Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
152 reviews
Great hotel and wonderful location

We LOVE coming and staying at Red Roof when we visit Chicago. The staff is courteous and... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We always stay at the RR when we go to Chicago for the weekend. The staff is remarkable and always... See full review

  • Pedals
  • Jul 9, 2014
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Map

41.8936 -87.6229
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 15.60, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chard
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 15, 2011

Location Location Location

First, let me say that I live in the city of Chicago so I understand the importance of location when looking for someplace to stay. With that being said, I believe that if this hotel were located anywhere else in the city, you wouldn't pay more than $30 per night. The rooms are tiny. The beds are VERY soft so if you want any firmness you will be disappointed. Bathrooms are so tiny that you almost have to walk in sideways. The room also smelled terrible; musty, old body odor, and stinky feet. I went out and bought spray air freshener and sprayed the room and bathroom down several times. Finally, with air conditioning on full blast and windows open, the room aired out a bit. Now for the good stuff. As I said, the location is outstanding. Despite the stale, musty smells, you could tell the rooms were clean - just needed some airing out. Bathrooms were very clean, showers and water pressure were great considering the vintage building. Finally, the staff is the absolute highlight of this property. Everyone from the Front Desk, to the Housekeeping team, the Maintenance Team and Valet were extremely professional, SO friendly, and definitely went above and beyond to make sure all their guest's needs were taken care of. I would definitely hire this team for any hotel property I was working for. Bottom line? You will get a clean room, all the amenities you expect from a limited service hotel, in a great location, and you will be treated like gold by the staff. If you are looking for an experience like The Peninsula, Wyndham, Elysian, or Sofitel - you'll be disapponted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 24, 2011

Great Location

This is a good value hotel only 15 mins walk to the Navy Pier, 1 min to Magnificent Mile and 5 mins to the Chicago River. Service was good and the rooms decent. It's all about the location however!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 14, 2011

Spring break at the Red Roof

Definitely not a fancy place, but you should be spending your time enjoying the city anyway, not your hotel room. Location seriously couldn't be better; it's in the middle of the city, near a red-line metro stop. Free wireless internet,although signal can be a little weak. If you want a hot shower, let the water run a few minutes, or make your friends shower first. Hotel provides shampoo, but bring your own conditioner. Otherwise, it's safe, quiet and comfortable. Book early if you want a non-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morenitos
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Feb 23, 2011

Okay....

I went to Chicago for the weekend with my boyfriend. The room size was good and the bed was confortable. The bathroom was okay, but just okay, not the shiny and everything white you expect in a hotel. The better thing of this hotel is the ubication and the price is really fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Feb 20, 2011

About what I expected.

For being one of the cheapest hotels in the Chicago area, it wasn't that bad. The hotel room itself is small, and a little dirty but for the value its a good deal. It's very easy to get to from the Red line or using the bus system. It's in the middle of the shopping district which is great. Me and my friend was only there for one night and I didn't have any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right in the middle of downtown Chicago. I alot of attractions are within walking distance, or like I did USE THE PUBLIC TRANSIT. I used the buses and the L Train. Great for saving money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Jan 24, 2011

Could have been worse

The hotel room was kind of dingy and the water pressure in the shower was terrible, but they have valet parking, and the staff members were friendly and helpful. The day we checked out we were going to be staying in chicago for the rest of the day, and the hotel had a baggage check for free so we didn't have to worry about where to put them. We went to timothy O Toole's a block away and the hotel had 20 % off coupons for there, so that was also nice. Not the nicest hotel for sure, but for the price in downtown Chicago it was as nice as I could have wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right next to magnificent mile, which has nice shopping and dining. Don't forget to make dinner reservations. Also, don't talk to the people who want to shine your shoes... say no thank you and keep walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 10, 2011

Great Location!!

This hotel is on the great location for shopping and sight seeing! There are many shops and restaurants around the hotel, and it's very convenient!! The staffs are helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Jan 6, 2011

Red Roof hotel Reservation for a night !

Was only one night and was fine !! .. The place of the hotel is very close to Michigan Avenue which is the most beautiful street in Chivago in my opinion. Otherwise, the hotel was not bad !! But I expect it to be better !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue close to the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mokena
Jan 2, 2011

OK for the money

When we first arrived our rooms were tiny. Barely enough room for 2 people to stay comfortably. One of the rooms had black mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and dirty towels on the floor although it looked like the room had been cleaned. After some complaining they moved us to slightly larger rooms which was alright but one of the rooms again had dirty towels on the floor. All in all it was ok but it took too long to be right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Dec 18, 2010

Location is everything

For just getting to know the city of Chicago or doing some holiday shopping, this hotel was quite good. The price for the location was excellent, and the room itself was warm and clean. While some of the staff were a bit less than helpful, others were friendly and informative. The unlimited free domestic telephone use was a major plus. Basically, this room met all of our needs and allowed us to have an excellent visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need to get to the airport, you can jump on a train at the north end of the Loop. From the hotel, it is an EASY twenty to twenty-five minute walk. If you don't have too much luggage, it is a free, easy, and more pleasurable way to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top