$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
83 reviews
Just perfect

We only stayed one night. The room was great. The location was within walking distance to... See full review

  • D. Clark
  • Jul 9, 2014
Great hotel and staff

Great room and friendly staff. Could not be happier See full review

  • Jake1317
  • Jul 7, 2014
Fitness center with indoor pool and a hot cocktail scene in River North
Sleek and contemporary, the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel puts stylish guests a few minutes from Navy Pier, nightlife and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. A heated indoor swimming pool and sundeck create an oasis on the 17th floor, adjacent to a 24-hour fitness center with skyline views. From the well-appointed modern rooms, head down to the "gastro-lounge." Stop in for a cocktail after the evening hosted wine hour in the lobby living room. Pets are welcome at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel for no extra charge.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor swimming pool
  • In-room spa service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Hosted evening wine hour and complementary morning coffee
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

Created by master interior designer Orlando Diaz-Azcuy, the 261 fashionable guest rooms at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel showcase original artwork, mood lighting and luxurious bedding that includes a variety of pillows plus triple sheeting with Frette linens. Stay in for the night thanks to spa bathrobes, Etro bath amenities, a stocked honor bar and 24-hour room service. The flat-screen TV, MP3 docking station and high-speed wired and wireless Internet access (fees apply) supply ample entertainment. Pets are welcome, and pampered, at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel.

Features

State-of-the art cardio equipment, free weights and balance balls provide a comprehensive workout in the 24-7 fitness center at the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel. Alternatively, request a yoga mat for the room and tune into a personalized yoga and Pilates workout channel. Around the clock, the Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply) along with a complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Several subway stations (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with printer
  • Flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 300 people

Hotel Map

41.891 -87.628
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite
1 bedrm ste 1K separate living rm pull out sofa 400 sq ft jetted jacuzzi but walk-in shower
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe 1Kg 325sqft. Amenities include bath robes LCD TV iHome and Etro bath products
Accessible King Spa Premier Room
Accessible King spa premier 1K 490 sqft living rm lower jetted tub walkin shower
King Spa Premier Room
King Spa Premier Rm 1Kg 490sqft studio living rm area jetted jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite 2 Queen B
775 sq ft 2Q separate living rm sleep sofa jacuzzi tub walkin shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite
Luxury 1 Bedrm Ste 1K separate living rm pull out-sofa 775 sqft jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome LCD TV and Etro bath products
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking Station Etro bath
The Artist Suite
The Artist Suite - 867 Square Feet
The Portrait Suite Bedroom
The Portrait Suite Bedroom - 350 Square Feet
Accessible City View King Deluxe
Accessible City View King Deluxe, 325 sq feet
The Portrait Presidential Parlor
Portrait Presidential Parlor - 520 Square Feet
City View King Deluxe Room
Cityview King Deluxe 1Kg 325 sqft higher Unobstructed City View iHome docking station
Accessible City View KG Roll-in
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft Larger bathroom with grab bars
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Rm 365 sqft Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
Accessible DBL DBL Roll-in Showe
Accessble 2 Dbl Bds 365 sqft Roll in showers. Communication Ftrs Avail
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite - 590 Square Feet
Accessible King Deluxe
Accessible King Deluxe 1King 325 sqft Communication features for hearing impaired.
Accessible King DLX Accessible T
Accessible King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft amenities Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Sable
An impressive array of single malt scotches and bourbons signature cocktails and diverse beer and wine selections pair perfectly with Chef Heather Terhunes flavorful regional cuisine. From snacks and small plates to large plates and luscious desserts Chef

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 83
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
rochester mi
Jul 31, 2010

great hotel great location

Hotel was very clean and nice. I loved the free coffee in the morning in the lobby and the wine reception every night. It was a nice touch to make my stay even more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
rochester mi
Jul 31, 2010

great hotel great location

Hotel was very clean and nice. I loved the free coffee in the morning in the lobby and the wine reception every night. It was a nice touch to make my stay even more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreamchaaazer
Minneapolis, MN.
Feb 16, 2011

