$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
View map of 201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul
Mar 18, 2010

Nice Hotel - Terrible Service

I am in Chicago frequently for work. I decided to trythis hotel. The first night, I ordered room service and it never came 1702 - apparently they brought it to 1712. The next morning I looked at the menu. I'm lactose intolerant and I don't eat much meat. There was literally nothing on the breakfast menu for me. No peanut butter for toast, the fruit plate was stale and aged and it seems simple - but couldn't you keep some soy milk on hand? They offered me the fruit - She said, bowl or plate. i said what's the difference and she said juts the price. They didn't re-stock the mini-bar. They didn't know how to connect to WiFi. Literally everyone we asked for help was completely clueless except for two doormen who should run the place based on their ability to answer a question and be accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanslist
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 8, 2014

Disappointing

My biggest gripe with this hotel is that I could not sleep at night. The walls are paper thin and each night while I tried to get to sleep around 10 p.m. I was awakened repeatedly by doors slamming in the hallway until 2 a.m., people walking by and talking loudly, unexplained screaming in the stairwell. My small window overlooked a garbage dumpter. Staff was average, did nothing to accommodate me when I complained about the how awful it was trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
qbtbdad
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Nov 19, 2014

Do not plan on a leisurely bath

Quaint older hotel one block east of Michigan Ave. Very small lobby...they were nice enough to upgrade from Gran Suite to Deluxe Suite...although we can't imagine the Gran Suite to be much less....the room was fine...big living smaller bedroom and the bath...you couldn't use the toilet and close the door....no bath ...a half glass shower enclosure...no shampoo....although a corrected oversight...people nice...but upon leaving the Bellman sent us down to Michigan Ave. to catch a cab to O'Hare...they were too out of the way...and it was 9 degrees....it was a deal price wise and we paid the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LSNJ
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

They didn't provide the room we booked

We booked a room with 2 queen size beds and they gave us a king and a couch and said we received an upgrade. I stated that I didn't want the "upgrade" and wanted 2 queen size beds (as booked). They stated that those rooms were not available. I expect to get what I booked. To fix the situation, they provided 4 free breakfast tickets (which was good for 1 donut and 1 drink). Poor customer service. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple from Dublin Ohio
Business
Dubln Ohio
Mar 8, 2014

Raffaello Hotel (Chicago, IL)

First, my daughter who was with us had a sprained ankle. The hotel provided an "instant" ice pack for her to use. Very nice of them! The room we were given was spacious. The only complaints I had was it was hard to get hot water in the shower and the bed mattress "tilted in" so my wife and I were "rolled" to the middle of the bed. For a downtown hotel the room rate we got was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cleanfreak
Business
Washington State
Mar 26, 2014

Nothing Special

Ranked as a four star hotel, I expected much more from the Raffaello. We booked a deluxe suite, which was very large and comfortable. However, the hotel is old and our room had a bit of a musty smell when we first walked in. The glass shower door only partially keeps water from going all over the bathroom floor, and the water drain had a slight "rotten egg" smell after showering. The lobby is much too small to accommodate more than a few people, and the elevator only holds about 4-5 people max. Also, you can't use the elevator unless you slide your room key, which is a bit of a hassle. There is a donut shop downstairs, but it was usually sold out by about 10:30 a.m. Our room had been prepaid, but when we checked in, they still charged our credit card for a large deposit, which was $100 per night, in case we took items out of the mini bar. The business center and spa are closed, but the front desk took care of making copies for us and printing our boarding passes. Good points - parking was easy, the location is good, and the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend this hotel only if you can get the room at a great rate. If you have to have to pay full price, stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
salamander21
Business
Michigan
Apr 7, 2014

Family Get away

The hotel is in a very nice location, staff was very friendly, rooms were clean but VERY stuffy. Has the air on for 3 days straight and the temperature was still uncomfortable and extremely stuffy. The Drum Bar prices were mopre expensive than most expensive restaurants on Michigan Avenue. The two tiny elevators for 18 floors of rooms and bar are also a very frustrating experience. Waits could be up to 10 mihutes or more. I doubt I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make your reservations several days earlier than the date wanted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom super
Business
Illinois
Apr 13, 2014

Good hotel

Fine n clean. Courteous members. Would book again if i need to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington Hills, MI
Mar 22, 2011

Average hotel

The hotel wasn't as upscale as the posted photos suggested. Not that the hotel was destitute, but I was expecting more from what I saw on the web site. Clean all around, and accommodating. Overall, the trip was a success. Location was great!, just minutes from the Lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr PM
Business
California
Nov 18, 2011

Weekend Visit

Great location. Room had basics. For Deluxe Suite the bathroom was quite small, the sink quite small. One robe (when they know there are 2 people). Coffee maker did not work and was not replaced for 3 day stay. Staff in bar and out front where wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dine at Bristol and The Publican. Great food!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top