$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
193 reviews
Awesome family trip!

The hotel was one block off Muchigan Avenue. The staff was great! They were all very friendly and... See full review

  • Beth K.
  • Apr 6, 2015
couple trip

It was good staying at the hotel. I'll recommend this hotel because of the experience I've had See full review

  • Eddy L.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkcajun1
Business
Fishers
Apr 24, 2015

Excellent Location - Pet Friendly

The Red Roof Inn has an excellent location near Chicago's magnificient mile. It is pet friendly and dogs stay free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Business
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conference goer
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Great location, nice people, bad wifi

Others have mentioned its unbeatable location, so I'll add to that, saying the front office staff were friendly (and casual). It was not loud, either from the traffic or from the guests. The cons were: the wifi, which didn't work for 4 out of my 5 days, seriously cutting my productivity the shower only channeled half the water (the other half continued to come out the spigot regardless of my efforts) and the cleaning crew was eager to know if I 'really' wanted my room cleaned each night. There also is no table or desk - no working space at all. So, not for the business traveler or anyone who needs to get stuff done. Great if you're a tourist or a field trip (who does not plan on eating in the room while working).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anshul J.
Business
Boston
Apr 6, 2015

Bare Bones Business Bed

There were renovations happening at the time--however, the WiFi was out of service, the bathroom was in shabby shape, the HVAC system was not working properly, and the carpet was wet. The location was good and the staff was polite and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beth K.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome family trip!

The hotel was one block off Muchigan Avenue. The staff was great! They were all very friendly and willing to help anyway they could. The room was very clean and comfortable. You can't beat the price! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann
Business
Homewood
Mar 24, 2015

Poor service

We had issues when leaving the hotel. We were asked to put down a $10 cash deposit that'd we'd get back when we checked out. At checkout they said they do not accept cash and we were wrong. Tapes were checked and they agreed there was money exchange but said they could not prove it was the deposit. Poor customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PVel
Business
Chicago
Mar 17, 2015

Great Location

Don't be fooled and don't be a fool. You don't have to be a millionaire to find a good hotel for a good price in Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Red Roof Inn might not be a 5 star hotel but you can't beat the location. Culture tourists will be pleased to know you can walk from the hotel to The Arts Club, The Museum of Contemporary Art and the Art Institute. And even though the room layout is a bit ackward, the hotel is super clean and the staff super attentive and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy7
Business
Galesburg
Mar 9, 2015

Nice hotel great location

Great location, affordable, clean, nice for a quick trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top