Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
248 reviews
Chicago Reprieve

The Raffaello is in a great location. One block from John Hancock. Great breakfast/lunch nook on... See full review

  • Pat and Tiff
  • Aug 3, 2014
Perfect for us

We wanted a quick little anniversary getaway, and this was perfect. Awesome value. Amazing... See full review

  • Peter and Abby
  • Jul 17, 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 18 floors
  • 1 restaurant
  • Gym
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Doughnut shop
  • Business center
  • Lounge
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.
Policies and fees
Handling fee for accepting and storing packages applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex the Chicago guy
Illinois
Mar 29, 2014

DO NOT STAY!!!

So keep in mind that my wife and I live about an hour from Chicago and we just wanted to get away from life for a bit. Well first impression was that corner that the hotel was located seemed a bit rough. No big deal though. Once we got in our room we were amazed at how tiny the room was. We tried to do a lot of resting but the hotel failed to mention that our room was located right by drilling that was happening on their brick wall. It felt and sounded like the drilling was inside the room (not exaggerating). Obviously we complained and asked to be moved. They said that they could move us so we went to breakfast that morning and the person in front said they would move our luggage and everything (we packed it up). In Chicago you basically have to walk everywhere so we took our time to check out some shops and stuff and we returned about 3 hours later and found that the room was still not ready. We were very tired as we got in pretty late the night before and the drilling woke us up. We went back to our room to try to rest and the drilling continued. Oh and the heater didn't work by the way as well as the hot water. Horrible first night. Long story short after getting to a manager a room finally appeared. Thy did upgrade to a nice room but did not give is any discounts for our horrible first night. Although the manager we worked with was very nice, one of the front desk people (Jose) was very condescending throughout the whole process. If you're gonna stay here make sure you pay the extra money for the "bigger" room because the regular rooms are smaller than normal. Otherwise we got a very mixed experience mostly negative for the first half and felt like we were inconvenienced very much. We will not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Mochigan Ave with lots of shopping, restaurants and other attractions.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Candi H
Houston,Tx
May 11, 2014

Don't Bother

What I had initially anticipated to be a very nice stay, quickly turned into disappointment. Our room was too hot and would not cool down.I called to the front desk to have someone fix it, they did send someone up,but it did not help. We had to sleep with windows open, which still did not provide much comfort, and because of this I was abruptly awakened very early by constuction noise outside the window. The shower was dirty and the robe hook was installed so poorly that it fell off the door simply because a towel was removed. We checked out early and made the front desk clerk aware of our hot room. Instead of trying to remedy the situation, he only offered I speak with a manager. I agreed, but upon his return he informed me the manager was in a morning meeting and would call me when it was over. I still have not received a call days later, instead I got a generic email with minimal apology and their promise that now the temperature control had been fixed. This tells me they don't care enough about my bad experience to even pick up the phone. Four star hotel? Most definitely not. Save yourself the drama and headache and stay elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amariea3
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2013

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

I sent clients to the Rafaello Hotel this past weekend for an overnight stay. When I booked the room, I specifically requested a king size bed. To be sure the hotel knew, I followed up with a call to request (again) the king size room. They said it wouldn't be a problem. When they checked in, they were told they were being given an "upgrade." To their surprise, they were given a "double" room, not a king. When I called the hotel to see what happened, or where the miscommunication was, the woman at the front desk was really abrasive. When I asked what they were upgraded from (to get the "upgrade" of a double bed), she couldn't answer. I was put on hold and when she came back, she suggested I send them to a competing hotel. I couldn't believe it. I said, "I'm paying for this room - you admit you messed up - just do something to correct it or bring them back another night during the off-season. Something to not make me and yourselves look bad in front of these clients." They did nothing to help. When the manager got on the phone, he was equally as clueless. He called me the next day to tell me he picked up their valet parking. Like that would compensate for the double bed. When I confronted him about the horrible service, he seemed like he couldn't care less. I explained that valet parking doesn't really cut it when you're talking about business clients and the staff suggesting I go to a different hotel. He then said, "Well I was going to offer you another night's stay but you're being rude." Totally untrue. He never offered another night's stay and was curt about the whole situation. I wasn't trying to complain, but as a business owner, I would want to know when something goes wrong and would want to fix it immediately. I know hotels can be overbooked and this kind of thing can happen, but it's their poor attitude that was frustrating. They could have easily fixed the situation and guaranteed my loyalty in the future, but didn't take the time to do so. Very sad situation considering I have sent clients from out of town to the Rafaello in the past. Due to their lack of quality client care, I would not recommend someone stay at this hotel. There are a lot of hotels in the area with bigger rooms and better care who will get my business in the future. Don't waste your time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Braves Fans
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 24, 2013

