$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
266 reviews
Raffaello in October

Excellent location and cleanliness. Very comfortable.Staff helpful. See full review

  • Dule
  • Oct 24, 2014
2 day trip in Chicago

Very fast check in. Large and clean bathroom. The location is good, right next to Michigan Ave See full review

  • Chenlang
  • Oct 6, 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 18 floors
  • 1 restaurant
  • Gym
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Doughnut shop
  • Business center
  • Lounge
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.
Policies and fees
Handling fee for accepting and storing packages applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 266
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Braves Fans
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 24, 2013

Buyer Beware! MOLD and Broken A/C

We booked this because of the good reviews on this and other travel sites and boy, were we sorry! There were several issues with this hotel, culminating in our leaving early. First, we were traveling to Chicago to see a baseball game and got stuck in traffic. We were unable to go to the hotel prior to the game, so I called to let them know we would be late checking in. They informed me that even though I had already paid for the room through the internet, it would NOT be guaranteed after midnight. When we did arrive at the hotel around 11 PM there was no place to unload the luggage while we checked in. The staff member who checked us in told us where to self park, only for us to find out it was a valet service ramp. This worked out, since the rates were the same, but was still a hassle. After we schlepped our luggage 1.5 blocks in the rain, we had to fight with the rooftop bar people for a spot on very tiny, very slow elevators. (Elevator ride #1) We arrived in our first room to find the CARPETING WET! and BLACK MOLD on the baseboards. There was a pervasive odor in the room. The bathroom had clearly not been dusted and the towel bars were not attached to the wall. We called the front desk, they apologized and promised to send someone up with new keys. The maintenance person arrived and really didn't seem appalled enough at the condition of the room, but did provide us with keycards for a different room. Again, we moved our luggage to a different floor (Ride #2#, only to find the keycards didn't work. I went to the lobby and exchanged the keycards for different ones #Elevator rides #3 and #4#. When we entered the 2nd room, it was hot and stuffy. I should mention the outside temperature was 95 degrees with 90% humidity. The room reflected this, since the AIR CONDITIONING UNIT WAS DIASSEMBLED WITH PARTS LYING ON THE TABLETOP. I went to the lobby again #Elevator ride #5#. This time I met another employee, who did try to help, but at this point revealed they no longer had any double rooms available. We climbed the stairs together to the 2nd floor to look at yet a 3rd hotel room which was acceptable, only in that it appeared clean and was air conditioned. We proceeded to move our luggage from the 2nd room to the lobby #elevator rides # 6 and #7# to discuss our options and the hotel staff tried to call some neighboring hotels and find us a room. However, since it was now after midnight, they were full and we had little choice but to relocate again. One last elevator ride to the second floor with the luggage ##8) and were able to settle in. The staff member who finally settled us in assured us she would pass on our desire to check out in the morning and be refunded our second night. This didn't happen very efficiently, since I had to tell the whole story again. They were unable to refund the money and I was told they would pass on the information to the hotel manager for Monday morning. When by Wednesday, we had not heard anything, I contacted her only to have to leave more than one message before she responded. Happily, she has agreed to refund the second night, but I would CAUTION anyone who considers this hotel. Not a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex the Chicago guy
Business
Illinois
Mar 29, 2014

DO NOT STAY!!!

So keep in mind that my wife and I live about an hour from Chicago and we just wanted to get away from life for a bit. Well first impression was that corner that the hotel was located seemed a bit rough. No big deal though. Once we got in our room we were amazed at how tiny the room was. We tried to do a lot of resting but the hotel failed to mention that our room was located right by drilling that was happening on their brick wall. It felt and sounded like the drilling was inside the room (not exaggerating). Obviously we complained and asked to be moved. They said that they could move us so we went to breakfast that morning and the person in front said they would move our luggage and everything (we packed it up). In Chicago you basically have to walk everywhere so we took our time to check out some shops and stuff and we returned about 3 hours later and found that the room was still not ready. We were very tired as we got in pretty late the night before and the drilling woke us up. We went back to our room to try to rest and the drilling continued. Oh and the heater didn't work by the way as well as the hot water. Horrible first night. Long story short after getting to a manager a room finally appeared. Thy did upgrade to a nice room but did not give is any discounts for our horrible first night. Although the manager we worked with was very nice, one of the front desk people (Jose) was very condescending throughout the whole process. If you're gonna stay here make sure you pay the extra money for the "bigger" room because the regular rooms are smaller than normal. Otherwise we got a very mixed experience mostly negative for the first half and felt like we were inconvenienced very much. We will not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Mochigan Ave with lots of shopping, restaurants and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Lure, NC
Aug 10, 2010

Small room

Room was very small. Smaller than we have had on river cruises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Green Guy
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Jan 6, 2013

Lets get GREEN!

