$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelinpam
Friends
Wisconsin
Dec 15, 2012

Great Location

For a budget hotel this was a great find. The location couldn't be better, close to shopping and dining. Room was small but bed was comfortable asonly for sleeping really . A little noisy but it was Sat. night so.... Would definitely stay here again for the money it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Smaller Two
Business
Utah
Mar 25, 2014

Location is great

If you are trying to save money so you can spend it shopping on the Magnificent Mile, this hotel worked fine. It was around the block from the MM. I felt safe. The bed was good. The bathroom small. There are no amenities--unless you call the coffee pot an amenity. If I was trying to save money I'd probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a metro pass and use it on all the public transportation. It was much easier and probably more economical. Also, the City Pass saved us so much time when going to the Willis Tower that it was worth whatever the price was!

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
criptonight
Single
Chicago,Illinois
Mar 12, 2014

exhaling

Ordinary. Nothing special basic room in a central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lawnmunchkin
Couples
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2014

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is in an amazing location off the Magnificent Mile. Surrounded by great shopping, good food and close to the red line. However you honestly get what you pay for. I stayed in the queen room. Our room was super tiny. The lighting in the room is really dark. There is no overhead light except above the front door, and the lamps don't properly light the room. The bathroom door wouldn't fully shut, and the bathroom was so small that opening the door meant hitting the toilet. The bathroom looks like a bathroom you would get in a cheap apartment somewhere. My bathroom at home is nicer. There were also bugs in the bathtub, which is always "fantastic." The TV was broken. After about 10 minutes, it would emit a loud ear piercing static noise. So you couldn't watch any TV. The wifi is free though, which is nice. All in all, if you are looking for a small place to crash, then this will suit you fine. If you want the hotel experience, then I would go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martin E
Couples
California
Feb 28, 2014

Love Trip

Very ordinary. Nothing special. BUT very cheap for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UGHHHHHHH
Friends
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 28, 2014

definitely felt cheap

Yes I was looking for a cheap hotel quickly, but this was a little too cheap for me. So first off they get you with a terrible $44 dollar parking charge, which I was not aware of. The valet was very very polite though, so was the front desk clerk when we arrived. We got to our room and the TV was on, kind of weird. The safe was also locked, so I called the front desk, and they told us we had to change rooms. So we packed up all of our stuff, came back down to the lobby and they gave us a new room. TV was on again, so now we figured it was just something they do (which I think is really weird, not even like the hotels channel or anything, but like sport center was on in the first room, and then a telemundo spanish channel was on in the second). There was a dirty towel in our bathroom laying in the middle of the floor. We decided not to complain this time because we didn't want to pack up our things AGAIN and get switched over a towel. At least the save worked this time. The next morning we were in a rush to get ready, and of course what else could go wrong but the toilet over flowing. It didn't even have any reason to clog, the flush just didn't work and water went everywhere, flowing out of the bathroom into the hallway. Not cool. So I called the front desk (it was about 6 am) and the service lady said "um….okay….can you wait an hour?" UMMM NOO!!! there is water spilling out of the toliet! Bring us some towels or something! Jeez! Needless to say, we could have cared less at this point, because we were leaving in twenty minutes, so we called the valet to bring our car and they told us 10 minutes. It took 30. Not a good experience, but what can you do when you want a cheap hotel quick. (i went with it originally because i saw a few average reviews so i figured it wouldn't be for just a quick overnight stay. I was wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wendyho
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 19, 2014

Awesome Employees, kinda irritating guests.

The hotel is in the perfect location to the Mag Mile. Spent all day Sunday shopping and enjoying the hustle and bustle. Had an AMAZING dinner nearby at Joe's Seafood, Prime Steaks. The staff were always friendly and funny. I was even able to joke with some of the staff about their grandma elevators (she could race up the stairs faster). My entire floor was fresh and arrogant with a earthiness... I almost thought I was in Colorado or Washington. The walls were pretty thin, so I heard a lotta love on Valentine's Day. One time coming off the elevator, there was a guy holding a fan of $100 bills. I really hope it was for buying fur.... Chicagoans seem to love their fur in winter! For the price, it's great for people on a budget. It's a great location, friendly staff, but if you don't have the means of luxury, you just get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are half a block from a Midwestern Rodeo Drive: Burberry across from Marshall's. There is a store for everyone.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Big time
Family
St. Louis, MO
Feb 18, 2014

red roof

This hotel is exactly what you pay for; rooms are small and there are no king size beds. Bathroom was not clean and I wore bags on my feet to take a shower. Elevators are the size of a kids room.This hotel is just an absolute bust and needs a lot of improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are not that far

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goinham
Couples
Detroit, MI
Feb 18, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Hotel was alright. Very cheap that's the reason we booked there. Small rooms you can hear everyone around you. Lobby area outdated. Seems very old. I wouldn't stay again, unless I got the same cheap rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pershing road
Single
chicago
Feb 16, 2014

relaxation

this is my second stay here at the redroof inn and i must say i was pleased again..i filles out this review previously and you guys promised me an extra 5% off my next stay and i didnt recieve it other than that my stay was wonderful oh and you could also use some lotion in the rooms and an ice machine on all floors would be nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sum3
Business
dayton, oh
Feb 4, 2014

It's a bed.

So the rooms were pretty grungy, and the staff was a little ghetto (smoking when we came in, goofing off, etc), but considering it was downtown chicago-it was a bargain. If you don't need anything but a bed-this place will do fine. Just don't expect it to be very clean-because it's not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top