Buyer Beware! MOLD and Broken A/C

We booked this because of the good reviews on this and other travel sites and boy, were we sorry! There were several issues with this hotel, culminating in our leaving early. First, we were traveling to Chicago to see a baseball game and got stuck in traffic. We were unable to go to the hotel prior to the game, so I called to let them know we would be late checking in. They informed me that even though I had already paid for the room through the internet, it would NOT be guaranteed after midnight. When we did arrive at the hotel around 11 PM there was no place to unload the luggage while we checked in. The staff member who checked us in told us where to self park, only for us to find out it was a valet service ramp. This worked out, since the rates were the same, but was still a hassle. After we schlepped our luggage 1.5 blocks in the rain, we had to fight with the rooftop bar people for a spot on very tiny, very slow elevators. (Elevator ride #1) We arrived in our first room to find the CARPETING WET! and BLACK MOLD on the baseboards. There was a pervasive odor in the room. The bathroom had clearly not been dusted and the towel bars were not attached to the wall. We called the front desk, they apologized and promised to send someone up with new keys. The maintenance person arrived and really didn't seem appalled enough at the condition of the room, but did provide us with keycards for a different room. Again, we moved our luggage to a different floor (Ride #2#, only to find the keycards didn't work. I went to the lobby and exchanged the keycards for different ones #Elevator rides #3 and #4#. When we entered the 2nd room, it was hot and stuffy. I should mention the outside temperature was 95 degrees with 90% humidity. The room reflected this, since the AIR CONDITIONING UNIT WAS DIASSEMBLED WITH PARTS LYING ON THE TABLETOP. I went to the lobby again #Elevator ride #5#. This time I met another employee, who did try to help, but at this point revealed they no longer had any double rooms available. We climbed the stairs together to the 2nd floor to look at yet a 3rd hotel room which was acceptable, only in that it appeared clean and was air conditioned. We proceeded to move our luggage from the 2nd room to the lobby #elevator rides # 6 and #7# to discuss our options and the hotel staff tried to call some neighboring hotels and find us a room. However, since it was now after midnight, they were full and we had little choice but to relocate again. One last elevator ride to the second floor with the luggage ##8) and were able to settle in. The staff member who finally settled us in assured us she would pass on our desire to check out in the morning and be refunded our second night. This didn't happen very efficiently, since I had to tell the whole story again. They were unable to refund the money and I was told they would pass on the information to the hotel manager for Monday morning. When by Wednesday, we had not heard anything, I contacted her only to have to leave more than one message before she responded. Happily, she has agreed to refund the second night, but I would CAUTION anyone who considers this hotel. Not a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Lure, NC
Aug 10, 2010

Small room

Room was very small. Smaller than we have had on river cruises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tommy19831983
Schaumburg
Nov 11, 2013

