$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonyaG
pleasant hill,mo
Apr 2, 2013

Great location and value

I was very happy with my decision to stay here. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Yes it's pretty basic but I couldn't have asked for more at the price I paid. I would definitely recommend someone stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the breakfast at yolk.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derek357743
Business
Lansing, mi
May 4, 2014

Red roof

Cheap for Chicago but kind of dirty and had no water pressure in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nasilem
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Apr 29, 2014

Chicago getaway

Great location, and quite cheap! Service there still has a lot of room to be improved, but overall, I would come here again because of the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Michigan avenue is right at the corner. And to go to the main area like the millenium park, skydeck etc. is just a $2.25 bus trip away.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Griffster
Business
Peoria, IL
Apr 14, 2014

1/2 blk off of shopping

One night say and pet friendly but park is at least 3 blocks away. Pricey valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Classical architect
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 31, 2014

location, location and service

One quiet block off the heart of bustling Michigan Ave, quick walk to the "Loop", in a renovated handsome old building, with courteous and helpful staff, this hotel delivers excellent value. Don't be put off by the small and somewhat tatty lobby, the rooms are fresh and clean. Lots of swell place to eat all around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dreihaus Museum has a fine collection of 19th C American decorative art in a sumptuous house museum from late 19th C.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Smaller Two
Business
Utah
Mar 25, 2014

Location is great

If you are trying to save money so you can spend it shopping on the Magnificent Mile, this hotel worked fine. It was around the block from the MM. I felt safe. The bed was good. The bathroom small. There are no amenities--unless you call the coffee pot an amenity. If I was trying to save money I'd probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a metro pass and use it on all the public transportation. It was much easier and probably more economical. Also, the City Pass saved us so much time when going to the Willis Tower that it was worth whatever the price was!

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
criptonight
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Mar 12, 2014

exhaling

Ordinary. Nothing special basic room in a central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lawnmunchkin
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2014

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is in an amazing location off the Magnificent Mile. Surrounded by great shopping, good food and close to the red line. However you honestly get what you pay for. I stayed in the queen room. Our room was super tiny. The lighting in the room is really dark. There is no overhead light except above the front door, and the lamps don't properly light the room. The bathroom door wouldn't fully shut, and the bathroom was so small that opening the door meant hitting the toilet. The bathroom looks like a bathroom you would get in a cheap apartment somewhere. My bathroom at home is nicer. There were also bugs in the bathtub, which is always "fantastic." The TV was broken. After about 10 minutes, it would emit a loud ear piercing static noise. So you couldn't watch any TV. The wifi is free though, which is nice. All in all, if you are looking for a small place to crash, then this will suit you fine. If you want the hotel experience, then I would go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martin E
Business
California
Feb 28, 2014

Love Trip

Very ordinary. Nothing special. BUT very cheap for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UGHHHHHHH
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 28, 2014

definitely felt cheap

Yes I was looking for a cheap hotel quickly, but this was a little too cheap for me. So first off they get you with a terrible $44 dollar parking charge, which I was not aware of. The valet was very very polite though, so was the front desk clerk when we arrived. We got to our room and the TV was on, kind of weird. The safe was also locked, so I called the front desk, and they told us we had to change rooms. So we packed up all of our stuff, came back down to the lobby and they gave us a new room. TV was on again, so now we figured it was just something they do (which I think is really weird, not even like the hotels channel or anything, but like sport center was on in the first room, and then a telemundo spanish channel was on in the second). There was a dirty towel in our bathroom laying in the middle of the floor. We decided not to complain this time because we didn't want to pack up our things AGAIN and get switched over a towel. At least the save worked this time. The next morning we were in a rush to get ready, and of course what else could go wrong but the toilet over flowing. It didn't even have any reason to clog, the flush just didn't work and water went everywhere, flowing out of the bathroom into the hallway. Not cool. So I called the front desk (it was about 6 am) and the service lady said "um….okay….can you wait an hour?" UMMM NOO!!! there is water spilling out of the toliet! Bring us some towels or something! Jeez! Needless to say, we could have cared less at this point, because we were leaving in twenty minutes, so we called the valet to bring our car and they told us 10 minutes. It took 30. Not a good experience, but what can you do when you want a cheap hotel quick. (i went with it originally because i saw a few average reviews so i figured it wouldn't be for just a quick overnight stay. I was wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wendyho
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 19, 2014

Awesome Employees, kinda irritating guests.

The hotel is in the perfect location to the Mag Mile. Spent all day Sunday shopping and enjoying the hustle and bustle. Had an AMAZING dinner nearby at Joe's Seafood, Prime Steaks. The staff were always friendly and funny. I was even able to joke with some of the staff about their grandma elevators (she could race up the stairs faster). My entire floor was fresh and arrogant with a earthiness... I almost thought I was in Colorado or Washington. The walls were pretty thin, so I heard a lotta love on Valentine's Day. One time coming off the elevator, there was a guy holding a fan of $100 bills. I really hope it was for buying fur.... Chicagoans seem to love their fur in winter! For the price, it's great for people on a budget. It's a great location, friendly staff, but if you don't have the means of luxury, you just get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are half a block from a Midwestern Rodeo Drive: Burberry across from Marshall's. There is a store for everyone.

Back to menu Return to top