Highly Highly Recommended

It was Valentines Day. At check in the friendly lady at the front desk offered my wife a complimentary rose, and our puppy a treat. I must say that we were a little afraid of what a pet friendly hotel would be like. It was an absolutely beautiful and modern hotel that was VERY clean. We have stayed at many hotels all over the world, and this one was one of our favorites. I would highly recommend it to people with, or without pets. It is also in a great location. The staff was polite and curtious. The room was newly remodeled and very modern. The price was more than fair. We will be staying with them again... P.S. No signs of bed bugs.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping the Magnificient Mile, Navy Pier, The river, grocery and convienance store 1/2 block, restaurants all around it.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty and Doug
Maryland, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Chicago December

wonderful stay. very comfortable. great location to visit the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreamchaaazer
Minneapolis, MN.
Feb 16, 2011

Highly Highly Recommended

It was Valentines Day. At check in the friendly lady at the front desk offered my wife a complimentary rose, and our puppy a treat. I must say that we were a little afraid of what a pet friendly hotel would be like. It was an absolutely beautiful and modern hotel that was VERY clean. We have stayed at many hotels all over the world, and this one was one of our favorites. I would highly recommend it to people with, or without pets. It is also in a great location. The staff was polite and curtious. The room was newly remodeled and very modern. The price was more than fair. We will be staying with them again... P.S. No signs of bed bugs.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping the Magnificient Mile, Navy Pier, The river, grocery and convienance store 1/2 block, restaurants all around it.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamiLyn
Springfield, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice for the price!

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, with few exceptions. We weren't notified that it would cost an additional $58.00 per 24 hours for valet parking if we brought our car. Other than that it was a great hotel with wonderful staff and a great location in downtown Chicago. There was a small piece of garbage left in one of the closets and the belt loop on the robe in the closet was broken, which I thought was a little off considering this is a very pricey hotel. Considering I saved $100-$150 on the luxury sweet by booking with the booking company, I can't complain too much. It was really a great value for the money I spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's is amazing! Delicious, inexpensive, and a staple of every trip we make to Chicago!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach
Aug 18, 2010

Excellent hotel in excellent location

Excellent location. Very clean hotel. Staff were very receptive to questions and concerns. I would definitely stay there again. The room seemed a little small (but probably was average compared to other rooms in similar hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wife and daughters loved the proximity of the great shopping. Mag Mile and Norstroms were directly behind the hotel!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling family from MN
Minnesota
Jul 9, 2014

Great hotel

It's very rare even in high rated hotels is that the room immaculate; temperature control perfect; beds, towels, and linens smooth and plush. We were delighted with this hotel, and would definitely stay here again. Great location, too. Only downside was noise during the night, but it is a big city. There was wine in the afternoon and coffee in the morning. We also ate at the restaurant next door and it was great, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sable was great. There is also an Italian restaurant, Quarntino, nearby that the staff recommended. We really enjoyed it, too, and ate there twice!

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark traveller
Miami, FL, USA
May 27, 2014

Excellent Staty

Great Location, excellent Service (Excellent!!). I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Dining all around.

Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Mom of 2
Long Island, N.Y.
Aug 22, 2010

FANTASTIC!!!!!!

Fabulous staff, The Concierge [...] was so helpful and nice. Told us what was NOT worth doing and what would work best for us.. The location is great, walking distance to the Magnificant Mile and across st. from free shuttle to Navy Pier. Make sure you become a Kimpton member so that you get your free wine or fruit platter.. You will also be invited to a nightly Wine reception. This smaller hotel is great not overcrowded like the Marriot was, the line of cars and people checking in.. You can be sure you will wait /2 hr. before you see your room.. The doorman [...] was so helpful giving us advice on where to dine. The kids loved him!!.. Palomar was a GREAT hotel.. Thank you all!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taking your car... right across the st. is outdoor parking for $25.00 a day and in/out privildges Hotel is $45.00 Located on Illonois and Ohio st.. Ask for FADI

Back to menu Return to top