$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
152 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shivering in Chi
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2012

Cold & Cramped

Room was very small and cramped. Had to turn sideways to pass each other. Never could get the temperature to go above 62F. Was at 60 when we checked in. Chosen for price and distance from 2 day event. After $36.00 for overnite parking was added, I could have chosen a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jcars
Business
Valparaiso, IN, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Red Roof

Room heat control was fair. Price was good and location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great for Michigan Ave exploring

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
orbitztravelerreview
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Good Location, But Not A Comfortable Place to Stay

This hotel is located in the Magnificence Mile very close to Michigan Avenue. While I loved the location, the paint job in the rooms was horrible. There was cluttered dust in some corners and overall it wasn't that comfortable. However, for the few hours that I needed to stay there it was a pretty good value overall. The room was reasonably clean and had an iron, a bed and a shower. For this particular stay, I didn't need anything fancy. For the price, I recommend staying here for a short visit at a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonym
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Sorely Disappointed

Hotel was dirty and falling apart. The online pics must have been taken many years ago. Our room was so small my husband and I had to coordinate our movements to go from the bed to the bathroom, not to mention dirty and falling down around us Elevator was broken for over a day on a weekend. Definitely don't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GoTravel
Business
Indiana, USA
Nov 26, 2011

good location,Crazy elevator noise!

location can not be any better, 1 block from Michican Avenue. woke up by the elevator noise in the morning. beding is not quite clean... a place to sleep, but take your own pillow cover~~~~....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Windyrunner
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Simple but clean and supurb location for price

Checkin staff very nice, location perfect for shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier 10 minute walk for runs; shopping 1 minute walk away from Michigan Ave. Very nice location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jslddkj
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Oct 13, 2011

Old, dingy

No significant problems with the hotel and the location for the downtown area/MI Avenue is excellent but the place is old and in need of a major renovation. Definitely not worth the money - too grundgy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Aug 23, 2011

Fantastic location and unbeatable price

This hotel was perfect for me. First thing is its location. I was able to reach any Chicago downtown spots within 5 minutes. Second thing is its price. Actually I stayed at Marriott Hotel which is placed nearby this hotel for 2 days, but I should have chosen this hotel fot those 2 days also. If you are planning to visit Chicago downtown, this hotel is perfectly worth for every dime you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When I stayed at this hotel, there was no breakfast included. Probably there is still no breakfast plan. If you want a nice hotel breakfast, I recommend you to walk to Marriott Hotel, and they have nice breakfast restaurant on the 2nd floor(budget 12$ -20$).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bubblehead
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Vacation day

It is a smaller hotel 1 block off Michigan avenue. It is an older facility, but a place to sleep and not much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duncan donut is one half a block away. Other dining options are on west Ontsrio plus a grocer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out to Shop
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Aug 20, 2011

Worked for what we needed

Our experience at Red Roof Inn was alright. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for my mom and I. We were there to shop and do a little bit of sightseeing. So with her bad knee we were close enough to the mile to make shopping easy. We also used the free trolley to get to the Pier. However, the room was a lot to be desired. It was very small. The bathroom was so small, there was no where to move to. I think I could touch both sides of the wall with my arms barely outstretched. If your looking for glamour and comfort, this is not the place. But location and price was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was on the back end of a block of Magnificent Mile. So location was everything for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top