$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
258 reviews
2 day trip in Chicago

Very fast check in. Large and clean bathroom. The location is good, right next to Michigan Ave See full review

  • Chenlang
  • Oct 6, 2014
Will be back...soon!

An unbeatable Chicago location, with an amazingly friendly staff. The suites are set up to be kid... See full review

  • Mike T and Shelbi W
  • Sep 8, 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 18 floors
  • 1 restaurant
  • Gym
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Doughnut shop
  • Business center
  • Lounge
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.
Policies and fees
Handling fee for accepting and storing packages applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (258)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul
Mar 18, 2010

Nice Hotel - Terrible Service

I am in Chicago frequently for work. I decided to trythis hotel. The first night, I ordered room service and it never came 1702 - apparently they brought it to 1712. The next morning I looked at the menu. I'm lactose intolerant and I don't eat much meat. There was literally nothing on the breakfast menu for me. No peanut butter for toast, the fruit plate was stale and aged and it seems simple - but couldn't you keep some soy milk on hand? They offered me the fruit - She said, bowl or plate. i said what's the difference and she said juts the price. They didn't re-stock the mini-bar. They didn't know how to connect to WiFi. Literally everyone we asked for help was completely clueless except for two doormen who should run the place based on their ability to answer a question and be accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanslist
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 8, 2014

Disappointing

My biggest gripe with this hotel is that I could not sleep at night. The walls are paper thin and each night while I tried to get to sleep around 10 p.m. I was awakened repeatedly by doors slamming in the hallway until 2 a.m., people walking by and talking loudly, unexplained screaming in the stairwell. My small window overlooked a garbage dumpter. Staff was average, did nothing to accommodate me when I complained about the how awful it was trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple from Dublin Ohio
Business
Dubln Ohio
Mar 8, 2014

Raffaello Hotel (Chicago, IL)

First, my daughter who was with us had a sprained ankle. The hotel provided an "instant" ice pack for her to use. Very nice of them! The room we were given was spacious. The only complaints I had was it was hard to get hot water in the shower and the bed mattress "tilted in" so my wife and I were "rolled" to the middle of the bed. For a downtown hotel the room rate we got was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cleanfreak
Business
Washington State
Mar 26, 2014

Nothing Special

Ranked as a four star hotel, I expected much more from the Raffaello. We booked a deluxe suite, which was very large and comfortable. However, the hotel is old and our room had a bit of a musty smell when we first walked in. The glass shower door only partially keeps water from going all over the bathroom floor, and the water drain had a slight "rotten egg" smell after showering. The lobby is much too small to accommodate more than a few people, and the elevator only holds about 4-5 people max. Also, you can't use the elevator unless you slide your room key, which is a bit of a hassle. There is a donut shop downstairs, but it was usually sold out by about 10:30 a.m. Our room had been prepaid, but when we checked in, they still charged our credit card for a large deposit, which was $100 per night, in case we took items out of the mini bar. The business center and spa are closed, but the front desk took care of making copies for us and printing our boarding passes. Good points - parking was easy, the location is good, and the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend this hotel only if you can get the room at a great rate. If you have to have to pay full price, stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salamander21
Business
Michigan
Apr 7, 2014

Family Get away

The hotel is in a very nice location, staff was very friendly, rooms were clean but VERY stuffy. Has the air on for 3 days straight and the temperature was still uncomfortable and extremely stuffy. The Drum Bar prices were mopre expensive than most expensive restaurants on Michigan Avenue. The two tiny elevators for 18 floors of rooms and bar are also a very frustrating experience. Waits could be up to 10 mihutes or more. I doubt I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make your reservations several days earlier than the date wanted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom super
Business
Illinois
Apr 13, 2014

Good hotel

Fine n clean. Courteous members. Would book again if i need to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington Hills, MI
Mar 22, 2011

Average hotel

The hotel wasn't as upscale as the posted photos suggested. Not that the hotel was destitute, but I was expecting more from what I saw on the web site. Clean all around, and accommodating. Overall, the trip was a success. Location was great!, just minutes from the Lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr PM
Business
California
Nov 18, 2011

Weekend Visit

Great location. Room had basics. For Deluxe Suite the bathroom was quite small, the sink quite small. One robe (when they know there are 2 people). Coffee maker did not work and was not replaced for 3 day stay. Staff in bar and out front where wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dine at Bristol and The Publican. Great food!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expat67
Business
bermuda
May 10, 2012

Weekend Trip

Limited facilities, unremarkable staff, large room but not finished to a high standard. Poor selection on breakfast menu and expensive for what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riesling lovers
Business
New Jersey
Jul 9, 2012

just where you want to be

The staff was friendly enough but disinterested. We flew early a.m. to Chicago from Philadelphia and arrived at the hotel in the morning. We were told the room was ready, but we had to pay a $30 charge to get in early. Outrageous nickel and dime stuff--if the room's ready, it's ready and should be given to us. The room was OK, but had a weird sour odor like vomit. The bathroom was small and had the tiniest shelf for toiletries; no vanity. No place to put your toothbrush! The room never got cool enough and we were there in record breaking heatwave. Overall: Meh. Good location that's the best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the River Architecture tour run by the docents (volunteers). Best $35 you'll spend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top