Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
83 reviews
Just perfect

We only stayed one night. The room was great. The location was within walking distance to... See full review

  • D. Clark
  • Jul 9, 2014
Great hotel and staff

Great room and friendly staff. Could not be happier See full review

  • Jake1317
  • Jul 7, 2014
Fitness center with indoor pool and a hot cocktail scene in River North
Sleek and contemporary, the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel puts stylish guests a few minutes from Navy Pier, nightlife and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. A heated indoor swimming pool and sundeck create an oasis on the 17th floor, adjacent to a 24-hour fitness center with skyline views. From the well-appointed modern rooms, head down to the "gastro-lounge." Stop in for a cocktail after the evening hosted wine hour in the lobby living room. Pets are welcome at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel for no extra charge.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor swimming pool
  • In-room spa service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Hosted evening wine hour and complementary morning coffee
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

Created by master interior designer Orlando Diaz-Azcuy, the 261 fashionable guest rooms at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel showcase original artwork, mood lighting and luxurious bedding that includes a variety of pillows plus triple sheeting with Frette linens. Stay in for the night thanks to spa bathrobes, Etro bath amenities, a stocked honor bar and 24-hour room service. The flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station and high-speed wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply) supply ample entertainment. Pets are welcome, and pampered, at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Features

State-of-the art cardio equipment, free weights and balance balls provide a comprehensive workout in the 24-7 fitness center at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Alternatively, request a yoga mat for the room and tune into a personalized yoga and Pilates workout channel. Around the clock, the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply) along with a complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite
1 bedrm ste 1K separate living rm pull out sofa 400 sq ft jetted jacuzzi but walk-in shower
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe 1Kg 325sqft. Amenities include bath robes LCD TV iHome and Etro bath products
Accessible King Spa Premier Room
Accessible King spa premier 1K 490 sqft living rm lower jetted tub walkin shower
King Spa Premier Room
King Spa Premier Rm 1Kg 490sqft studio living rm area jetted jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite 2 Queen B
775 sq ft 2Q separate living rm sleep sofa jacuzzi tub walkin shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite
Luxury 1 Bedrm Ste 1K separate living rm pull out-sofa 775 sqft jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome LCD TV and Etro bath products
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking Station Etro bath
The Artist Suite
The Artist Suite - 867 Square Feet
The Portrait Suite Bedroom
The Portrait Suite Bedroom - 350 Square Feet
Accessible City View King Deluxe
Accessible City View King Deluxe, 325 sq feet
The Portrait Presidential Parlor
Portrait Presidential Parlor - 520 Square Feet
City View King Deluxe Room
Cityview King Deluxe 1Kg 325 sqft higher Unobstructed City View iHome docking station
Accessible City View KG Roll-in
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft Larger bathroom with grab bars
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Rm 365 sqft Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
Accessible DBL DBL Roll-in Showe
Accessble 2 Dbl Bds 365 sqft Roll in showers. Communication Ftrs Avail
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite - 590 Square Feet
Accessible King Deluxe
Accessible King Deluxe 1King 325 sqft Communication features for hearing impaired.
Accessible King DLX Accessible T
Accessible King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft amenities Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

41.891 -87.628
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Sable
An impressive array of single malt scotches and bourbons signature cocktails and diverse beer and wine selections pair perfectly with Chef Heather Terhunes flavorful regional cuisine. From snacks and small plates to large plates and luscious desserts Chef

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynner
Michigan
Nov 22, 2011

Palomar was Disappointing

I was disappointed the whole time. I had booked ( and had called the day before) for queen beds. When we arrived - they said they were all gone and that the hotel was sold out.. That was the one reason I had booked at that hotel. I paid $120.00 more than friends who had booked 2 weeks ago - I had my reservation for 4 weeks. The concierge was supposed to book a reservation for dinner for us , when we arrived at the restaurant - there was no reservation made. The following morning - when we left our room - we waited nearly 15 minutes for an elevator - at one point one of the elevators was carrying housekeeping maids. The coffee and hot chocolate were always empty ....I was disappointed about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NWI
Feb 26, 2011

you dress well to receive good service?

It seemed as though I was not treated as a paying customer because I wasn't dressed to the tee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Unless you consider yourself high-class, I would stay outside this area. People had their noses so high in the air it was disgusting.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAB1
Schaumburg, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Excellent location

Pros: hotel is located in River North, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping; clean and well maintained; excellent water pressure; indoor heated pool for kids; Cons: beds are extremely uncomfortable; only 2 elevators; pool area not well maintained, no towels available despite calling front desk; front desk agent promised to place the "goldfish on loan" in our room for our 6 year old, not delivered; there were no appetizers in the lobby during supposed happy hour;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Xoco and Slurping Turtle

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NWI
Feb 26, 2011

you dress well to receive good service?

