$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
View map of 201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
276 reviews
Nice

Place was clean. Hotel few minutes away from tourist spots. People were nice. See full review

  • JB
  • Feb 23, 2015
I have stayed often.I love this hotel

The Rafaello is a nice small hotel.Off the noisy Michigan Av.yet close to great shopping and fine... See full review

  • Pigeli
  • Feb 9, 2015

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 18 floors
  • 1 restaurant
  • Gym
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Doughnut shop
  • Business center
  • Lounge
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.
Policies and fees
  • Handling fee for accepting and storing packages applies.
  • Self-parking is $35 USD and valet parking is $65 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NLNLN
Business
Colorado
Sep 6, 2012

Weekend

Everything was fine until the 2nd night when I saw a few roaches in the bathroom. I realize getting the cheapest room in any hotel gets you very little. With that said, beware of getting a room on a lower floor that is practically right near some large vent. That thing is on 24/7. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location near everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John T.M.
Business
Champaign, Illinois
Oct 1, 2012

It is what it is

If you can accept the boutique, European style and dimensions of this hotel, you'll be satisfied. And many of those staying at the hotel were international visitors who probably felt very comfortable is such quarters. Room furnishings were dated, but otherwise the suite we had was clean and sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanny O
Business
Sterling, VA
Oct 2, 2012

Needed something

Left a list of things that needed fixing. Over all it was okay. For the price expected more. Staff was helpful and friendly. But the room was just ok. Almost on par with a Comfort Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You can get to most place by foot, but the trolly pass for 3 days is the best value. Easy on and off at all the best places. Much safer the a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Movemiento Man
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 23, 2013

One-night excursion to the city

Room was ok, nothing fancy. Elevators were crowded and could lead to long waits when the rooftop bar is rocking. Location is great, right off Michigan Avenue. Try the Maple bacon pastry treat at Glazed and Infused. Valet is pricey, so self-park if you can. Overall it was an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pump Room. The sauces they cook up here are outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa the City Traveler
Business
Novi, MI
Jun 7, 2013

Good Location, but Terrible Service

The location was very good, but other than that I was extremely displeased. We had another couple walk into our room while we were getting ready for a night out because the staff messed up. Then later in the night our keys wouldn't work because the staff had messed up yet agin. When we went down to the front desk to find out what was going on, the staff was anything but apologetic and seemed annoyed that we needed her to help us get new keys. Even after we had explained how other guests had entered our room, something that is unacceptable for safety reasons, the woman helping us was still rude. As for the room, it was extremely hot and loud. We had a 3rd story view of the garbage area, which also happened to be where staff members took their smoke breaks. We could hear all of their conversations even at night. Additionally, the room did not get below 75 degrees. We tried to turn the air conditioning cooler, actually we put it as low as possible, and the room remained uncomfortably hot. Overall it was a bad experience and I don't plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GLAN
Business
Nashville
Sep 18, 2013

Bar was great! Everything else ok.

Room was nice and clean. One tv was broken and the hair dryer switch was broken so that it only had one speed and blew hot air only. Lots of traffic/construction noise starting at five thirty a.m.. The bar on the 18th floor is AWESOME! No restaurant, only room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ree K
Business
Bal Harbour, Fl
Sep 25, 2013

Where's the bathtub?

My first room was so small it wes me or my luggage. A wonderful woman in the office made it all so much better. The staff is wonderful. All of them. However after a long day I enjoy a bath. THERE ARE NO BATH TUBS IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL.. Additionally there are no meeting rooms. The best is room service is available but the menus is from a high end very good Italian restaurant. Where's the beef. Chicago is known for the american menu . Maybe some thought should go into what is served. The staff made up for any inconveniences . It's a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aprilcot
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 16, 2013

Decent Hotel, Great Staff

We arrived late and the staff was friendly. When we unpacked and got situated in our room, we realized the carpet was wet. Very wet. The front desk accommodated us by giving us a King Suite and helping move us to the new room. The suite was great. Very spacious and nice. The original room with two double beds was decent, but could use a little bit of touchup (for instance, the baseboards needed to be painted and the bathroom grout was a little dirty). I would recommend this hotel. The location is great and the staff is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is within a very short walk to the Mag Mile, with shopping and dining all around. We enjoy walking around cities and there is PLENTY to find from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popdani K
Business
Middleton, Wisconsin
Nov 6, 2013

Expected More

This hotel is a good value because of its great location-close to the beach and Michigan Avenue shopping. My wife and I stayed here on a week day and had a good rate on the room which helped us with the overall evaluation for our stay. With a little more effort, someone could make this a four-star hotel as is advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a romantic little wine bar downstairs of the Seneca on 200 East Chestnut, just around the corner and it's called DiSotto Enoteca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple from Dublin Ohio
Business
Dubln Ohio
Mar 8, 2014

Raffaello Hotel (Chicago, IL)

First, my daughter who was with us had a sprained ankle. The hotel provided an "instant" ice pack for her to use. Very nice of them! The room we were given was spacious. The only complaints I had was it was hard to get hot water in the shower and the bed mattress "tilted in" so my wife and I were "rolled" to the middle of the bed. For a downtown hotel the room rate we got was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top