Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

2.9/5

Overall score

67%

Would recommend

Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHDC
Business
Chicago, IL Magnificent Mile
Aug 19, 2013

Great Place to Stay Downtown Chicago

Great choice if you want to be economical while staying downtown. The hotel is next to everything. If I was staying more than a few nights, I may want to splurge for a luxury hotel but I was very happy and satisfied with this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sanaa
Business
IL
Aug 17, 2013

Good location

Overall experience was not that good, very less space i wish rooms were more spacious but location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel25
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 5, 2013

Backstreet Boys Concert!

The hotel was in a wonderful location, right in the middle of everything. Would definitely stay there again & recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing123
Business
Little ROck Arkansas
Jul 17, 2013

Practical solution

We were pleased with this hotel. A clean and safe rooms was all we were looking for and that's what we got. As far as we could tell there were no significant amenities beyond the location, but that was huge. This reasonably priced hotel is one block off the big shopping street of Michigan Ave. It is a practical solution to balancing amenities with cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We travel on the cheap but found that a cab was competitive with the cost of public transportation for four people getting to the museum campus (Shedd Aqarium and Field museum) and definitely for the Art Institute. Like all cities, get to attractions early as the lines get long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
great beer off fire
Business
michigan
Jul 8, 2013

great location

clean and in a great location, for a red roof inn it was not what we expected ,would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mortons steak house. expensive but well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detroit Mom
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2013

Chicago Mother/Daughter weekend

I could have lived with the closet-sized room. After all, all you do is sleep there. But the sandy grime in the bathtub? Disgusting. There were two incredibly slow, cramped elevators. But don't dare try to get on one during "cleaning time". TWICE the elevator doors opened for me only to be told by staff already in the elevator that I would have to wait for the next one because it was full. What? Any respectable hotel would inform their staff to disembark and give guests the elevator if needed. I waited for another five minutes for another elevator to return when we decided to take the stairs down instead. Opened the stairwell door to a DARK STAIRWELL! No lights. Hmmmm. That doesn't feel safe. So back to waiting for an elevator. All this for ONLY $199/night! Disappointing and disgusted don't even begin to describe my stay at this horrible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmink
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Chi-town visit

We checked in on Friday. The staff at the counter did her job and was nice about it, but more robotic than friendly...no small talk. She was more concerned about leaving because her shift was over than helping the line of 4 people that walked in behind me. We moved into our Suite with 4 people, 2 in the bedroom and 2 on the sofa sleeper. Actually one on the sofa sleeper, one on the floor because the sofa sleeper was so small. No extra blankets for the sofa sleeper, so we called down to the desk. We had to go and get them. The room came with 2 bathrooms, one with a shower and one without which was great, but only 2 bath towels. We called down to the desk, but again we had to go and get them. I assumed this was because there was only one person at the desk. Maybe a little under staffed. The stay was pleasant, but all we really used the room for was sleep. They told us to give the valet our ticket 15 min. before we needed the vehicle. Good thing we gave it to him 30 min. early because it took 30 min. to get it. For the price, i guess it was what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect location, but then again, isn't every hotel on the magnificent mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blakis
Business
Chicago,IL
May 27, 2013

Bear Pride/IML

Right off of the Mag Mile, Great location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kclhendrickson
Business
Wisconsin
May 21, 2013

Great location

This is the perfect location for a trip to downtown Chicago! Only a block from Michigan Ave and right across the street from Garrett's popcorn! Beds were comfy, room was clean, and the staff at the front desk were awesome! Even getting us into our room before 11 am! The only disappointment I had was that there was not a full length mirror to be found. Be forewarned though that everything in this hotel is a little narrow (hallways especially) but this hotel is worth staying at! Would stay again if we go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Fleming's Steak House and Wine Bar. The food is amazing, wait staff is personable and makes GREAT recommendations! Will go again many times over! (Make sure to ask for Sandra or Mike for your waitstaff!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Han Cheng Huang
Business
west lafayette, IN
May 6, 2013

Students from Purdue

this hotel is pretty comfort with good location but the valet parking is a little bit too slow that need to be improve, otherwise everything is fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top