$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo, Japan
Aug 23, 2011

Fantastic location and unbeatable price

This hotel was perfect for me. First thing is its location. I was able to reach any Chicago downtown spots within 5 minutes. Second thing is its price. Actually I stayed at Marriott Hotel which is placed nearby this hotel for 2 days, but I should have chosen this hotel fot those 2 days also. If you are planning to visit Chicago downtown, this hotel is perfectly worth for every dime you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When I stayed at this hotel, there was no breakfast included. Probably there is still no breakfast plan. If you want a nice hotel breakfast, I recommend you to walk to Marriott Hotel, and they have nice breakfast restaurant on the 2nd floor(budget 12$ -20$).

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperKM
Business
Indiana
Nov 18, 2014

Great location

Great location though rooms can be updated with new paint coats

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelfargo
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 17, 2014

Location and staffs are good...

Rooms are dirty. Toilet not good. Location good. only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelfargo
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 17, 2014

Location and staffs are good...

Location and staffs are good... However, rooms are dirty, carpet unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ralphi
Business
Columbus, IN
Nov 17, 2014

low value for money

Great location, its true. But for the price you pay the rooms are not worthy. Carpets are old, doors and walls have chips allover, staff is also badly trained. Just an old hotel at a good location that overcharges a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCLaw
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Nov 13, 2014

Great if you're not looking to stay indoors all day

I was here on business, and my wife and I wanted to have a good night out. So we did--and the hotel is perfect for that. It has a great location (I'd even suggest that if you're new to the area, check out Groupon for some good deals--and you'll find plenty of things nearby). I'd recommend this hotel for a quick stay, but not for a longer one, or if you're coming not-for-pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a Groupon, or ask the front desk to find cool things to do. Walk over to the boardwalk too, it's pretty impressive at night.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deetree
Business
camden, nj
Nov 5, 2014

Great for one night stay

Staff was courteous and helpful. No breakfast. Location is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessInIowa
Business
Ames, Iowa
Oct 15, 2014

Okay Hotel, Great Location

The location is why you would stay here. My room was small; the bathroom grout had some discoloration (maybe mold?); and the parking costs $44 a day(!). But all that said, you're right downtown and in the heart of everything. We left the car in parking and took the bus to the Shedd Aquarium and Art Institute, which costs $2 and stops about a block away from the Red Roof Inn. Overall, the hotel is just a place to sleep, and it was fine for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gabby Lo
Business
UK
Oct 5, 2014

Good location - nothing much else!

+ good air con, hot water, clean towels, location, some staff were very friendly - not very clean, very small room although it was a suite, needs huge refurbishment, electric socket coming away from the wall This was my first experience in Red Roof Inns and I would not stay in them again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Color Run Girl
Business
Rockford, IL
Oct 2, 2014

Needs Improvement

The door to the bathroom broke, pillows were hard, room was small and key card was deactivated prior to departure time. Price was high for overall experience. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CincyGirlPhoto
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 29, 2014

Kindof icky

Location was like everyone said, perfect. One block from Michigan Ave and next to Capital Grill. Small/decent lobby, not the friendliest staff. Small elevators and hallways. Not sure what this building used to be but it was just ok. Bathroom was old, smelled like standing water and the sink was gonna fall off. Could be a super cute bathroom with some paint and common maintenance. Dirty floor, not scrubbed shower, bed had hairs in it and burn holes. Did have a coffee maker (no sugar or creamers), microwave, and mini fridge that was nice. Wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top