$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
View map of 201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popdani K
Business
Middleton, Wisconsin
Nov 6, 2013

Expected More

This hotel is a good value because of its great location-close to the beach and Michigan Avenue shopping. My wife and I stayed here on a week day and had a good rate on the room which helped us with the overall evaluation for our stay. With a little more effort, someone could make this a four-star hotel as is advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a romantic little wine bar downstairs of the Seneca on 200 East Chestnut, just around the corner and it's called DiSotto Enoteca.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SunMoonStarz
Business
:-)
Jun 5, 2014

Enjoyable Getaway

The location was great! Loved the Glazed and Infused donut shop in lobby:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI.
Aug 9, 2010

Not worth the price

Way over-priced for what you get. It would have been a "nice" hotel for $200 a night but I wouldn't pay a penny more. It just had nothing to warrant $450 a night. I stayed at the 4 Seasons the night before for $300 and had ten times the amenities and ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory at Water Tower Place is always a good choice for whatever whatever meal you're looking for. A short 2 blocks from the hotel.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grayray
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Could have been great!

Excellent building in a great location. The first room we were shown was small with an alley view. After rejecting that we were given a good sized room on an upper floor with a nice view. The room was furnished nicely. Charging for web access is a negative, but unless the attitude of the entire staff is changed. , I would not recommend the Raffaelo. Not one smile or positive attitude in 3 days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the Chicago Architecture Boat Tour on the Chicago River.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 7, 2011

clean room. quiet hotel.

was in Chicago with my 22 year old and a 16 year old to see the U2 concert. Hotel was clean and in a quiet location. There were limited amenities. very small lobby. A very nice looking Italian resturant was attached to the hotel, but we did not eat there. Wireless internet was $9.95 for 24 hours and only allowed for one computer to log on. If there were multiple guests, this would require multiple charges. Staff seemed competent if not overly friendly. In all honesty, we stayed at the Avenue Hotel on Ontario(?) street last time, and i preferred that location better. Avenue was a little closer to subway, had a pool, and a nice little pub in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doralinda
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 8, 2010

Clean hotel but unfriendly staff

My husband and I spent five days in Chicago. We loved the area and the rooms were very clean. We were also impressed with the sleek design of the hotel. The microwave was a nice touch but there are no coffee makers in the rooms. There is a coffee bar in the lobby which may serve as a problem for those who like a cup of coffee before facing the day. We were very disapointed with the way we were treated when checking in. We were told that there is a daily charge for incidentals. Not a one time fee like most hotels but an outrageous charge that mounts daily. When we asked why the lady behind the counter just kept mumbling how it is their policy. I consider myself very thorough when it comes to booking trips and never saw this detail before purchasing. Had we known this we would have either picked another hotel or brought a credit card instead of or debits that had alloted traveling money on them. There is also a cluster of seats on their lobby patio. These are not the same color or in the same vacinity as the restaurant but they make you get up from your seat if you're not buying a drink. I was wanting to wait 5 minutes while my husband grabbed his sunglasses and someone rudely told me that the seat was reserved even though NO ONE was there. This is very frustrating as a paying customer. Needless to say we never ate at that restaurant or had one single drnk there. The hotel was very nice looking and housekeeping is very thorough and friendly but we will never stay there again because of how the rest of staff treat their patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a nice lunch buffet at the John Hancock building next door. The price was very reasonable and you can still get that great view of Chicago!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Wichita
Business
Tulsa, OK
Oct 26, 2010

Nice hotel with conservative staff

The hotel room was very clean and the rain-shower was nice. Wifi was not free, and the roomservice was italian food (no burgers). The staff was there if you needed them, otherwise they didn't go out of their way to talk to you. Same with the concierge. Best part is roof deck is open to all guests and is nice for an outdoor dinner, snack or quiet break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Gino's East and the shopping on North Michigan.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vegas Vagabond
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 28, 2010

Some good, some not so good.

The room overall was nice, clean but it had some shortcomings. It was a bit on the size for this price range. There was ample drawer space but almost no closet space. The bathroom was fashionable but not very practical. The sink was free-standing, so you had to put your toiletries some ways away. The door is translucent, which does not give give much of a sense of privacy, and the light is disturbing to people sleeping, even when closed as it's right next to one of the beds. The shower (no bathtub) is only partially glassed in and you can't help but get the floor wet when you use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Aug 17, 2010

Nice Design; Service Lacking

Decor was nice and location was okay. Just not up to par for high end hotel. Service people were nice - just overwhelmed. Didn't have the correct room ready for us - had to move us on day 2. 2 Tiny elevators for 15 floors of people - delays were frustrating. Valet service was sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago-loving-Ohioians
Business
Ohio
Aug 2, 2011

Comfy beds

We are a family of four, two teenage kids. Two double beds were rough, but the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The room was fairly large. Elevators were SMALL and hot, lobby was hot and our room with the air cranked never really cooled down. We walked everywhere and looked forward to relaxing in a nice cool room, but that really was not the case. We love Chicago and the hotel was in a great location. It was cool to see the Hancock bldg right out our window. Staff did not speak much English. Never really got our questions answered because the staff did not understand our question. Overall - it is what I expect in Chicago, small & expensive. We are used to resort vacationing, so it was different for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Ave was great, but we did better on State St. Worth the walk.

Back to menu Return to top