$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conference goer
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Great location, nice people, bad wifi

Others have mentioned its unbeatable location, so I'll add to that, saying the front office staff were friendly (and casual). It was not loud, either from the traffic or from the guests. The cons were: the wifi, which didn't work for 4 out of my 5 days, seriously cutting my productivity the shower only channeled half the water (the other half continued to come out the spigot regardless of my efforts) and the cleaning crew was eager to know if I 'really' wanted my room cleaned each night. There also is no table or desk - no working space at all. So, not for the business traveler or anyone who needs to get stuff done. Great if you're a tourist or a field trip (who does not plan on eating in the room while working).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anshul J.
Business
Boston
Apr 6, 2015

Bare Bones Business Bed

There were renovations happening at the time--however, the WiFi was out of service, the bathroom was in shabby shape, the HVAC system was not working properly, and the carpet was wet. The location was good and the staff was polite and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beth K.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome family trip!

The hotel was one block off Muchigan Avenue. The staff was great! They were all very friendly and willing to help anyway they could. The room was very clean and comfortable. You can't beat the price! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann
Business
Homewood
Mar 24, 2015

Poor service

We had issues when leaving the hotel. We were asked to put down a $10 cash deposit that'd we'd get back when we checked out. At checkout they said they do not accept cash and we were wrong. Tapes were checked and they agreed there was money exchange but said they could not prove it was the deposit. Poor customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PVel
Business
Chicago
Mar 17, 2015

Great Location

Don't be fooled and don't be a fool. You don't have to be a millionaire to find a good hotel for a good price in Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Red Roof Inn might not be a 5 star hotel but you can't beat the location. Culture tourists will be pleased to know you can walk from the hotel to The Arts Club, The Museum of Contemporary Art and the Art Institute. And even though the room layout is a bit ackward, the hotel is super clean and the staff super attentive and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy7
Business
Galesburg
Mar 9, 2015

Nice hotel great location

Great location, affordable, clean, nice for a quick trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James H.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Business trip

Superb central location. Basic accommodation but serves the purpose and very good value for money. All staff helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ligia a.
Business
ny
Mar 2, 2015

Perfect location great price

It is what it is, cheap but great location especially if you are not going to spend time in the hotel and just outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John S.
Business
N/A
Feb 28, 2015

Trup wit friend

Hotel was nice, room was clean. If ur looking for an average room to stay at just stay here.. Only thing that sucked is parking isnt included wit hotel. 50 bucks a night we had to pay smh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OandJaz
Business
Louisville
Feb 9, 2015

good for the price

clean and simple, good location, valet parking $44

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top