$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

2 stars
View map of 3207 Buckley Road, Chicago, IL 60064

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
biker man Mike
Business
Michigan ,USA
Oct 14, 2013

needs to bend a bit

I arrived 45 minutes early, and the desk clerk would not let me in early after 5 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tortured tourist
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 19, 2012

Navy graduations

For those family members of the graduates of the Naval Academy I highly reccomend picking another location. I was merely interested in a place to get some sleep, no frills necessary. I asked for a handicapped accessible room and the clerk thought that meant ground floor room. I could not access the bathtub, no handrails, etc. There is a bar/night club next door that brought in a very loud group of people hanging out in the parking lot with booming music that kept us up all night. I went to sleep in my truck reclining seats because the bed was so bad. Having retired from law enforcement after 23 years I noticed three males drive into the lot, two started checking out cars parked at the motel until they saw me. The carpet was so dirty that our feet were black just walking around the room barefoot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
irish navy mom
Business
Pembroke, MA
Sep 16, 2012

Stay unless you want more

I only cared about being near my son graduating from boot camp. It was clean enough. The people were pleasant. Dont go to Flanagans though. They were extremely nice, but it was a rouse welcoming you to get you in to order food. ANd the food wasn't good. We woke up at 6 in the morning to blaring boom box music in a car as they were having a car show. Very rude to the hotel guests!!!!!!!!!.So avoid Flanagans! If you want more stay at a hotel near a railroad track, and take the train to the graduation. Then you have the best of both worlds. If you stay here as we did, my only regret was I forgot to bring UNO card game. There's nothing to do in the area. But I LOVED every minute I was close to the naval base. We were there for him, not to enjoy a ,vacation. And my son, didn't want to go to six flags or visit places, he wanted just to spend time talking to his family and relaxing. We were glad we stayed there, but sad there wasn't a store to buy uno.So stay there if you don't want anything other than to see your loved one, and avoid flanagans. NO stores are in the area! So be prepared! But drive buty the base and toot and wave at the fence, cuz you know your loved one is in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to the outback near six flags. It's less than half an hour but worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kathleen kitty kat
Business
birch run michigan
Jul 22, 2012

bad part of town

It was in a scary neighborhood. I could hardly understand the concierge although he was freindly. Terrible continental breakfeast.tiny rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heavyblueeyes
Business
Hanover, MD
Sep 24, 2011

Navy Graduation Visit

It was what I needed, nothing more nothing less. They were wonderful when I asked to extend my day and they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yodaswife
Business
wi
Aug 22, 2011

horrible

This hotel was a house of horrors. There was mold in the bathroom and in the ice trays. Then there was dirt in the roll away bed, the blankets were dirty as well. I mean there was black long hair under the blankets. It was so late when we got there and there was no other place to stay. I called the front desk to let them know and he asked why am I just now calling, I told him I just got there I was at work in Wi. He then told me to call in the morning. So my husband took pictures of the mess so they couldn't say it was all a bunch of lies. First thing in the morning we went down to the office and I told the man that was there and he yelled at us. This was the worse place I have ever stayed at and I will let everyone I know to never go there!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel the Third
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 25, 2011

Juuuust Fine

I only needed a place close by (walking distance) to my son in Highland Park, or a train/bus that would get me there, and this place fit the bill perfectly. Compared to rates in the area it was more than reasonable. The pool was fine for being a pool (small and shallow) but it also had a hottub. I didn't try the Wi-fi out, but i had enough 4G signal, so that was okay. The staff at night was very welcoming and listening, but the morning staff left something to be desired. They should not mention breakfast. Coffee is not breakfast. They said they had donuts: it was individually wrapped Honey Buns and Danishes. Just say you have coffee, and I would have been all right, but saying you have a continental breakfast, or breakfast at all, would imply I could leave full off food. Which I couldn't do. Simply put, for what I needed, it was great. I'll pack my own breakfast next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Within two miles (I walked) is the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, and a Metra train stop. The weekend pass is $7 - and you can go back and forth to Chicago comfortably! Mind the schedules, though!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tidewater Virginia
Sep 19, 2010

You get what you pay for

It was cheap - that's good. It was close to the Naval Base. that's good. Continental breakfast was a box of doughnuts. No coffee maker in the room. hair dryers in the lobby. Plenty of towels though,.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going for Navy Graduation; this is the best bet for your money but again, you get what you pay for. You don't pay much; you don't get much. [...] didn't save me anything and I had to tell them the location. All in all, I probably could have done better booking the whole trip myself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yahooisntz
Business
appleton, wi
Aug 23, 2010

A place to sleep and Free WiFi!

The free WiFi works but had to get close to the window for it to keep connected. times out every hour to relogin. but the desk was helpful in getting me the login to their WiFi connection. Free HBO is nice. It's even has a built in refrigerator/freezer! But turn on the settings to max cold for stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Carpet Inn Great Lakes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseburg, Or.
Apr 18, 2010

Good location for Navy graduation.

We attended the Navy graduation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top