$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rutoa
Effingham, IL, USA
Mar 17, 2012

In the middle of everything!

Great for the price. We didn't stay in the hotel long, but the stay couldn't have been better. Room was clean and comfortable. Location was great! You can walk every where. Don't know why the rating and reviews aren't that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gino's East and get a deep dish pizza! Also Hard Rock Cafe isn't that far. Might have to wait long but it was worth it. We couldn't find many breakfast spots but we did find this very popular place called Eggsperience Cafe. Walk down the Magnificent Mile for shopping and go to the Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelfargo
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 17, 2014

Location and staffs are good...

Rooms are dirty. Toilet not good. Location good. only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelfargo
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 17, 2014

Location and staffs are good...

Location and staffs are good... However, rooms are dirty, carpet unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ralphi
Business
Columbus, IN
Nov 17, 2014

low value for money

Great location, its true. But for the price you pay the rooms are not worthy. Carpets are old, doors and walls have chips allover, staff is also badly trained. Just an old hotel at a good location that overcharges a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCLaw
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Nov 13, 2014

Great if you're not looking to stay indoors all day

I was here on business, and my wife and I wanted to have a good night out. So we did--and the hotel is perfect for that. It has a great location (I'd even suggest that if you're new to the area, check out Groupon for some good deals--and you'll find plenty of things nearby). I'd recommend this hotel for a quick stay, but not for a longer one, or if you're coming not-for-pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a Groupon, or ask the front desk to find cool things to do. Walk over to the boardwalk too, it's pretty impressive at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deetree
Business
camden, nj
Nov 5, 2014

Great for one night stay

Staff was courteous and helpful. No breakfast. Location is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessInIowa
Business
Ames, Iowa
Oct 15, 2014

Okay Hotel, Great Location

The location is why you would stay here. My room was small; the bathroom grout had some discoloration (maybe mold?); and the parking costs $44 a day(!). But all that said, you're right downtown and in the heart of everything. We left the car in parking and took the bus to the Shedd Aquarium and Art Institute, which costs $2 and stops about a block away from the Red Roof Inn. Overall, the hotel is just a place to sleep, and it was fine for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gabby Lo
Business
UK
Oct 5, 2014

Good location - nothing much else!

+ good air con, hot water, clean towels, location, some staff were very friendly - not very clean, very small room although it was a suite, needs huge refurbishment, electric socket coming away from the wall This was my first experience in Red Roof Inns and I would not stay in them again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Color Run Girl
Business
Rockford, IL
Oct 2, 2014

Needs Improvement

The door to the bathroom broke, pillows were hard, room was small and key card was deactivated prior to departure time. Price was high for overall experience. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CincyGirlPhoto
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 29, 2014

Kindof icky

Location was like everyone said, perfect. One block from Michigan Ave and next to Capital Grill. Small/decent lobby, not the friendliest staff. Small elevators and hallways. Not sure what this building used to be but it was just ok. Bathroom was old, smelled like standing water and the sink was gonna fall off. Could be a super cute bathroom with some paint and common maintenance. Dirty floor, not scrubbed shower, bed had hairs in it and burn holes. Did have a coffee maker (no sugar or creamers), microwave, and mini fridge that was nice. Wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warmintel
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 17, 2014

Spotless room, very friendly staff, bed too short!

The location is wonderful. The staff all lived up to the reviews I had read before arriving--really very friendly and helpful. My room, and corridor, were spotlessly clean and the room had all the little amenities like soap, tissues, iron and board, hairdryer, etc. There were lots of good towels. The room was on the small side with no chair and I lay propped up on one of the beds to watch the news on the large TV. But I am no giant at 72" and I found the bed to be short for sleeping! I don't see restaurant to be a problem. They have a room service arrangement with an outside vendor and, significantly, there is a really lovely and reasonably priced all day restaurant in the hotel directly across the street. There is also a restaurant that's part of a high end national chain directly across the intersecting street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any meal time--the hotel directly across the street. High end lunch or dinner--national chain restaurant directly across the intersecting street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top