$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Would stay here again : )

The Hotel Palomar came recommended to us by a dear friend, she told me how kind and attentive the... See full review

  • Bessiedarlin
  • Jun 15, 2015
Business Trip

Simply put, the only place I will now stay in Chicago is the Hotel Palomar. I have now stayed there... See full review

  • Marc M.
  • May 25, 2015
Sleek and contemporary, the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel puts stylish guests a few minutes from Navy Pier, nightlife and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. A heated indoor swimming pool and sundeck create an oasis on the 17th floor, adjacent to a 24-hour fitness center with skyline views. From the well-appointed modern rooms, head down to the "gastro-lounge." Stop in for a cocktail after the evening hosted wine hour in the lobby living room. Pets are welcome at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel for no extra charge.
Rooms

Created by master interior designer Orlando Diaz-Azcuy, the 261 fashionable guest rooms at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel showcase original artwork, mood lighting and luxurious bedding that includes a variety of pillows plus triple sheeting with Frette linens. Stay in for the night thanks to spa bathrobes, Etro bath amenities, a stocked honor bar and 24-hour room service. The flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station and high-speed wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply) supply ample entertainment. Pets are welcome, and pampered, at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Property features

State-of-the art cardio equipment, free weights and balance balls provide a comprehensive workout in the 24-7 fitness center at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Alternatively, request a yoga mat for the room and tune into a personalized yoga and Pilates workout channel. Around the clock, the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply) along with a complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Highlights
  • Heated indoor swimming pool
  • In-room spa service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Hosted evening wine hour and complementary morning coffee
  • Pet friendly
Nearby attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people
Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.4 / 5 730 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.2 / 5 230 reviews
★★★★
$109
3.9 / 5 133 reviews
★★★
$169
4.3 / 5 71 reviews
★★★★
$134
4.4 / 5 144 reviews
★★★★★
$170
4.4 / 5 133 reviews
★★★
$144
4.2 / 5 110 reviews
★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 118 reviews

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Rm 365 sqft Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
The Artist Suite
The Artist Suite - 867 Square Feet
The Portrait Suite Bedroom
The Portrait Suite Bedroom - 350 Square Feet
The Portrait Presidential Parlor
Portrait Presidential Parlor - 520 Square Feet
Accessible DBL DBL Roll-in Showe
Accessble 2 Dbl Bds 365 sqft Roll in showers. Communication Ftrs Avail
Accessible City View King Deluxe
Accessible City View King Deluxe, 325 sq feet
Accessible King Spa Premier Room
Accessible King spa premier 1K 490 sqft living rm lower jetted tub walkin shower
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome LCD TV and Etro bath products
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite 2 Queen B
775 sq ft 2Q separate living rm sleep sofa jacuzzi tub walkin shower
Accessible King Deluxe
Accessible King Deluxe 1King 325 sqft Communication features for hearing impaired.
Accessible King DLX Accessible T
Accessible King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft amenities Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
Accessible City View KG Roll-in
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft Larger bathroom with grab bars
1 Bedroom Suite
1 bedrm ste 1K separate living rm pull out sofa 400 sq ft jetted jacuzzi but walk-in shower
City View King Deluxe Room
Cityview King Deluxe 1Kg 325 sqft higher Unobstructed City View iHome docking station
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite - 590 Square Feet
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe 1Kg 325sqft. Amenities include bath robes LCD TV iHome and Etro bath products
King Spa Premier Room
King Spa Premier Rm 1Kg 490sqft studio living rm area jetted jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite
Luxury 1 Bedrm Ste 1K separate living rm pull out-sofa 775 sqft jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking Station Etro bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Sable
An impressive array of single malt scotches and bourbons signature cocktails and diverse beer and wine selections pair perfectly with Chef Heather Terhunes flavorful regional cuisine. From snacks and small plates to large plates and luscious desserts Chef

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark J.
Couples
N/A
Aug 18, 2015

