$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathyrie
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Dec 8, 2012

Sexy and chic

Lovely staff. There was a line when I checked in, but it moved quickly. Staff were engaging and warm as well as efficient. I love a good hotel lobby and this one has a chic and comfortable "living room" with a gas fireplace. Coffee, tea and a hot chocolate bar are served there in the morning. Great place to read the paper and people watch. Room was chic, spacious and great city view. Only complaint was that several of the light switches seemed to be broken. We had drinks and dinner in the hotel restaurant, SABLE, before heading to the theater. Service and food both great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the shrimp and grits!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Total Package
Business
Michigan
Jan 1, 2013

After Christmas Getaway

Hotel was located close to shops, restaurants, Magnificient Mile. It was very clean room and bathroom. Flat screen TV. Free coffee in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2013

Pricey but good

We enjoyed our stay at the Palomar - great staff, great location. It's pricey and we've had much nicer rooms for less $. There's a pool (no spa), a small outdoor sun deck, a work out room. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning and a wine hour (5-6) in the afternoon. Lots of great places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Purple Pig on Mag Mile!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamiLyn
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice for the price!

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, with few exceptions. We weren't notified that it would cost an additional $58.00 per 24 hours for valet parking if we brought our car. Other than that it was a great hotel with wonderful staff and a great location in downtown Chicago. There was a small piece of garbage left in one of the closets and the belt loop on the robe in the closet was broken, which I thought was a little off considering this is a very pricey hotel. Considering I saved $100-$150 on the luxury sweet by booking with the booking company, I can't complain too much. It was really a great value for the money I spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's is amazing! Delicious, inexpensive, and a staple of every trip we make to Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jays getaway
Business
Chicago, il
Sep 1, 2013

Romantic getaway

This was just a nice night out. Super nice hotel room for a great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Godaveygo
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 1, 2013

Last night in Chicago

The staff were great and very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Would have made for a great extended stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many El train options in just a couple of blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batigoals16
Business
Caribbean
Oct 17, 2013

Great location, in the heart of Chicago

Overall, the hotel is in a great location, with fantastic restaurants and shopping on your doorstep. The rooms are a little noisy in terms of traffic noise (sirens in particular), the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. We definitely recommend the Palomar hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark traveller
Business
Miami, FL, USA
May 27, 2014

Excellent Staty

Great Location, excellent Service (Excellent!!). I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Dining all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Mom of 2
Business
Long Island, N.Y.
Aug 22, 2010

FANTASTIC!!!!!!

Fabulous staff, The Concierge [...] was so helpful and nice. Told us what was NOT worth doing and what would work best for us.. The location is great, walking distance to the Magnificant Mile and across st. from free shuttle to Navy Pier. Make sure you become a Kimpton member so that you get your free wine or fruit platter.. You will also be invited to a nightly Wine reception. This smaller hotel is great not overcrowded like the Marriot was, the line of cars and people checking in.. You can be sure you will wait /2 hr. before you see your room.. The doorman [...] was so helpful giving us advice on where to dine. The kids loved him!!.. Palomar was a GREAT hotel.. Thank you all!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taking your car... right across the st. is outdoor parking for $25.00 a day and in/out privildges Hotel is $45.00 Located on Illonois and Ohio st.. Ask for FADI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
staten island,ny
Jul 16, 2010

good location

Close to the subway and shopping. Lots of restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top