$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

2 stars
View map of 162 East Ontario St, I-90/ I-94 at Ohio St Exit 50-B, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
174 reviews
One night stay

This is the cheapest hotel you'll find in the area! One block off Magnificent Mile, perfect... See full review

  • PaolSF
  • Jul 30, 2015
Chicago Staycation

We are from the suburbs and decided to actually tour our own city! This hotel provided a really... See full review

  • Vacation for Me
  • Jul 21, 2015
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, Illinois is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is near Michigan Ave. in Chicago, IL and close to the Chicago Loop/US-41. Check in age is 21 years or older. Fee for Parking and Valet.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

★★★
$87
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$112
3.6 / 5 203 reviews
★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 86 reviews
★★★
$161
4.4 / 5 114 reviews

Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Superior King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds & TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Coco Pazzo
Adjacent
The West Egg
Walking Distance
Ron Of Japan
Walking Distance
Ginos East
Walking Distance
Hard Rock Cafe
0.40 miles
Rain Forest Cafe
0.40 miles
House Of Blues
0.70 miles
McDonalds
1.00 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaolSF
Couples
Santa Cruz de la Sierra
Jul 30, 2015

One night stay

This is the cheapest hotel you'll find in the area! One block off Magnificent Mile, perfect location from all the shopping and downtown fun, I usually stay here when I'm in Chicago. Its about half the price of any other hotel, there's usually a deal and free cancellation! The hotel itself isn't fancy but it's decent, clean, safe and comfortable. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.P.
Couples
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

Great location....just ok hotel.

The staff was nice and the location is good for downtown Chicago area. However, these rooms need severe updating. Bathrooms are small, no counter space to put your toiletries, and lumps in the floor from a bad floor job. The rooms are very close together and the hallways are narrow. I even saw plaster missing from the wall in another guests room! If you need a place just to sleep and shower then this place is fine, but if you're looking for a more comfortable hotel room then this isn't the place. It definitely wasn't worth the money I paid for it. But I only needed a hotel for 1 night and it was the cheapest in the area at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation for Me
Couples
Ingleside
Jul 21, 2015

Chicago Staycation

We are from the suburbs and decided to actually tour our own city! This hotel provided a really great location in the heart of downtown at a very reasonable price. It is a remodeled older hotel so the rooms are a little small, but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bernard S.
Couples
MARION
Jul 17, 2015

Red Roof Review

Rated 2 star for a reason. You get what you pay for. Small but clean room. Cannot get WiFi in your room. Free yes, if you want to go to the lobby and set at a table like a kitchen table in a small lobby. Many people complained about no WiFi in their room and you would hear a different excuse throughout the week. Elevators small and very slow. Staff was friendly most of the time. Again, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren27
Family
Chicago
Jun 8, 2015

Great location.

Location is great. Room is clean and comfortable. Nothing to complain about. The price is also unbeatable for this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler
Single
Commerce Township
May 24, 2015

Awesome hotel for young people

This is a great place to stay if you are young and with friends and looking to be near a lot of different things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DANIEL S.
Family
N/A
May 19, 2015

internet very slow and not dependable couldn't get on several attempts.

When I book based on your reviews, I knew it was old, but clean, but our bathroom was beyond old, it smelled of mildew, which got worse the longer we stayed. There was no exhaust vents in the rooms to help get rid of the steam. The toilets leaked and sweated so bad that you had no place to put dry clothes. Front desk just apologized. and here is your bill. the city was booked, unless we wanted to pay $400 and up....I guess you get what you pay for. ...lessen learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loan Heiderb
Couples
WAUKEE
May 4, 2015

Awesome family trip

Staff are friendly and helpful. Room is very clean but need some more towel (we have only 2). Hotel is near shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkcajun1
Single
Fishers
Apr 24, 2015

Excellent Location - Pet Friendly

The Red Roof Inn has an excellent location near Chicago's magnificient mile. It is pet friendly and dogs stay free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Chi Downtown Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mssashap
Single
Akron
Apr 23, 2015

Worst Hotel in Chicago

This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a hotel in quite some time. While the location near the Magnificent Mile was excellent, the hotel itself was not great. The heater blew out cold air regardless of how high I set the temperature, and despite repeated attempts to have maintenance fix it, my room stayed cold. Also the bathtub faucet leaked quite a bit, the toilet was hard to fully flush, and the lighting was inadequate. Housekeeping only cleaned my room once in a 3-night stay. I saw them on the floor one night when I left for the evening, and when I came back they hadn't touched my room (there was no Do Not Disturb sign on my door). Even though the price was excellent, I feel like I got what I paid for and I should have coughed up more money and stayed at a better hotel. Very very disappointed in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top