$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
215 reviews
Great Location

We could see the John Hancock Building from the room! Room far more spacious than expected and much... See full review

  • Globality
  • Apr 13, 2014
Downtown Chicago, reasonable and high-end.

Wonderful staff and great location! The roof top bar (Drum Bar) is also a locals fave that welcomes... See full review

  • Glass of vino
  • Apr 4, 2014
Boutique luxury in the heart of the Gold Coast

In Chicago, the rule for downtown real estate is the closer to Lake Michigan, the more posh the address. Enter the Raffaello Hotel, a four-star hotel just steps from the lake and Magnificent Mile with a Michelin-rated chef and executive suites. Blending old-world aesthetics with modern conveniences, the hotel manages luxury and intimacy while being near the downtown hub. Stepping into the vintage building just off the tourist drag, guests are more likely to feel like Gold Coast residents than tourists. Raffaello Hotel offers Drumbar, a rooftop speakeasy-style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace, found in the 18th floor.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile
  • Next to the John Hancock Center
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Upscale Italian fare at Pelago
  • Sanctuary fitness center with Precor fitness equipment
Rooms

Staying in this vintage building poses several advantages. The Raffaello Hotel offers rooms with high ceilings and architectural details for a unique, high-class vintage stay. Butterscotch-hued bedding and drapes match the walls, while high ceilings --painted stark white--stun with their beam construction. All rooms feature rainfall showerheads, GUYandGIRL amenities, 32-inch LCD TV, iHome and iPod players and 340-count linens. Rooms, which come in king, double double and suite versions are hard-wire and Wi-Fi enabled.

Features

Any Chicagoan will encourage a newcomer to put dining and an architectural experience on the itinerary. At the Raffaello Hotel, both needs are satisfied thanks to Pelago, the upscale Italian seafood restaurant and the rooftop garden, which is open from late spring to late fall. From the sundeck, guests can take in glorious views of the skyline, including Navy Pier and the next door neighbor: the John Hancock Center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Chicago to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center
  • American Girl Place
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Oak Street Shopping
  • Oak Street Beach
  • Navy Pier
  • Lake Michigan
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access is complimentary. Standard Wi-Fi access fee with 3 MBPS that can connect up to three devices per day is $4.99 USD while Premium Wi-Fi access fee with 5 MBPS that can connect up to three devices per day is $9.99 USD.

  • The hotel charges a $10 USD handling fee per storing package.
  • The hotel charges a $25 USD for each additional guest.
  • Photo identification and credit card are required at check in for incidental charges.
  • If you do not provide a credit card, a cash security deposit in the amount of $1,000 is required.
  • The hotel charges $61 USD for valet parking and $34 USD for self-parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed, One Murphy Bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Rebecca Fun Fun
Illinois
Oct 1, 2012

Excellent Hotel

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. Perfectly situated for shopping and seeing the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
kevin1216
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2013

Great hotel, would highly recommend

Convenient location right near a main street, but far enough away to not get the traffic noise. Nice sized room with any amenity you could want. Even had a shoe polisher in the room! Would highly recommend for anyone traveling to Chicago. They even had a donut shop set up inside so quick and easy breakfast in the morning if you like yummy donuts. Definitely check this place out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Geiler Hengst
La Crosse , Wisconsin
Aug 24, 2013

Perfect Location

It was a really nice hotel. Only the elevator was slow but that is the only negative thing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Mikeylm
Dubai
Aug 22, 2013

Very nice Hotek!

Would stay here again. Grt size room in a good location next to John Hancock Centre, although a bit of a walk to the blue line metro. Had to pay for wifi which was a small negative, otherwise a very nice hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Buckmiester
Raleigh, NC
Aug 5, 2013

second time a charm

Second visit to the Raffaello .Second time as good as the first. Location is perfect, staff are great, the Drumbar is fun. What else could you ask for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Drumbar on 18th floor is one of the best in Chicago. Don't miss it!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Sygarza
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2013

A little more would be a lot

Very small lobby and elevators. Suite should have access to bathroom from sofa bed without entering bedroom. 2 Keurig cups? Then had trouble brewing a cup. I own one! Only dark bold?! No choice. Guess they want us to buy the one they sell downstairs which I did. Very little counter space in bathroom. Bed,not plush. Bar opens at 5, but if its the weekend, it'll be flooded with young people who come in out if the street. Got back, closed as it closes at 12. Doormen were extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping, lots to see within a short walk.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
MissTomiko
Bourbonnais, IL
Aug 1, 2013

