$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
253 reviews
Will be back...soon!

An unbeatable Chicago location, with an amazingly friendly staff. The suites are set up to be kid... See full review

  • Mike T and Shelbi W
  • Sep 8, 2014
Chicago Reprieve

The Raffaello is in a great location. One block from John Hancock. Great breakfast/lunch nook on... See full review

  • Pat and Tiff
  • Aug 3, 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 18 floors
  • 1 restaurant
  • Gym
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
  • Doughnut shop
  • Business center
  • Lounge
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.
Policies and fees
Handling fee for accepting and storing packages applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 60 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 46 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex the Chicago guy
Illinois
Mar 29, 2014

DO NOT STAY!!!

So keep in mind that my wife and I live about an hour from Chicago and we just wanted to get away from life for a bit. Well first impression was that corner that the hotel was located seemed a bit rough. No big deal though. Once we got in our room we were amazed at how tiny the room was. We tried to do a lot of resting but the hotel failed to mention that our room was located right by drilling that was happening on their brick wall. It felt and sounded like the drilling was inside the room (not exaggerating). Obviously we complained and asked to be moved. They said that they could move us so we went to breakfast that morning and the person in front said they would move our luggage and everything (we packed it up). In Chicago you basically have to walk everywhere so we took our time to check out some shops and stuff and we returned about 3 hours later and found that the room was still not ready. We were very tired as we got in pretty late the night before and the drilling woke us up. We went back to our room to try to rest and the drilling continued. Oh and the heater didn't work by the way as well as the hot water. Horrible first night. Long story short after getting to a manager a room finally appeared. Thy did upgrade to a nice room but did not give is any discounts for our horrible first night. Although the manager we worked with was very nice, one of the front desk people (Jose) was very condescending throughout the whole process. If you're gonna stay here make sure you pay the extra money for the "bigger" room because the regular rooms are smaller than normal. Otherwise we got a very mixed experience mostly negative for the first half and felt like we were inconvenienced very much. We will not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Mochigan Ave with lots of shopping, restaurants and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabeybby
Rochester, New York
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect couple getaway

My stay at Raffaello hotel was great! I can honestly say all the staff I encountered was very friendly. It was so shocking. My king suite was amazing, I loved how cozy it was. Overall my stay was excellent! I highly recommend and I would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Piano tuner Dave
Business
Chicago IL
Mar 27, 2014

Amazing location

Overall experience was great. Rooms were large and very quiet. Nice features, but relaxed enough that a little boy and his Dad went down to get doughnuts with the boy in his pjs. Location could not be better for a trip to downtown Chicago. Bathroom was small but well equipped and laid out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah and Emily's mom
Algonquin, Illinois
Mar 27, 2014

Wonderful boutique style in the center if everything

My girls and I (12 & 14) stayed here to do some shopping and hit some fancy restaurants. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. The bakery in the lobby had some incredible homemade donuts. Must try the maple bacon long john. I got the double bed room and it was surprisingly large! It had a microwave and fridge too. The location was superb. A couple blocks from magnificent mile. The girls and I squeezed in a workout and found the gym to be large and with many different equipments. They even had apples available!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cleanfreak
Washington State
Mar 26, 2014

Nothing Special

Ranked as a four star hotel, I expected much more from the Raffaello. We booked a deluxe suite, which was very large and comfortable. However, the hotel is old and our room had a bit of a musty smell when we first walked in. The glass shower door only partially keeps water from going all over the bathroom floor, and the water drain had a slight "rotten egg" smell after showering. The lobby is much too small to accommodate more than a few people, and the elevator only holds about 4-5 people max. Also, you can't use the elevator unless you slide your room key, which is a bit of a hassle. There is a donut shop downstairs, but it was usually sold out by about 10:30 a.m. Our room had been prepaid, but when we checked in, they still charged our credit card for a large deposit, which was $100 per night, in case we took items out of the mini bar. The business center and spa are closed, but the front desk took care of making copies for us and printing our boarding passes. Good points - parking was easy, the location is good, and the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend this hotel only if you can get the room at a great rate. If you have to have to pay full price, stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kmg2508
El Paso, TX
Mar 24, 2014

Enjoyable Stay

Super location. Very pleasant and accommodating staff. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Glazed and Infused donuts are yummy too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panny
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 17, 2014

Boutique Hotel in Great Location

I would definitely stay in this hotel again. I got a great rate because the hotel was running a special, so the price could not be beat. I was within walking distance of all the places I wanted to go. I was looking for a boutique hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the price, location, and room size -- I unexpectedly received a suite! The donut shop in the lobby was a nice treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PrincessM
Chicago
Mar 16, 2014

Quiet escape

When we checked in we were upgraded to a suite, which was fantastic! The bed was comfortable and because we had a suite we had plenty of space. But I do have to say that the bathroom was rather small compared to the size of the suite. Anytime we needed something we just texted the hotel and Voila!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bea Traveller
Streamwood, Illinois
Mar 10, 2014

Just right!

Great location, right price, rooms are comfortable and spacious. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasgirljean
Business
Chicago
Mar 9, 2014

Great hotel prefere this rather than standard chain hotels.

Room clean however, unable to control temp. of room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear confortable shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search