$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
157 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tonkichi
Business
Chicago
May 23, 2012

I couldn't use the internet.

Very clean and Nice saff but I couldn't use the internet in the room. I tried many times but I couldn't. I tried to passward and open the Red roof inn Home page but I couldn't.It was very uncofortable. There are close to Shopping and tourist area. It was cofortable: )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maf41657
Business
Dearborn Heights, MI, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Trip to Chicago

No room service for three days, left the room 8:00-9:00am for the day and came back around 10:00 pm everyday on the second day had to call for some clean towels and told them the room has not been cleaned for two days. The next day the room was still not cleaned, left the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner at Ruth`s Chris Stake House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rutoa
Business
Effingham, IL, USA
Mar 17, 2012

In the middle of everything!

Great for the price. We didn't stay in the hotel long, but the stay couldn't have been better. Room was clean and comfortable. Location was great! You can walk every where. Don't know why the rating and reviews aren't that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gino's East and get a deep dish pizza! Also Hard Rock Cafe isn't that far. Might have to wait long but it was worth it. We couldn't find many breakfast spots but we did find this very popular place called Eggsperience Cafe. Walk down the Magnificent Mile for shopping and go to the Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
any CL
Business
Manhattan, Nueva York, EEUU
Feb 16, 2012

Good...

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. However they didnt clean my room whenever I got out of it to late. Everything else, is pretty good, is not perfect but is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giordano´s pizza. Is awsome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kylyn
Business
Arkansas
Feb 9, 2012

Nice place at last minute

We decided to stay downtown at the last minute an this hotel was extremely close to the magnificent mile and a good bargain. Would recomend for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shivering in Chi
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2012

Cold & Cramped

Room was very small and cramped. Had to turn sideways to pass each other. Never could get the temperature to go above 62F. Was at 60 when we checked in. Chosen for price and distance from 2 day event. After $36.00 for overnite parking was added, I could have chosen a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jcars
Business
Valparaiso, IN, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Red Roof

Room heat control was fair. Price was good and location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great for Michigan Ave exploring

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
orbitztravelerreview
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Good Location, But Not A Comfortable Place to Stay

This hotel is located in the Magnificence Mile very close to Michigan Avenue. While I loved the location, the paint job in the rooms was horrible. There was cluttered dust in some corners and overall it wasn't that comfortable. However, for the few hours that I needed to stay there it was a pretty good value overall. The room was reasonably clean and had an iron, a bed and a shower. For this particular stay, I didn't need anything fancy. For the price, I recommend staying here for a short visit at a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonym
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Sorely Disappointed

Hotel was dirty and falling apart. The online pics must have been taken many years ago. Our room was so small my husband and I had to coordinate our movements to go from the bed to the bathroom, not to mention dirty and falling down around us Elevator was broken for over a day on a weekend. Definitely don't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GoTravel
Business
Indiana, USA
Nov 26, 2011

good location,Crazy elevator noise!

location can not be any better, 1 block from Michican Avenue. woke up by the elevator noise in the morning. beding is not quite clean... a place to sleep, but take your own pillow cover~~~~....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top