$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warmintel
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 17, 2014

Spotless room, very friendly staff, bed too short!

The location is wonderful. The staff all lived up to the reviews I had read before arriving--really very friendly and helpful. My room, and corridor, were spotlessly clean and the room had all the little amenities like soap, tissues, iron and board, hairdryer, etc. There were lots of good towels. The room was on the small side with no chair and I lay propped up on one of the beds to watch the news on the large TV. But I am no giant at 72" and I found the bed to be short for sleeping! I don't see restaurant to be a problem. They have a room service arrangement with an outside vendor and, significantly, there is a really lovely and reasonably priced all day restaurant in the hotel directly across the street. There is also a restaurant that's part of a high end national chain directly across the intersecting street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any meal time--the hotel directly across the street. High end lunch or dinner--national chain restaurant directly across the intersecting street.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BVP GRMI
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Sep 15, 2014

Great location, not much else

Good deal and great location. But lobby and room very small. Our (2) double bed room was just that - only enough room for one person to walk around. 2 large cobwebs between wall/ceiling and bathroom (also very small) not all that clean. Slow elevator. Valet parking ($44 + tip) worked very well, fast. Beds were fairly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

5 block walk to L train red line.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon2014
Business
Florida
Sep 14, 2014

Do NOT stay there!

Maid only cleaned room first of four days. Put new linen others, but no new coffee or hand lotion. Had to go down to front desk for more. WiFi was a "joke". Went in and out every few seconds. Elevator is small and slow. TV channel control did not work most times. Had to push buttons several times. Front desk did not know how to get channels with a dash in their number...said just use up/down button! Limited "Intelligent" programs. For $300 a night sure expect the BEST of everything! Typically with the maid problems normal get at least one night refund but they only offered me a pitense off! Only good thing was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
christinevan
Business
Seattle
Sep 3, 2014

Overnight in Downtown Chicago

Fantastic location, right off the magnificent mile, steps away from the heart of Chicago's shopping scene. The hotel wasn't anything special, a little old and run down, but if you are just looking for a place to spend the night that is convenient to everything downtown, this is not a bad option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJSW
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 1, 2014

Perfect for what I needed

This was a good stay for a short period of time, which is exactly what I needed. The staff are very friendly. The room was small but again given the time I was in the room, my needs were met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located..a block off of Michigan Ave

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fun times in Cozumel
Business
Missouri
Jul 30, 2014

Hotel Location Great

This hotel is located one block from Michigan Avenue and we were able to walk to most of the places we wanted to see. It was also one of the few that were in our price range. On the down side, it is in need of a face lift and some of the staff could use some PR training. We did deal with one male employee that was very pleasant and helpful. We were only in our room to shower and sleep so it worked out fine, but if you are looking for a more elegant place to stay this would not be for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from Michigan Ave shopping!

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pedals
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jul 28, 2014

Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable of the area. Very close to Michigan Avenue and of course Dunken Doughnuts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan Avenue

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1CaptainAmerica1
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 10, 2014

Red Roof Inn

The wheelchair rooms aren't exactly accessible because you have to bring your own shower chair but don't say anything until you get to the hotel. Also ,the last day I was there we couldn't shower because they were experiencing trouble with the water pipes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's pizza was amazing! Attractions are near by. You can walk 10-20min or take a cab

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing traveller
Business
Florida
Jul 10, 2014

Good location

Good location,nice price,a good choice for shot trip.I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing traveller
Business
Florida
Jul 9, 2014

Good location

Good location, nice price, a good choice for short travel, I'll recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top