$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RDS2
Business
Chicago
Dec 2, 2014

Terrible

Uncomfortable. Front desk was complaining. Why do I have to deal w/ a 1.64 safe charge. Just don't charge me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
89when
Business
ohio
Nov 26, 2014

noisy, not good

parking is bad and expensive, we need to walk 10 minutes to parking lot. our room is not bad but very small. at midnight it was very noisy and unsafe. a dunked woman knocked my door at 1 am! and some one knocked at 8 am! it was terrible experience in my life and I will never come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gene the dream
Business
Palm Springs, california
Nov 22, 2014

Great deal for The Magnificent Mile

Great location and friendly, helpful staff, especially Mike. The room had been updated and was large and nice. Microwave and refrigerator was a plus. The bathroom needs updating though. Tile & tub had been painted beige and was peeling. The toilet tank cover had been broken and glued back together. The price and location can't be beat!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperKM
Business
Indiana
Nov 18, 2014

Great location

Great location though rooms can be updated with new paint coats

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelfargo
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 17, 2014

Location and staffs are good...

Rooms are dirty. Toilet not good. Location good. only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelfargo
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 17, 2014

Location and staffs are good...

Location and staffs are good... However, rooms are dirty, carpet unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ralphi
Business
Columbus, IN
Nov 17, 2014

low value for money

Great location, its true. But for the price you pay the rooms are not worthy. Carpets are old, doors and walls have chips allover, staff is also badly trained. Just an old hotel at a good location that overcharges a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCLaw
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Nov 13, 2014

Great if you're not looking to stay indoors all day

I was here on business, and my wife and I wanted to have a good night out. So we did--and the hotel is perfect for that. It has a great location (I'd even suggest that if you're new to the area, check out Groupon for some good deals--and you'll find plenty of things nearby). I'd recommend this hotel for a quick stay, but not for a longer one, or if you're coming not-for-pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a Groupon, or ask the front desk to find cool things to do. Walk over to the boardwalk too, it's pretty impressive at night.

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deetree
Business
camden, nj
Nov 5, 2014

Great for one night stay

Staff was courteous and helpful. No breakfast. Location is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessInIowa
Business
Ames, Iowa
Oct 15, 2014

Okay Hotel, Great Location

The location is why you would stay here. My room was small; the bathroom grout had some discoloration (maybe mold?); and the parking costs $44 a day(!). But all that said, you're right downtown and in the heart of everything. We left the car in parking and took the bus to the Shedd Aquarium and Art Institute, which costs $2 and stops about a block away from the Red Roof Inn. Overall, the hotel is just a place to sleep, and it was fine for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top