Romantic Getaway

Beautiful hotel. Great location. Clean and spacious rooms. Staff courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. (Very romantic setting ;)!!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Braves Fans
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 24, 2013

Buyer Beware! MOLD and Broken A/C

We booked this because of the good reviews on this and other travel sites and boy, were we sorry! There were several issues with this hotel, culminating in our leaving early. First, we were traveling to Chicago to see a baseball game and got stuck in traffic. We were unable to go to the hotel prior to the game, so I called to let them know we would be late checking in. They informed me that even though I had already paid for the room through the internet, it would NOT be guaranteed after midnight. When we did arrive at the hotel around 11 PM there was no place to unload the luggage while we checked in. The staff member who checked us in told us where to self park, only for us to find out it was a valet service ramp. This worked out, since the rates were the same, but was still a hassle. After we schlepped our luggage 1.5 blocks in the rain, we had to fight with the rooftop bar people for a spot on very tiny, very slow elevators. (Elevator ride #1) We arrived in our first room to find the CARPETING WET! and BLACK MOLD on the baseboards. There was a pervasive odor in the room. The bathroom had clearly not been dusted and the towel bars were not attached to the wall. We called the front desk, they apologized and promised to send someone up with new keys. The maintenance person arrived and really didn't seem appalled enough at the condition of the room, but did provide us with keycards for a different room. Again, we moved our luggage to a different floor (Ride #2#, only to find the keycards didn't work. I went to the lobby and exchanged the keycards for different ones #Elevator rides #3 and #4#. When we entered the 2nd room, it was hot and stuffy. I should mention the outside temperature was 95 degrees with 90% humidity. The room reflected this, since the AIR CONDITIONING UNIT WAS DIASSEMBLED WITH PARTS LYING ON THE TABLETOP. I went to the lobby again #Elevator ride #5#. This time I met another employee, who did try to help, but at this point revealed they no longer had any double rooms available. We climbed the stairs together to the 2nd floor to look at yet a 3rd hotel room which was acceptable, only in that it appeared clean and was air conditioned. We proceeded to move our luggage from the 2nd room to the lobby #elevator rides # 6 and #7# to discuss our options and the hotel staff tried to call some neighboring hotels and find us a room. However, since it was now after midnight, they were full and we had little choice but to relocate again. One last elevator ride to the second floor with the luggage ##8) and were able to settle in. The staff member who finally settled us in assured us she would pass on our desire to check out in the morning and be refunded our second night. This didn't happen very efficiently, since I had to tell the whole story again. They were unable to refund the money and I was told they would pass on the information to the hotel manager for Monday morning. When by Wednesday, we had not heard anything, I contacted her only to have to leave more than one message before she responded. Happily, she has agreed to refund the second night, but I would CAUTION anyone who considers this hotel. Not a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Wayne from Green Bay
Green Bay WI
Jul 22, 2013

Great Location

The refrigerator that you can actually use and the micro-wave were really great amenities. The location is super easy to walk to anywhere downtown. The bed was comfy. There was not only a squeak in the floor but you actually went down into the squeaky area, but that wouldn't stop me from coming back. The great Francesca's on chestnut is literally one block away. Rush street and state street are also right down the street. We went roof top bar hopping and highly recommend you check that out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Francesca's on Chestnut one block south. Pippins is a local bar and you can get that Chicago hot dog, get the double and share it. I would not recommend the French fries or bratwurst. Check out the Kastle if you like the Sportsbar scene

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Mojito girls
Canada
Jul 20, 2013

Great stay

Although a short stay we enjoyed this boutique style hotel. We appreciated the small sized lobby that was never overcrowded, decorations and front of the hotel were very pretty. Staff was friendly and always helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River and lakeshore cruise is an absolute must.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Fitter449
pittsburgh,Pa
Jul 8, 2013

4th of July in Chicago

Excellent mid range hotel in a great location. Staff bent over backwards to assist in making this a great trip. Restaurant on site on 1st floor as well as a nightclub on the 18th floor. You will not be disappointed !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is the Hancock Tower with a great restaurant on the 95th floor with an awesome view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier

Back to menu Return to top