$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4900 South Lake Shore Drive, 4900A S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
100 reviews
Great stay!

This was a last minute booking and we ended up with a great hotel and great price! This is not a... See full review

  • Serena Best Aunt
  • Aug 21, 2012
Great Experience

The rooms were very clean. When we needed extras the brought them right up. The staff was very... See full review

  • Cindy M.
  • Aug 22, 2011
Located just 5 minutes from McCormick Place this hotel offers spectacular views of Lake Michigan and Chicago's skyline. Also just 12 minutes from Navy Pier and Water Tower Place. They even offer a free downtown shuttle for there guests. The hotel is located in a great residential area of Hyde Park and the University of Chicago. With 184 guest rooms and suites this hotel offers the close excitement of downtown Chicago yet a great dollar value being in a quiet reserved part of town. Chicago Lake Shore Hotel provides free wireless internet.

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
Newly renovated King bedded room with separate bath and vanity area, large closet, coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave with complimentary coffee and tea, free wireless internet, voicemail, separate sitting area, and large 37 inch flat screen cable/color TV, iron and ironing board, hair dryer.
Deluxe Double
Newly renovated two doubled bedded room with separate bath and vanity area, large closet, mini fridge and microwave, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea, free wireless internet, voicemail, separate sitting area, and large 37 inch flat screen cable/color TV, iron and ironing board, hair dryer.
Standard Room - King
Room features 1 King bed, AM/FM Alarm Clock, in-room movies and standard amenities. Free Wireless Internet.
Standard Room - Double
Room features 2 Double beds, AM/FM Alarm Clock, in-room movies and standard amenities. Free Wireless Internet.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting/Banquet facilities available.

Dining

Lake Shore Cafe
Full service restaurant serving seafood buffet on Friday nights and Brunch on Sundays. Rendezvous lounge featuring live Jazz on Fridays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 18, 2008

Awful

The Ramada Inn Lake Shore was my worst experience by far. I was in town for an international show and hotel rooms were scarce. Resulted in hours of lost time before I relocated to another hotel. Reservation staff were unprofessional and not concerned with helping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not.trucker.max
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Worst trucker motel ever

Some would think that a Ramada branding equals a basic standard of cleanliness and service that would go along with the ramada name. Not so my friends... If you're imagining a nice hotel with a lakeside view, with clean carpets and neutral odor, look elsewhere... Anywhere at all. I stayed here for 6 unfortunate nights as this was the only hotel close to the trade show I was attending that was under $200/ night. Having paid $180 per night, I just feel like one of the ladies of the night that must frequent this establishment...I walk way with unfortunate memories of a carpet with more stains than grandma's tablecloth on thanksgiving, after my parents spilled eggnog ALL over it. Thanks Ramada Lakshore for ruining eggnog for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
first weekend getaway
Business
columbus
Oct 3, 2012

weekend getaway

My wife and me when to Chicago on a weekend getaway. I booked the ramada because I have stayed at them all over the country and they've always been pretty clean and friendly. This ramada was not clean at all and the rooms smelled terrible. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. My wife and I never felt safe and the we ended up checking out of the hotel one day early. We loved the city it was an amazing trip except for the hotel. Only plus I can say about the ramada was that the driver that ran the shuttle in to the city was supper nice and supper helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guolin
Business
san diego
Dec 1, 2012

internet is too bad

internet is too bad,location is good,room cleanliness is very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kdouc
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 9, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Before we checked in someone approched a daughter of mine asking if she wanted a ride. When we got to the room the A/C and mini frig did not work very well. We were missing TV controls. The ice machine on the floor was not working. The room was not clean and in bad repair. When we returned from a baseball game at 11pm we were approached again for beer,money,and cigarettes. When trying to go to the pool that evening, (it closes at 10pm), it looked as though a lady of the night with her employer pulled up to the hotel. My family and friends checled out the next morning and will never stay at a Ramada Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 26, 2007

It's a dive.

Billed itself as minutes away from the McCormick Center, it turned out to be a three mile drive. The hallways were filthy. The rooms were cleaner, but the carpets were old and stained. The bathroom was clean. Not recommended for the business traveler. No INTERNET access in my building. I had to go into the main lobby for WiFi service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 15, 2011

You get what you pay for

Pros: Good location. Only three blocks from the metra to downtown. Relatively cheap stay. Free parking. Our room was old but clean. Same could be said for the pool. Cons: Hotel is literally crumbling outside (stucco falling off of brick). Wifi has a range of about 40 feet outside the lobby. If your room does not fall in that range you're s.o.l. If you are lucky enough to get wifi in your room(I wasn't and i was in the closest building to the lobby) you will undoubtedly be frustrated by the deathly slow internet speed of 18 kb/s. None of the drains in our room worked. You couldn't brush your teeth without filling up the sink. The television was about 20 years old, very dark picture you could barely see with the lights off, and the sound only went up to 16 on a scale of 50. I assume that was so you weren't blaring the tv and disrupting other guests, but you couldn't hear it anytime the a/c came on. Also, about half of the channels, including HBO, don't work. The ice machine(s) was always out of ice. The "Business Center" consists of one desktop computer running the original version of windows xp. It took me 4 minutes to load google.com. The "fitness center" consists of two treadmills and a total gym type of machine in an 8x10 room in the middle of the lobby with great big windows. Too creepy for me. Summary: The Ramada Lake Shore would be a good place to stay as long as you were only sleeping here and not spending any actual time at the hotel. Not a place you want to hang around. The staff was polite but not very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akko
Business
St Louis, MO
Oct 23, 2009

Very far away from downtown/McCormick

Metra service is unreliable and infrequent and it's just too far to walk from the hotel to the McCormick Convention center so the only option in the evening is a taxi - about $20 from downtown. I was initially put in a room without internet even though I made the decision to book based on free wifi in my room. I was only moved to a room with wifi after a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

My review of Ramada Inn Lake Shore - Chicago

the location was very good. it was only three blocks from south wood lawn ave. the room was large

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

just scross the street from lake michigan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waukesha, WI
Dec 21, 2009

McCormick Place Visit

Business meeting at the McCormick Center The sink had no sink stop and the tub didn't drain. Hotel smelled like smoke furniture was very old/outdated. The room may have been clean but the state of the room made me question the integrity of the cleanliness. Heat controlls outdates and fridge never closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some good Japanese restaurants on 35th street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top