$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonyaG
pleasant hill,mo
Apr 2, 2013

Great location and value

I was very happy with my decision to stay here. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Yes it's pretty basic but I couldn't have asked for more at the price I paid. I would definitely recommend someone stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the breakfast at yolk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chickg3
Business
holmes , pa.
Apr 30, 2013

chicago

location was good for purpose of my visit. clean room plenty of places to eat. a movie theatre nearby and taxi service was close by when i needed it. my only complaint no ESPN on the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just remember what street your on so you don't walk in the wrong direction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cbit
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 23, 2013

Not a great impression

We were disappointed with the Hotel. Lobby is small and ugly; elevators are old and need updating. Room was Ok, bed comfortable but bathroom very small and uninviting. The hotel has virtually no amenities. Overall, not very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Siirena
Business
Dallas TX
Apr 23, 2013

bring your own broom

We opted for the Red Roof Inn because the location was ideal for an event we were attending for the weekend. I understand about check in policies, but I had never experienced *any* hotel not allowing for a little earlier check in (RRI has a 4pm time). It all made sense later... As we were coming down the elevator, a woman told us to check our sheets because she found bed bugs in hers. We returned and thankfully did not find anything in our beds. The cleaning of the room was marginal. My bed just had the covers pulled but beneath, the bottom sheet had not even been stretched. There was a small piece of paper on the bathroom floor that remained for the entire 3 days we were there, making it clear the maid was not sweeping, much less moping the bathroom floor. The coffee and tea supplies were never re-stocked, and even some empty sugar wrappings and used cups left behind. The hotel has an ideal location, the room was very comfortable. The front staff's friendliness ranged from dry and bothered to very friendly. I hope the hotel corrects the mediocre cleaning of rooms.... no wonder they cannot possibly check in guests a little earlier!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Quinten
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 10, 2013

Filthy

This is the dirtiest hotel I have ever seen. There were hairs all over the bathroom and I even found one under a pillow! The bed was uncomfortable. The room stank of some flowery cleaning product. It was noisy. Disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonyaG
Business
pleasant hill,mo
Apr 2, 2013

Great location and value

I was very happy with my decision to stay here. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Yes it's pretty basic but I couldn't have asked for more at the price I paid. I would definitely recommend someone stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the breakfast at yolk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henrik K.
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Mar 31, 2013

Great value!

Great rates, friendly staff, spacious rooms, and walking distance to to the main entertainment areas. This is a great choice for the budget minded tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CityGirl0612
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 15, 2013

Location Location Location

Great location! The room was kind of old looking but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just some angry customer
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Dec 28, 2012

the worest

This is simply the worest hotel i have ever lived in chicago. Bad services, not polite staff rubbish room, nothing conected to the word "good" is about this hotel, except the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelinpam
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 15, 2012

Great Location

For a budget hotel this was a great find. The location couldn't be better, close to shopping and dining. Room was small but bed was comfortable asonly for sleeping really . A little noisy but it was Sat. night so.... Would definitely stay here again for the money it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maricel g
Business
philippines
Nov 2, 2012

very good location

we had a great stay but was hoping there was a thermos to heat water. The staff were helpful but the voice when they answer not too pleasing. the remote control of television only one and there were two tv sets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

famous pizza and marshalls and home store and trader joes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top