night! Disappointing and disgusted don't even begin to describe my stay at this horrible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmink
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Chi-town visit

We checked in on Friday. The staff at the counter did her job and was nice about it, but more robotic than friendly...no small talk. She was more concerned about leaving because her shift was over than helping the line of 4 people that walked in behind me. We moved into our Suite with 4 people, 2 in the bedroom and 2 on the sofa sleeper. Actually one on the sofa sleeper, one on the floor because the sofa sleeper was so small. No extra blankets for the sofa sleeper, so we called down to the desk. We had to go and get them. The room came with 2 bathrooms, one with a shower and one without which was great, but only 2 bath towels. We called down to the desk, but again we had to go and get them. I assumed this was because there was only one person at the desk. Maybe a little under staffed. The stay was pleasant, but all we really used the room for was sleep. They told us to give the valet our ticket 15 min. before we needed the vehicle. Good thing we gave it to him 30 min. early because it took 30 min. to get it. For the price, i guess it was what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect location, but then again, isn't every hotel on the magnificent mile

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blakis
Business
Chicago,IL
May 27, 2013

Bear Pride/IML

Right off of the Mag Mile, Great location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Han Cheng Huang
Business
west lafayette, IN
May 6, 2013

Students from Purdue

this hotel is pretty comfort with good location but the valet parking is a little bit too slow that need to be improve, otherwise everything is fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chickg3
Business
holmes , pa.
Apr 30, 2013

chicago

location was good for purpose of my visit. clean room plenty of places to eat. a movie theatre nearby and taxi service was close by when i needed it. my only complaint no ESPN on the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just remember what street your on so you don't walk in the wrong direction

Back to menu Return to top