I am not one of those people to say it but.... Not worth the $$$

I should preface this by saying I am not one of those people who just want to be bitter and complain, I'm very much the opposite but I just have to save people from staying at this accommodation. First off: I am fully aware that early check in is not guaranteed. As we had an evening wedding to attend and were hoping to checkin early, I started calling from 8am every couple hours to try to get an early checkin or at the least, have them prioritize our room's availability.of course calling periodically didn't work. I thought that's fine, we ll just go there and checkin as it's approaching checkin time anyway. We get to the hotel at 330pm and still our room wasn't available. My wife and I sat and watch nearly 25 people check in from 3:30-4:00pm. Now I get that different rooms are available at different times but You would think that if I have been giving my name every couple hours for the whole day and was sitting there in front of employees unhappy faces, the hotel would prioritize our room's availability. Not only is that common courtesy but it's just simple common sense. They then had the audacity to tell me the room will be available after4! After the checkin time! I asked to see the manager and explained the whole situation with much detail and in a calm manner. The manager seemed very disinterested and apathetic, she then had the audacity to take a call and chat for 5 minutes as I stood there as she pretended to click on a few tabs and then out of nowhere went on the defensive about hotel policy. I was taken aback of the lack of customer service skills she had as she never was concerned of my situation, never smiled once( which I don't care about but who in hospitality doesn't crack a smile when working with a calm but frustrated customer) and just like the rest of her staff, put my concerns on the back burner as if I wasn't there. She was rude the moment I walked into her office and finally I just had to chuckle when I thought to myself how this could be the manager of a four star boutique hotel. For some reason the manager was extremely defensive and had the audacity to say I was being rude when I was calm and polite the whole time. At that point I had it, I told her that I have been calm and polite the whole time and just wanted the room already and that's all I cared about and informed her that neither herself nor her staff had any clue on how to resolve a customer complaint. In all my years both as a customer and as an employee, have I ever seen such poor treatment of a customer. We finally got our room well after the 4pm checkin. The hotel room had an unexplained wet spot right at the front door but we were too busy to worry about that. And before I forget, they have only two elevators which only fits 3 people comfortably aNd they are insanely SLOW. The only positive aside from the wet spot was that the king suite room had a comfortable bed. Do not do vallet parking here. It's $61 to do so and you just have to walk a block away to where they park it and self park it for $34 dollars a night. Location is great and you don't need anyone on here to tell you that. If you don't care about service or bang for your buck and your priority is only proximity to tourist sites or shopping, this is the place to be! The manager may reply here and state how she was extremely polite and I was the rude one, please don't further add on to this review by giving untruthful statements. You wasted enough of my valuable time as it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanslist
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 8, 2014

Disappointing

My biggest gripe with this hotel is that I could not sleep at night. The walls are paper thin and each night while I tried to get to sleep around 10 p.m. I was awakened repeatedly by doors slamming in the hallway until 2 a.m., people walking by and talking loudly, unexplained screaming in the stairwell. My small window overlooked a garbage dumpter. Staff was average, did nothing to accommodate me when I complained about the how awful it was trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blind Folks
Business
Chicago
Dec 10, 2013

No business center

This is a downtown location and no business center was in there. I was trying to do some work on a computer and they didn't have no computer for guests to work on ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mayor Myers
Illinois
Apr 24, 2014

NO HEAT

The heater was not working when we arrived to our room around 8:45 pm. We spoke with the front desk and they sent up a repairman. He claimed the water valve was stuck open along with 2 windows in the room. We left for dinner at the hotel down stairs and came back to the room as cold as when we left. They sent me a text asking if everything was ok with the room but my response was the heater was not working and the blower motor isn't pushing any air our the vents. Sent a repairman up for the 2nd time and he again said the water vent was open not allowing the heat to build up but said he reset it and it should be good to go. As we tried to sleep the night was colder and colder by morning it was a cool 51 degrees in our room. I am now home 3 days later and have a head cold and a fever of 101 degrees. I wont be staying here again nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone. The only good thing they have to offer was there about a block n a half from the main shopping that runs through the city. Way over priced for the old world charm and things not working. Walk across the street or down the block to eat. The hotel food was $150 for a small 2 coarse meal I would recommend walking across the street or down the block to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street or down the block to eat. The hotel food was $150 for a small 2 coarse meal and wasn't worth the stay.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Art Mom 74957164893
Minneapolis
Feb 2, 2014

Had to change rooms 3 times!

There seems to be a sewer problem in this hotel. Foul smell filled 2 of the rooms I TRYED to stay in. One room I had for 1 night, had a constant banging noise. That was a sleepless night! Staff was nice, but claimed they has NO IDEA about these problems. That's hard to believe. Everything is very clean. Doorman were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at The Local Chicago kiddy-corner from hotel.

Back to menu Return to top