$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
christinevan
Business
Seattle
Sep 3, 2014

Overnight in Downtown Chicago

Fantastic location, right off the magnificent mile, steps away from the heart of Chicago's shopping scene. The hotel wasn't anything special, a little old and run down, but if you are just looking for a place to spend the night that is convenient to everything downtown, this is not a bad option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KJSW
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 1, 2014

Perfect for what I needed

This was a good stay for a short period of time, which is exactly what I needed. The staff are very friendly. The room was small but again given the time I was in the room, my needs were met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located..a block off of Michigan Ave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fun times in Cozumel
Business
Missouri
Jul 30, 2014

Hotel Location Great

This hotel is located one block from Michigan Avenue and we were able to walk to most of the places we wanted to see. It was also one of the few that were in our price range. On the down side, it is in need of a face lift and some of the staff could use some PR training. We did deal with one male employee that was very pleasant and helpful. We were only in our room to shower and sleep so it worked out fine, but if you are looking for a more elegant place to stay this would not be for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from Michigan Ave shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pedals
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jul 28, 2014

Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable of the area. Very close to Michigan Avenue and of course Dunken Doughnuts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1CaptainAmerica1
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 10, 2014

Red Roof Inn

The wheelchair rooms aren't exactly accessible because you have to bring your own shower chair but don't say anything until you get to the hotel. Also ,the last day I was there we couldn't shower because they were experiencing trouble with the water pipes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's pizza was amazing! Attractions are near by. You can walk 10-20min or take a cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing traveller
Business
Florida
Jul 10, 2014

Good location

Good location,nice price,a good choice for shot trip.I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing traveller
Business
Florida
Jul 9, 2014

Good location

Good location, nice price, a good choice for short travel, I'll recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pedals
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jul 9, 2014

Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always helpful. Our room was clean and well made up. The only thing I could recommend if I were being picky is a picture or two on the wall. RR is in a great location and near many things if you're walking or taking the bus. For the price, ou just can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan Avenue to many great shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WB 1st time in Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 15, 2014

Vacation

Front desk staff were great and very helpful with suggestions on places to eat and things to do in the city. The room was ok. Bathroom needed to be cleaned daily. Bathtub and sinks were not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place. Giordano's is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lindseyrn
Business
Illinois
Jun 11, 2014

Great location

The location is excellent - would stay there again just based on location!!! Otherwise, we didn't spend much time in the room - it is small but that didn't bother us. What DID bother us is the lack of a vent fan in the bathroom (very steamy and hot after showers)!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top