We had a holiday special rate-so the hotel was worth it. If I had to pay full price I would have been disappointed. Not a GREEN hotel? Roms need to be freshened up and up-dated especially bathroom. No WiFi in sleeing rooms? Comfortable beds and quiet. Comp coffee wasn't up-dated daily?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RL Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sygarza
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2013

A little more would be a lot

Very small lobby and elevators. Suite should have access to bathroom from sofa bed without entering bedroom. 2 Keurig cups? Then had trouble brewing a cup. I own one! Only dark bold?! No choice. Guess they want us to buy the one they sell downstairs which I did. Very little counter space in bathroom. Bed,not plush. Bar opens at 5, but if its the weekend, it'll be flooded with young people who come in out if the street. Got back, closed as it closes at 12. Doormen were extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping, lots to see within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tommy19831983
Business
Schaumburg
Nov 11, 2013

I am not one of those people to say it but.... Not worth the $$$

I should preface this by saying I am not one of those people who just want to be bitter and complain, I'm very much the opposite but I just have to save people from staying at this accommodation. First off: I am fully aware that early check in is not guaranteed. As we had an evening wedding to attend and were hoping to checkin early, I started calling from 8am every couple hours to try to get an early checkin or at the least, have them prioritize our room's availability.of course calling periodically didn't work. I thought that's fine, we ll just go there and checkin as it's approaching checkin time anyway. We get to the hotel at 330pm and still our room wasn't available. My wife and I sat and watch nearly 25 people check in from 3:30-4:00pm. Now I get that different rooms are available at different times but You would think that if I have been giving my name every couple hours for the whole day and was sitting there in front of employees unhappy faces, the hotel would prioritize our room's availability. Not only is that common courtesy but it's just simple common sense. They then had the audacity to tell me the room will be available after4! After the checkin time! I asked to see the manager and explained the whole situation with much detail and in a calm manner. The manager seemed very disinterested and apathetic, she then had the audacity to take a call and chat for 5 minutes as I stood there as she pretended to click on a few tabs and then out of nowhere went on the defensive about hotel policy. I was taken aback of the lack of customer service skills she had as she never was concerned of my situation, never smiled once( which I don't care about but who in hospitality doesn't crack a smile when working with a calm but frustrated customer) and just like the rest of her staff, put my concerns on the back burner as if I wasn't there. She was rude the moment I walked into her office and finally I just had to chuckle when I thought to myself how this could be the manager of a four star boutique hotel. For some reason the manager was extremely defensive and had the audacity to say I was being rude when I was calm and polite the whole time. At that point I had it, I told her that I have been calm and polite the whole time and just wanted the room already and that's all I cared about and informed her that neither herself nor her staff had any clue on how to resolve a customer complaint. In all my years both as a customer and as an employee, have I ever seen such poor treatment of a customer. We finally got our room well after the 4pm checkin. The hotel room had an unexplained wet spot right at the front door but we were too busy to worry about that. And before I forget, they have only two elevators which only fits 3 people comfortably aNd they are insanely SLOW. The only positive aside from the wet spot was that the king suite room had a comfortable bed. Do not do vallet parking here. It's $61 to do so and you just have to walk a block away to where they park it and self park it for $34 dollars a night. Location is great and you don't need anyone on here to tell you that. If you don't care about service or bang for your buck and your priority is only proximity to tourist sites or shopping, this is the place to be! The manager may reply here and state how she was extremely polite and I was the rude one, please don't further add on to this review by giving untruthful statements. You wasted enough of my valuable time as it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mayor Myers
Business
Illinois
Apr 24, 2014

NO HEAT

The heater was not working when we arrived to our room around 8:45 pm. We spoke with the front desk and they sent up a repairman. He claimed the water valve was stuck open along with 2 windows in the room. We left for dinner at the hotel down stairs and came back to the room as cold as when we left. They sent me a text asking if everything was ok with the room but my response was the heater was not working and the blower motor isn't pushing any air our the vents. Sent a repairman up for the 2nd time and he again said the water vent was open not allowing the heat to build up but said he reset it and it should be good to go. As we tried to sleep the night was colder and colder by morning it was a cool 51 degrees in our room. I am now home 3 days later and have a head cold and a fever of 101 degrees. I wont be staying here again nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone. The only good thing they have to offer was there about a block n a half from the main shopping that runs through the city. Way over priced for the old world charm and things not working. Walk across the street or down the block to eat. The hotel food was $150 for a small 2 coarse meal I would recommend walking across the street or down the block to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street or down the block to eat. The hotel food was $150 for a small 2 coarse meal and wasn't worth the stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yodi
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Add on to Boot Camp Graduation

We liked the location to Lake Michigan and were impressed by the number of people running, biking, swimming. The parking is awful as you need to pay an additional fee at a separate lot. Raffello's is a smaller hotel that has been updated to accomodate. Prices for amenities in the room are outrageous, however, there was a small refrigerator and microwave oven. Shower was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is very fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2010

Not remotely up to 4 star standards

This hotel doesn't cut it as a 4 star hotel. Issues:- Water pressure in shower was terrible, even after they claimed to have worked again. - We told them about sticky spots on carpet, very gross, again they claimed they fixed but didn't. - Elevator capacity insufficient so we often had a full elevator arrive and had to take the stairs. - I really don't think any 4 star hotel should charge for internet, particularly when it isn't wireless. It's like charging more for electricity in this day and age. When we complained about charge they did waive it, however. - Chipped paint on door and room.- No soap in room. Hello?In the interest of saying something nice, the beds were comfortable, and location good. But there are a lot of better 4 star hotels in same neighborhood. [...] For 10 bucks more we would have been a lot more happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast try Tempo, at Chestnut and State. Great omelets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 28, 2008

Very Small Rooms

My bedroom in my house is bigger then this king size hotel room. No outlets in the TINY shower room, the nearest outlet to the shower room was 4 feet away. I say shower room because they have no tubs. Check in is at 4pm!?? No closet space, walking space and only mirror in room is located on left side of bed behind the night stand?? you have to jump on bed near pillows in order to see yourself. Parking is a block away but the garage attendents dented our rental, lost our keys, gave us the wrong car and when I told the hotel manager . His response was we will look into it and will call you. Five days later I had to call him and he stated that they only gave us credit for one day! ($22.00) I informed him we had 3 days of incidents and thats the best he can do for us, he stated that was all they could do!!??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, clubs are near by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top