$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonyaG
pleasant hill,mo
Apr 2, 2013

Great location and value

I was very happy with my decision to stay here. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Yes it's pretty basic but I couldn't have asked for more at the price I paid. I would definitely recommend someone stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the breakfast at yolk.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gabby Lo
Business
UK
Oct 5, 2014

Good location - nothing much else!

+ good air con, hot water, clean towels, location, some staff were very friendly - not very clean, very small room although it was a suite, needs huge refurbishment, electric socket coming away from the wall This was my first experience in Red Roof Inns and I would not stay in them again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Color Run Girl
Business
Rockford, IL
Oct 2, 2014

Needs Improvement

The door to the bathroom broke, pillows were hard, room was small and key card was deactivated prior to departure time. Price was high for overall experience. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CincyGirlPhoto
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 29, 2014

Kindof icky

Location was like everyone said, perfect. One block from Michigan Ave and next to Capital Grill. Small/decent lobby, not the friendliest staff. Small elevators and hallways. Not sure what this building used to be but it was just ok. Bathroom was old, smelled like standing water and the sink was gonna fall off. Could be a super cute bathroom with some paint and common maintenance. Dirty floor, not scrubbed shower, bed had hairs in it and burn holes. Did have a coffee maker (no sugar or creamers), microwave, and mini fridge that was nice. Wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warmintel
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 17, 2014

Spotless room, very friendly staff, bed too short!

The location is wonderful. The staff all lived up to the reviews I had read before arriving--really very friendly and helpful. My room, and corridor, were spotlessly clean and the room had all the little amenities like soap, tissues, iron and board, hairdryer, etc. There were lots of good towels. The room was on the small side with no chair and I lay propped up on one of the beds to watch the news on the large TV. But I am no giant at 72" and I found the bed to be short for sleeping! I don't see restaurant to be a problem. They have a room service arrangement with an outside vendor and, significantly, there is a really lovely and reasonably priced all day restaurant in the hotel directly across the street. There is also a restaurant that's part of a high end national chain directly across the intersecting street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any meal time--the hotel directly across the street. High end lunch or dinner--national chain restaurant directly across the intersecting street.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BVP GRMI
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Sep 15, 2014

Great location, not much else

Good deal and great location. But lobby and room very small. Our (2) double bed room was just that - only enough room for one person to walk around. 2 large cobwebs between wall/ceiling and bathroom (also very small) not all that clean. Slow elevator. Valet parking ($44 + tip) worked very well, fast. Beds were fairly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

5 block walk to L train red line.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon2014
Business
Florida
Sep 14, 2014

Do NOT stay there!

Maid only cleaned room first of four days. Put new linen others, but no new coffee or hand lotion. Had to go down to front desk for more. WiFi was a "joke". Went in and out every few seconds. Elevator is small and slow. TV channel control did not work most times. Had to push buttons several times. Front desk did not know how to get channels with a dash in their number...said just use up/down button! Limited "Intelligent" programs. For $300 a night sure expect the BEST of everything! Typically with the maid problems normal get at least one night refund but they only offered me a pitense off! Only good thing was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
christinevan
Business
Seattle
Sep 3, 2014

Overnight in Downtown Chicago

Fantastic location, right off the magnificent mile, steps away from the heart of Chicago's shopping scene. The hotel wasn't anything special, a little old and run down, but if you are just looking for a place to spend the night that is convenient to everything downtown, this is not a bad option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJSW
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 1, 2014

Perfect for what I needed

This was a good stay for a short period of time, which is exactly what I needed. The staff are very friendly. The room was small but again given the time I was in the room, my needs were met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located..a block off of Michigan Ave

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fun times in Cozumel
Business
Missouri
Jul 30, 2014

Hotel Location Great

This hotel is located one block from Michigan Avenue and we were able to walk to most of the places we wanted to see. It was also one of the few that were in our price range. On the down side, it is in need of a face lift and some of the staff could use some PR training. We did deal with one male employee that was very pleasant and helpful. We were only in our room to shower and sleep so it worked out fine, but if you are looking for a more elegant place to stay this would not be for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from Michigan Ave shopping!

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pedals
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jul 28, 2014

Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable of the area. Very close to Michigan Avenue and of course Dunken Doughnuts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan Avenue

Back to menu Return to top