$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goinham
Couples
Dearborn Heights
Feb 4, 2015

Quick Get Away

The only problem I had was no room until 4pm we arrived in Chicago at 11am. Hotel lobby looks very old, but room was clean and comfortable. Only slept in room was out in the city the whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gregory M.
Single
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Red Roof Inn

I'm often in Chicago for a few days a week. I go for the cheap cause you aren't going to spend a lot of time in your room. But, as in most my reviews, you get what you pay for. You want a boutique hotel, go pay a premium. You want a decent place to rest your head and then start up the great time that Chicago is again the next day, then this place will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Tee
Single
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Would Not Recommend

This was a last minute stay due to the recent Chicago storm and it was an awful experience. Upon checkin, there was a huge dog near the front desk with his bones and food nearby in full view. My room was cold and I could not adjust the temperature because there were no batteries in the thermostat. My bedding was extremely dirty with stains across both queen bedspreads and lastly the shower head was broken. Please think twice before booking here. You will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddy L.
Couples
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

couple trip

It was good staying at the hotel. I'll recommend this hotel because of the experience I've had

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fiore
Friends
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Great Hotel

The Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago - that's the best part. The room was a little bit old, you can see it from the walls at several small spots, but not very noticeable. But everything was clean, air-conditioning and heater worked perfectly, and the room had a big mirror, which gave the room some additional style. It also had a big TV for those who don't want to feel lonely. The lighting was a little bit dim, but it was okay with me. Overall, I think the hotel is very good for those who simply need a nice, warm and clean place to stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ILLINI4030
Couples
Bourbonnais
Jan 22, 2015

Not great

Hotel room is fine but the staff is lacking what other hotels have. Not very nice or all that helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pj.851
Single
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Great value for basic accomodations.

Great value if all you need is basic accommodations. Hotel is in need of a makeover--looking a little run down. Quiet and a great location for Michigan Ave. and convenient to the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aleksandr s.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

great downtown location

Basic hotel at great downtown location. Clean and nice. If you need food or computer, just walk down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RDS2
Business
Chicago
Dec 2, 2014

Terrible

Uncomfortable. Front desk was complaining. Why do I have to deal w/ a 1.64 safe charge. Just don't charge me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
89when
Friends
ohio
Nov 26, 2014

noisy, not good

parking is bad and expensive, we need to walk 10 minutes to parking lot. our room is not bad but very small. at midnight it was very noisy and unsafe. a dunked woman knocked my door at 1 am! and some one knocked at 8 am! it was terrible experience in my life and I will never come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top