It seemed as though I was not treated as a paying customer because I wasn't dressed to the tee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Unless you consider yourself high-class, I would stay outside this area. People had their noses so high in the air it was disgusting.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel fan 34
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

nye 2012

Great location. great room. great resturant. the down side overall review of this hotel is overpriced for what it is,and snobby staff. No nye decoration or even an happy nye at check in. I was given a book of rules when i walked in instead of a friendly hello. You were not allowed to bring ANYTHING AT ALL food or drink wise in the room with you, not even vitaman water!!! The pool was very small and cold .overall rude staff and very very long check out. When I asked for late check out I was deneyed even for an extra charge. When I asked for a room upgrade was also told no wich I understand because of nye , but no were sorry or anything to make up for the lack of cust service. I work in the industry and was not impressed by anything but a really nice room. So if thats all you care about go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend for great shopping are and great dinning. nice room.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 25, 2011

Just okay

Great location! The Thai restaurant across the street Siam Star is really great. Walking distance to shopping and House of Blues. The room wasn't very large but we didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway. We enjoyed the wine reception in the living room area; quite a nice touch. We even met some other guests who were from our area. The young man at the door, who always wore his own stylish hat, was so friendly and personable! Now here are the cons. My husband and I have stayed at the Conrad and never heard as many sirens and fire trucks as we heard at this hotel. So I'm wondering if it's just in a pathway emergency vehicles take often or if the windows aren't as sound proof. We were disappointed our room did not have a coffee maker. We had to go to the living room area to get our coffee if we wanted it. Service at this hotel was inconsistent. The desk was run by young 20somethings and most of the time when walking past you wouldn't get a greeting. There were typically 4 employees at the front desk so it wasn't that they were too busy. When checking in it seemed I was bothering them. Strange behavior for such a highly rated hotel. The hotel's restaurant bar was very understaffed. There was one bartender and when we walked in we were not greeting by either the hostess or the bartender. We sat at a table in the bar for 10 minutes before finally leaving. Again, nothing was said. I'm a very friendly customer so do not miscontrue this review as me being demanding and snooty. I wasn't too upset about all of this because if you aren't happy with a place there are dozens you can try that will. However, I know for the price I won't stay here again. As my husband put it, "it's just missing something." Warmth for one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Topolobampo w/in walking distance. It is pricey but really amazing food. Lots of seafood on the menu.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 25, 2011

Just okay

Great location! The Thai restaurant across the street Siam Star is really great. Walking distance to shopping and House of Blues. The room wasn't very large but we didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway. We enjoyed the wine reception in the living room area; quite a nice touch. We even met some other guests who were from our area. The young man at the door, who always wore his own stylish hat, was so friendly and personable! Now here are the cons. My husband and I have stayed at the Conrad and never heard as many sirens and fire trucks as we heard at this hotel. So I'm wondering if it's just in a pathway emergency vehicles take often or if the windows aren't as sound proof. We were disappointed our room did not have a coffee maker. We had to go to the living room area to get our coffee if we wanted it. Service at this hotel was inconsistent. The desk was run by young 20somethings and most of the time when walking past you wouldn't get a greeting. There were typically 4 employees at the front desk so it wasn't that they were too busy. When checking in it seemed I was bothering them. Strange behavior for such a highly rated hotel. The hotel's restaurant bar was very understaffed. There was one bartender and when we walked in we were not greeting by either the hostess or the bartender. We sat at a table in the bar for 10 minutes before finally leaving. Again, nothing was said. I'm a very friendly customer so do not miscontrue this review as me being demanding and snooty. I wasn't too upset about all of this because if you aren't happy with a place there are dozens you can try that will. However, I know for the price I won't stay here again. As my husband put it, "it's just missing something." Warmth for one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Topolobampo w/in walking distance. It is pricey but really amazing food. Lots of seafood on the menu.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamiLyn
Springfield, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice for the price!

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, with few exceptions. We weren't notified that it would cost an additional $58.00 per 24 hours for valet parking if we brought our car. Other than that it was a great hotel with wonderful staff and a great location in downtown Chicago. There was a small piece of garbage left in one of the closets and the belt loop on the robe in the closet was broken, which I thought was a little off considering this is a very pricey hotel. Considering I saved $100-$150 on the luxury sweet by booking with the booking company, I can't complain too much. It was really a great value for the money I spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's is amazing! Delicious, inexpensive, and a staple of every trip we make to Chicago!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cincinnati travel lover
cincinnati
Jul 30, 2010

fabulous stay!

This was an absolutely wonderful hotel and stay in Chicago! Perfect location, beautiful room, great staff and wine happy hour was lovely! The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because there was no closet or place to hang up clothes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free art museum Thursday night and then concert at Milennium Park where you could spread a blanket and eat/drink your own bottle of wine...fabulous!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
staten island,ny
Jul 16, 2010

good location

Close to the subway and shopping. Lots of restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top