$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
198 reviews
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Safe, Secure, Clean, Comfortable, AWESOME STAFF!

I'm not fancy but this hotel checked off all the important boxes where I am concerned. This hotel... See full review

  • NordicGoddess
  • May 30, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonyaG
pleasant hill,mo
Apr 2, 2013

Great location and value

I was very happy with my decision to stay here. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Yes it's pretty basic but I couldn't have asked for more at the price I paid. I would definitely recommend someone stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the breakfast at yolk.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CityGirl0612
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 15, 2013

Location Location Location

Great location! The room was kind of old looking but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol Grill

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just some angry customer
Madison, Wisconsin
Dec 28, 2012

the worest

This is simply the worest hotel i have ever lived in chicago. Bad services, not polite staff rubbish room, nothing conected to the word "good" is about this hotel, except the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelinpam
Wisconsin
Dec 15, 2012

Great Location

For a budget hotel this was a great find. The location couldn't be better, close to shopping and dining. Room was small but bed was comfortable asonly for sleeping really . A little noisy but it was Sat. night so.... Would definitely stay here again for the money it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maricel g
Business
philippines
Nov 2, 2012

very good location

we had a great stay but was hoping there was a thermos to heat water. The staff were helpful but the voice when they answer not too pleasing. the remote control of television only one and there were two tv sets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

famous pizza and marshalls and home store and trader joes

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
b pro
Business
Detroit
Oct 31, 2012

Red roof of louseyness

This Hotel was THE WORSE i have ever stayed in. Dungy, gloomy room, BUGS, yes BUGS all over bath room floor. Not just (1) But many. I would have rather slept on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well Traveled Gal
Hudsonville, MI
Oct 7, 2012

Red Roof Inn - Downtown Chicago

Location is perfect - an easy walk to the Miracle Mile, Navy Pier and much more. Rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Towels and pillows were plentiful, and all electric appliances: TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, etc. worked well. We'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall the traveller
Business
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Aug 17, 2012

Staff are not friendly

The coffee maker in my room was not working so I took it to the front desk and asked them to replace it for me, but the lady at the reception treated me very cold like I had broken it and said she'll send one to my room. I stayed there for another 2 days and they never sent me one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KirstenEmily
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Aug 7, 2012

Great value for the Mag Mile

No issues! The staff was friendly and the room was nicer than what we expected. The location is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler4250
Indiana
Jul 7, 2012

Don't turn around!

While location can't be beat at this hotel, they've apparently taken a single room and made it into a double with two full beds. If you're young and traveling with a backpack, the room is perfect. Otherwise, consider the room to be where you park it and sleep and nothing else. Beds are old, just enough room to get round the bed, little room for luggage - even the bathroom is half-size. Pay a little more to stay somewhere you can turn around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try hitting floors 14-15 in the Merchandise Mart - while a lot of wholesale showrooms have closed due to the economy, you can still visit a few with sample sales that will sell to the public at 1/2 off of wholesale. Cash only, bring your own bags. General home stuff, but also has furniture..

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ewinck
Pittsburgh, Penssylvania
Jun 30, 2012

Fantastic Location

This hotel is in a fantastic location. It's a good hotel, thought the room was a little small. Besides that, everything absolutely fine. Very good option if you wanna stay downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top