Excellent hotel with a couple of caveats

I'd definitely recommend a stay at the Palomar. It is ideally located, a beautiful hotel and the staff could not do enough for us. Saturday evening there was free wine and the hotel bar had a great atmosphere. Just a couple of nits to pick. There was no coffee maker in our room. Not a huge problem given free coffee is available in the lobby, but something to bear in mind. The pool area is a bit of a disappointment. The pool is very small and had so many children playing in it that it was not possible to swim. The lack of a hot-tub is a real let-down. Finally, the walls of the rooms are very thin. There was a family with young children in the room next to ours and we could hear them screaming and shouting early each morning. Overall, though, I really liked the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bessiedarlin
Couples
N/A
Jun 15, 2015

Would stay here again : )

The Hotel Palomar came recommended to us by a dear friend, she told me how kind and attentive the staff are, how updated/modern and clean the rooms are and that I'd love it! And we did!! : ) Upon speaking to the concierge (after I made my reservations) I was telling him how excited I was to be surprising my Hubby with this little getaway for his birthday and our Anniversary. He was so kind! He had a complimentary bottle of wine and box of chocolates sent to the room for us with a congratulations card. Every time we passed a staff member in the hotel, we were kindly greeted and made sure our stay was going perfectly. The beds are super comfy and I loved the city view out of the floor to ceiling windows. Ooh! And there is a heated outdoor seating area in the front of the hotel, perfect for the cold rainy night we experience in the city. I also enjoyed the fresh fruit water that was setting in the entrance. Oh! And check out the bottled water in the fridge. It won't disappoint. Happy Staying : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marc M.
Business
Worthington
May 25, 2015

Business Trip

Simply put, the only place I will now stay in Chicago is the Hotel Palomar. I have now stayed there twice, once for business and once for 4-day pleasure trip. Both times, it far surpassed my expectations in every category. Staff is outstanding, the rooms are incredible (including an almost cloud-like bed that is ridiculously comfortable), the location perfect. I'm working on trying to get to Chicago here in the summer of 2015....undoubtedly I will be staying at the Palomar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
veleta
Business
Dayton
May 18, 2015

Friendly and very helpful

Every body made my stay a nice experience. Concierge was most helpful in getting my problem solved.. Home atmosphere in the lobby. Comfortable and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ken
Single
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Great hotel

Nice place to stay in Chicago. Near subway. Also near restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kenneth123
Single
edgewood
Mar 4, 2015

awesome

the hotel was clean and the staff help me find thing to go see and good place to eat, and told me about thing to go see that I did not thing of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom K
Couples
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Awesome night downtown

I came down here with my wife for valentines day and was very impressed with the hotel. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Our bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The bar on the first level was great and had a number of interesting drink options. Overall, we had a great visit and would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erik S.
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great room

Nice room, wish I had spent more time in it on new years eve. It was big with a little seating area and a huge bed. The jacuzzi tub, and the whole bathroom for that matter, was really nice. Expensive but probably worth it if you have the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The jacuzzi tub is actually nice

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrna J.
Couples
NY
Oct 17, 2014

Lovely Getaway

We had a wonderful stay at the Palomar. Location is walking distance from great eats and shopping. Staff made our stay even better. They go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. They are always ready to please and help. Concierge (Bobby) was awesome! Bobby’s customer service skills are exceptional. You will not be disappointed with the Palomar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sable at the Palomar and Bandura (walking distance from hotel).

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoDucks99
Family
North Carolina.
Oct 13, 2014

Would return

Great location. Easy couple of walking blocks to Michigan Avenue. Variety of good restaurants and bars within 1-3 blocks. Taxis also easy to get at this location. At 5 p.m., hotel serves free wine for about an hour -- and decent wine, too. Front desk staff all friendly and helpful. Didn't use the pool, but looked nice either for lap swimming and had a shallow area for kids. Also, there was a small but nice terrace off of the pool area. Hotel will print out your airlines boarding passes just by leaving a form on your room door. Bathroom shower was wonderful -- hot and good water pressure (10th floor). But bathroom could have used a few hooks to hang things. Seems to be missing in a number of modern hotels that we've visited. Must be a trend in hotel design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Art Institute was spectacular. We walked -- maybe 20 minutes from the hotel. Easy.

Back to menu Return to top