$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
View map of 201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sygarza
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2013

A little more would be a lot

Very small lobby and elevators. Suite should have access to bathroom from sofa bed without entering bedroom. 2 Keurig cups? Then had trouble brewing a cup. I own one! Only dark bold?! No choice. Guess they want us to buy the one they sell downstairs which I did. Very little counter space in bathroom. Bed,not plush. Bar opens at 5, but if its the weekend, it'll be flooded with young people who come in out if the street. Got back, closed as it closes at 12. Doormen were extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping, lots to see within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissTomiko
Business
Bourbonnais, IL
Aug 1, 2013

Romantic Getaway

Beautiful hotel. Great location. Clean and spacious rooms. Staff courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. (Very romantic setting ;)!!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Braves Fans
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 24, 2013

Buyer Beware! MOLD and Broken A/C

We booked this because of the good reviews on this and other travel sites and boy, were we sorry! There were several issues with this hotel, culminating in our leaving early. First, we were traveling to Chicago to see a baseball game and got stuck in traffic. We were unable to go to the hotel prior to the game, so I called to let them know we would be late checking in. They informed me that even though I had already paid for the room through the internet, it would NOT be guaranteed after midnight. When we did arrive at the hotel around 11 PM there was no place to unload the luggage while we checked in. The staff member who checked us in told us where to self park, only for us to find out it was a valet service ramp. This worked out, since the rates were the same, but was still a hassle. After we schlepped our luggage 1.5 blocks in the rain, we had to fight with the rooftop bar people for a spot on very tiny, very slow elevators. (Elevator ride #1) We arrived in our first room to find the CARPETING WET! and BLACK MOLD on the baseboards. There was a pervasive odor in the room. The bathroom had clearly not been dusted and the towel bars were not attached to the wall. We called the front desk, they apologized and promised to send someone up with new keys. The maintenance person arrived and really didn't seem appalled enough at the condition of the room, but did provide us with keycards for a different room. Again, we moved our luggage to a different floor (Ride #2#, only to find the keycards didn't work. I went to the lobby and exchanged the keycards for different ones #Elevator rides #3 and #4#. When we entered the 2nd room, it was hot and stuffy. I should mention the outside temperature was 95 degrees with 90% humidity. The room reflected this, since the AIR CONDITIONING UNIT WAS DIASSEMBLED WITH PARTS LYING ON THE TABLETOP. I went to the lobby again #Elevator ride #5#. This time I met another employee, who did try to help, but at this point revealed they no longer had any double rooms available. We climbed the stairs together to the 2nd floor to look at yet a 3rd hotel room which was acceptable, only in that it appeared clean and was air conditioned. We proceeded to move our luggage from the 2nd room to the lobby #elevator rides # 6 and #7# to discuss our options and the hotel staff tried to call some neighboring hotels and find us a room. However, since it was now after midnight, they were full and we had little choice but to relocate again. One last elevator ride to the second floor with the luggage ##8) and were able to settle in. The staff member who finally settled us in assured us she would pass on our desire to check out in the morning and be refunded our second night. This didn't happen very efficiently, since I had to tell the whole story again. They were unable to refund the money and I was told they would pass on the information to the hotel manager for Monday morning. When by Wednesday, we had not heard anything, I contacted her only to have to leave more than one message before she responded. Happily, she has agreed to refund the second night, but I would CAUTION anyone who considers this hotel. Not a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne from Green Bay
Business
Green Bay WI
Jul 22, 2013

Great Location

The refrigerator that you can actually use and the micro-wave were really great amenities. The location is super easy to walk to anywhere downtown. The bed was comfy. There was not only a squeak in the floor but you actually went down into the squeaky area, but that wouldn't stop me from coming back. The great Francesca's on chestnut is literally one block away. Rush street and state street are also right down the street. We went roof top bar hopping and highly recommend you check that out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Francesca's on Chestnut one block south. Pippins is a local bar and you can get that Chicago hot dog, get the double and share it. I would not recommend the French fries or bratwurst. Check out the Kastle if you like the Sportsbar scene

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mojito girls
Business
Canada
Jul 20, 2013

Great stay

Although a short stay we enjoyed this boutique style hotel. We appreciated the small sized lobby that was never overcrowded, decorations and front of the hotel were very pretty. Staff was friendly and always helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River and lakeshore cruise is an absolute must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fitter449
Business
pittsburgh,Pa
Jul 8, 2013

4th of July in Chicago

Excellent mid range hotel in a great location. Staff bent over backwards to assist in making this a great trip. Restaurant on site on 1st floor as well as a nightclub on the 18th floor. You will not be disappointed !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is the Hancock Tower with a great restaurant on the 95th floor with an awesome view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mehdi from Berkeley
Business
Berkeley, ca
Jul 3, 2013

Great hotel

This is one of the best hotel we stayed in and we have stayed in many fine hotels including westi and Hilton's. This is small and friendly with very fine rooms and beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former Illini
Business
ga
Jul 2, 2013

Great Stay

Was easy to find and at a great location, only a couple of blocks from Watertower. We had a problem with the AC but one phone call at 5 pm and someone was there to fix it within 10 minutes. No problems after that. I needed to print a confirmation for a water tour and they let me use the staff computer to print it. Their business office was being worked on. Another guest hadn't used their trolley tickets and still had 2 days use on them and had given them to staff at the desk. They passed them on to us. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, the doorman even offered us umbrellas on our way out when it looked like it might rain. And compared to prices of other hotels in the area, this was a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant across the street "the Local-Chicago" is a great place to eat too. Try the jalepeno cornbread. It's more reasonable priced than the restaurant at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Professor Paul
Business
La Jolla, CA
Jun 25, 2013

Convenient place to stay in Chicago

We enjoyed the hotel; it was well located for walking in the city; the room was comfortable except it needed another chair, carpet cleaning, and possibly more room! Breakfast was convenient and not too expensive, across the intersection in a nearby hotel! We had a delicious dinner in the hotel dining room; we commented on the unfortunate shape of the serving dishes, and were rewarded with a really delicious desert! We had another fine dinner just one block north. Food was definitely good. We're fairly fussy, and were quite comfortable and happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As noted, breakfast in the outdoor location diagonally opposite was very good, not too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Movemiento Man
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 23, 2013

One-night excursion to the city

Room was ok, nothing fancy. Elevators were crowded and could lead to long waits when the rooftop bar is rocking. Location is great, right off Michigan Avenue. Try the Maple bacon pastry treat at Glazed and Infused. Valet is pricey, so self-park if you can. Overall it was an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pump Room. The sauces they cook up here are outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top