$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
View map of 201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EP and Pri
Couples
Boston
Nov 25, 2013

Visiting Chicago?

Checked in early, no problem. Door staff very attentive. Maintenance and housekeeping were very quick and personable. "drumBAR" on 18th floor was impressive overall- tasty drinks, service and attitude was subpar and slow, atmosphere was perfect, wish we could have been in the summer to enjoy the roof deck... surprised they didn't do better bites or even just better snacks, a missed opportunity for all. The room was really great especially for the value it presented. Not 5 stars, but really quite satisfactory. Stored bags to pick up after checkout no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Nearby tasty and unexpected lunch was "The Purple Pig", definitely in walking distance down the Magnificent Mile. The calamari salad; Caesar salad with romaine, quail eggs & kale; and tripe with pig's feet stew were fantastic with their tasty Belgian beers #although they are known as a wine bar...#. The plates are all perfect for sharing. Think small plates/first course size. Check it out!

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Town again
Business
Chicago Ill
Nov 22, 2013

Business trip

Very very nice hotel that is a reasonable expense especially considering the expenses of the larger hotels in the area. One block off Michigan Ave magnificent mile. Check on which room you get as some are small but still very nice. Some are bigger and some even bigger. Excellent top floor bar. Downstairs excellent Italian restaurant, Top floor beautiful deck. Ground floor great dognut/coffee place. Full grocery store across the street on lower level. As most places parking at a premium extra cost Stay three days and get a discount through their website. Book even earlier and save even more at places online.. Will go there again. Many excellent restaurants close by . One across the street west on the next block in the big hotel. Very comfortable sleeping, excellent bath, refrigerator area with mini bar if you choose. I recommend this place to anybody going to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I really like Miller's Tap on Waubash

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tommy19831983
Couples
Schaumburg
Nov 11, 2013

I am not one of those people to say it but.... Not worth the $$$

I should preface this by saying I am not one of those people who just want to be bitter and complain, I'm very much the opposite but I just have to save people from staying at this accommodation. First off: I am fully aware that early check in is not guaranteed. As we had an evening wedding to attend and were hoping to checkin early, I started calling from 8am every couple hours to try to get an early checkin or at the least, have them prioritize our room's availability.of course calling periodically didn't work. I thought that's fine, we ll just go there and checkin as it's approaching checkin time anyway. We get to the hotel at 330pm and still our room wasn't available. My wife and I sat and watch nearly 25 people check in from 3:30-4:00pm. Now I get that different rooms are available at different times but You would think that if I have been giving my name every couple hours for the whole day and was sitting there in front of employees unhappy faces, the hotel would prioritize our room's availability. Not only is that common courtesy but it's just simple common sense. They then had the audacity to tell me the room will be available after4! After the checkin time! I asked to see the manager and explained the whole situation with much detail and in a calm manner. The manager seemed very disinterested and apathetic, she then had the audacity to take a call and chat for 5 minutes as I stood there as she pretended to click on a few tabs and then out of nowhere went on the defensive about hotel policy. I was taken aback of the lack of customer service skills she had as she never was concerned of my situation, never smiled once( which I don't care about but who in hospitality doesn't crack a smile when working with a calm but frustrated customer) and just like the rest of her staff, put my concerns on the back burner as if I wasn't there. She was rude the moment I walked into her office and finally I just had to chuckle when I thought to myself how this could be the manager of a four star boutique hotel. For some reason the manager was extremely defensive and had the audacity to say I was being rude when I was calm and polite the whole time. At that point I had it, I told her that I have been calm and polite the whole time and just wanted the room already and that's all I cared about and informed her that neither herself nor her staff had any clue on how to resolve a customer complaint. In all my years both as a customer and as an employee, have I ever seen such poor treatment of a customer. We finally got our room well after the 4pm checkin. The hotel room had an unexplained wet spot right at the front door but we were too busy to worry about that. And before I forget, they have only two elevators which only fits 3 people comfortably aNd they are insanely SLOW. The only positive aside from the wet spot was that the king suite room had a comfortable bed. Do not do vallet parking here. It's $61 to do so and you just have to walk a block away to where they park it and self park it for $34 dollars a night. Location is great and you don't need anyone on here to tell you that. If you don't care about service or bang for your buck and your priority is only proximity to tourist sites or shopping, this is the place to be! The manager may reply here and state how she was extremely polite and I was the rude one, please don't further add on to this review by giving untruthful statements. You wasted enough of my valuable time as it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Popdani K
Couples
Middleton, Wisconsin
Nov 6, 2013

Expected More

This hotel is a good value because of its great location-close to the beach and Michigan Avenue shopping. My wife and I stayed here on a week day and had a good rate on the room which helped us with the overall evaluation for our stay. With a little more effort, someone could make this a four-star hotel as is advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a romantic little wine bar downstairs of the Seneca on 200 East Chestnut, just around the corner and it's called DiSotto Enoteca.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef lawyer
Business
Atlanta
Oct 29, 2013

24-hour business trip

Raffaello was a hotel I took a chance on due to a last-minute trip to see clients in Chicago. In all candor, I was not familiar with the brand. I generally stay at other boutique hotels, but this one was well priced by comparison. I have absolutely no complaints. The room and facilities were clean. The water was hot. The bed was comfortable. The service was stellar. The cabbies knew where it was. In all, I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDRTWO
Cincinnati
Oct 29, 2013

Great Location, Hot Bar

One couldn't ask for a better Chicago location and the hotel staff was courteous, efficient and very friendly. The remodeling of the hotel was nicely done, although not extensive. We had not stayed there for a number of years, so it was nice to see the change. The rooftop bar, The Drumbar, was hopping and the crowd was young and attractive. The addition of the great donut shop off the lobby, Glazed and Confused, was a nice touch. Altogether, a very satisfactory stay in the Windy City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistronomic was a great restaurant find and only a five minute stroll from the hotel.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pumpkinsmom
Friends
Madison, WI
Oct 27, 2013

Great location and room but service was poor

This was my second stay within 3 months. The second visit mirrored the first in overall quality with the exception of service. We were rudely greeted by the valet and the check-out procedure was understaffed and slow. But, I really like the location. Quiet side street steps from Michigan Avenue. Very easy to navigate and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larry the vacationer
Family
canton,ill.
Oct 17, 2013

perfect location

GREAT could of got any better. Ideal location and staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aprilcot
Friends
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 16, 2013

Decent Hotel, Great Staff

We arrived late and the staff was friendly. When we unpacked and got situated in our room, we realized the carpet was wet. Very wet. The front desk accommodated us by giving us a King Suite and helping move us to the new room. The suite was great. Very spacious and nice. The original room with two double beds was decent, but could use a little bit of touchup (for instance, the baseboards needed to be painted and the bathroom grout was a little dirty). I would recommend this hotel. The location is great and the staff is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is within a very short walk to the Mag Mile, with shopping and dining all around. We enjoy walking around cities and there is PLENTY to find from this hotel.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanfrantraveler
Couples
Chicago, Ill
Oct 8, 2013

good for the money

This great little hotel it's unbeatable for the price and location! I was surprised at how nice this hotel was considering the value. The staff was really courteous and the amenities were great especially for an older hotel. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top