$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
255 reviews
Chicago Reprieve

The Raffaello is in a great location. One block from John Hancock. Great breakfast/lunch nook on... See full review

  • Pat and Tiff
  • Aug 3, 2014
Perfect for us

We wanted a quick little anniversary getaway, and this was perfect. Awesome value. Amazing... See full review

  • Peter and Abby
  • Jul 17, 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 173 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 2 restaurants
  • Gym
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.

Ask the concierge about personal training sessions at the hotel gym, and if you're staying at the hotel on a Saturday, head over to Millennium Park for free yoga sessions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed, One Murphy Bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JessLev
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 8, 2014

Great night away with a friend!

My friend and I arrived earlier than check-in time (which is 4pm) on a Thursday. We asked if they had any rooms available early. The hotel employee at the front desk, Jeneline, told us that for $30 we could check-in early. I also told her that my reservation was for two double beds. She said that they didn't have any double bed rooms available. I showed her my confirmation, stating double beds. She said that since I booked through a travel company (O) that they couldn't accommodate us. It wasn't a very friendly start to our stay or experience with Raffaello Hotel. We had our luggage held for us. The bellmen were very nice and helpful. Then once we came back to check in our room, a different hotel employee, Sean, was more than pleasant and accommodating. He even gave us an upgrade. The suite was spacious, clean and perfect! Great overall experience and stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kflionis
Chicago
Jul 11, 2014

Chicago experience

What a wonderful hotel! The staff were so attentive and caring. I really appreciated the texts to inform me about my room and to answer questions about local destinations. The room was quite comfortable, but the best part was being so close to the places we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the DIVVY bike system. It is a great way to see local sights and work off all the Chicago food!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter and Abby
Chicago
Jul 17, 2014

Perfect for us

We wanted a quick little anniversary getaway, and this was perfect. Awesome value. Amazing location, right by the John Hancock and MCA. After eating at a local restaurant, we checked in, then took a late night walk and had a drink at the bar on the top floor. We love vintage, and this place has lots of charm. So glad we found it, we will definitely be back, next time with the kids to do some Michigan avenue shopping and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Tiff
Abbeville LA
Aug 3, 2014

Chicago Reprieve

The Raffaello is in a great location. One block from John Hancock. Great breakfast/lunch nook on bottom level of JH - l'appetito. Also Cheesecake Factory located in same area. Not far away 2-3 blocks is Mike Ditkas. Great food. Able to catch Go Chicago hop on/hop off trolley at the JH or if you walk up Michigan Ave another block or two, you can catch trolley or bus there. On that corner (across from old water plant) is the Chicago Tourist Office. Great info. The concierge at the Raffaello could learn much from these people. Only complaint I have about the Raffaello is the concierge. She didn't know anything and seemed disinterested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase Go Chicago package. Allows you into more than 25 places. Pays for itself after 3 places. Allows for a number of tours also. Especially recommend the architectural river cruise. Also about 2-3 blocks from hotel is the Chicago Tourist Office. Inside there is a discounted ticket office for all the shows in Chicago. Utilize this service. The tourist agents are very knowledgeable and helpful. Concierge at the Raffaello could learn from them!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tour de Iowa
Indiana
Dec 30, 2013

We'd stay here again

We stayed at the Raffaello Hotel because of the value (discounts offered). When we arrived, the TV in our room was on and the thermostat was blasting out at 90 degrees. Well decorated room that's perfectly sized for a weekend trip. I really liked the bathroom and the open shower. Bed was really comfy too. As strange as it may sound, their elevators are the smallest I have ever been in. We weren't in the area for shopping, but it was only a few blocks walk to find a good meal and a low-key bar. It doesn't have a lot of exterior signage, making it difficult to find at first and there isn't any exclusive parking for hotel guests, which makes it a pain. We parked around the block in a garage for $30 overnight. Next time we are in Chicago and want to be in that area, I'd definitely go back to the Raffaello Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaliyah Travels
Chicago Suburbs
Jan 2, 2014

New Years Eve Haven

As a person who travels frequently, I'd say this was a good first time stay at a nice boutique hotel. I booked the room for my boyfriend and I for New Years Eve to avoid driving home to the suburbs after partying. The rooms are a little small for 2 but the location ( right off the magnificent mile) can't be beat. We stayed on the 9th floor and had a pretty nice view of downtown. Everything was neat and clean and the room included the little nicest mini bar. Comfortable bedding provided for the best sleep I've had in ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosalie Rand
Chicago
Jan 15, 2014

Excellent!

I got this room for a night to get out of my house. I invited a friend over, and we didn't really leave the room, but boy we sure had fun anyway. The hotel was clean, quiet, and I got a great deal on the room. I was a little disappointed that the restaurant was closed the day I was there, but that's what GrubHub is for, right? 9/10, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamyaSarma
Naperville, IL
Jan 22, 2014

Spacious, great location

Nice roomy boutique hotel. We got a room which had a main bedroom and an sitting area with a pull out sleeper sofa - almost like a studio condo. Worked out well for my husband, 2 kids and self.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cels
Chicago Illinois
Feb 18, 2014

Vday Getaway

Great Location near the avenue, Drum bar on the top floor was such a great time with amazing drinks. Only downside was no wifi and the two tiny elevators to serve 18 floors? Overall great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Drumbar

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasgirljean
Business
Chicago
Mar 9, 2014

Great hotel prefere this rather than standard chain hotels.

Room clean however, unable to control temp. of room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear confortable shoes.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search