$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Hotel

The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was great. Amazing cocktails Room was clean, big, and... See full review

  • Chi city traveler
  • Aug 12, 2014
Wonderful hotel, Perfect Location

This hotel had everything - it was perfectly situated in the River North area - close to great... See full review

  • Laura L.
  • Aug 4, 2014
Hotel Palomar Chicago The experience at Hotel Palomar is one of timeless sophistication paying homage to arts many articulations such as visual art fashion dance literature and architecture

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Rm 365 sqft Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
The Artist Suite
The Artist Suite - 867 Square Feet
The Portrait Suite Bedroom
The Portrait Suite Bedroom - 350 Square Feet
The Portrait Presidential Parlor
Portrait Presidential Parlor - 520 Square Feet
Accessible DBL DBL Roll-in Showe
Accessble 2 Dbl Bds 365 sqft Roll in showers. Communication Ftrs Avail
Accessible City View King Deluxe
Accessible City View King Deluxe, 325 sq feet
Accessible King Spa Premier Room
Accessible King spa premier 1K 490 sqft living rm lower jetted tub walkin shower
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome LCD TV and Etro bath products
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite 2 Queen B
775 sq ft 2Q separate living rm sleep sofa jacuzzi tub walkin shower
Accessible King Deluxe
Accessible King Deluxe 1King 325 sqft Communication features for hearing impaired.
Accessible King DLX Accessible T
Accessible King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft amenities Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
Accessible City View KG Roll-in
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft Larger bathroom with grab bars
1 Bedroom Suite
1 bedrm ste 1K separate living rm pull out sofa 400 sq ft jetted jacuzzi but walk-in shower
City View King Deluxe Room
Cityview King Deluxe 1Kg 325 sqft higher Unobstructed City View iHome docking station
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite - 590 Square Feet
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe 1Kg 325sqft. Amenities include bath robes LCD TV iHome and Etro bath products
King Spa Premier Room
King Spa Premier Rm 1Kg 490sqft studio living rm area jetted jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite
Luxury 1 Bedrm Ste 1K separate living rm pull out-sofa 775 sqft jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking Station Etro bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Sable
An impressive array of single malt scotches and bourbons signature cocktails and diverse beer and wine selections pair perfectly with Chef Heather Terhunes flavorful regional cuisine. From snacks and small plates to large plates and luscious desserts Chef

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoDucks99
Business
North Carolina.
Oct 13, 2014

Would return

Great location. Easy couple of walking blocks to Michigan Avenue. Variety of good restaurants and bars within 1-3 blocks. Taxis also easy to get at this location. At 5 p.m., hotel serves free wine for about an hour -- and decent wine, too. Front desk staff all friendly and helpful. Didn't use the pool, but looked nice either for lap swimming and had a shallow area for kids. Also, there was a small but nice terrace off of the pool area. Hotel will print out your airlines boarding passes just by leaving a form on your room door. Bathroom shower was wonderful -- hot and good water pressure (10th floor). But bathroom could have used a few hooks to hang things. Seems to be missing in a number of modern hotels that we've visited. Must be a trend in hotel design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Art Institute was spectacular. We walked -- maybe 20 minutes from the hotel. Easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling family from MN
Business
Minnesota
Jul 9, 2014

Great hotel

It's very rare even in high rated hotels is that the room immaculate; temperature control perfect; beds, towels, and linens smooth and plush. We were delighted with this hotel, and would definitely stay here again. Great location, too. Only downside was noise during the night, but it is a big city. There was wine in the afternoon and coffee in the morning. We also ate at the restaurant next door and it was great, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sable was great. There is also an Italian restaurant, Quarntino, nearby that the staff recommended. We really enjoyed it, too, and ate there twice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark traveller
Business
Miami, FL, USA
May 27, 2014

Excellent Staty

Great Location, excellent Service (Excellent!!). I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Dining all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamiLyn
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice for the price!

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, with few exceptions. We weren't notified that it would cost an additional $58.00 per 24 hours for valet parking if we brought our car. Other than that it was a great hotel with wonderful staff and a great location in downtown Chicago. There was a small piece of garbage left in one of the closets and the belt loop on the robe in the closet was broken, which I thought was a little off considering this is a very pricey hotel. Considering I saved $100-$150 on the luxury sweet by booking with the booking company, I can't complain too much. It was really a great value for the money I spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's is amazing! Delicious, inexpensive, and a staple of every trip we make to Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAB1
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Excellent location

Pros: hotel is located in River North, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping; clean and well maintained; excellent water pressure; indoor heated pool for kids; Cons: beds are extremely uncomfortable; only 2 elevators; pool area not well maintained, no towels available despite calling front desk; front desk agent promised to place the "goldfish on loan" in our room for our 6 year old, not delivered; there were no appetizers in the lobby during supposed happy hour;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Xoco and Slurping Turtle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Total Package
Business
Michigan
Jan 1, 2013

After Christmas Getaway

Hotel was located close to shops, restaurants, Magnificient Mile. It was very clean room and bathroom. Flat screen TV. Free coffee in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty and Doug
Business
Maryland, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Chicago December

wonderful stay. very comfortable. great location to visit the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GONY
Business
NY
Oct 12, 2012

good location but maintenance of bathroom facilities can be improved

good location, lobby but maintenance of bathroom facilities can be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynner
Business
Michigan
Nov 22, 2011

Palomar was Disappointing

I was disappointed the whole time. I had booked ( and had called the day before) for queen beds. When we arrived - they said they were all gone and that the hotel was sold out.. That was the one reason I had booked at that hotel. I paid $120.00 more than friends who had booked 2 weeks ago - I had my reservation for 4 weeks. The concierge was supposed to book a reservation for dinner for us , when we arrived at the restaurant - there was no reservation made. The following morning - when we left our room - we waited nearly 15 minutes for an elevator - at one point one of the elevators was carrying housekeeping maids. The coffee and hot chocolate were always empty ....I was disappointed about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreamchaaazer
Business
Minneapolis, MN.
Feb 16, 2011

Highly Highly Recommended

It was Valentines Day. At check in the friendly lady at the front desk offered my wife a complimentary rose, and our puppy a treat. I must say that we were a little afraid of what a pet friendly hotel would be like. It was an absolutely beautiful and modern hotel that was VERY clean. We have stayed at many hotels all over the world, and this one was one of our favorites. I would highly recommend it to people with, or without pets. It is also in a great location. The staff was polite and curtious. The room was newly remodeled and very modern. The price was more than fair. We will be staying with them again... P.S. No signs of bed bugs.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping the Magnificient Mile, Navy Pier, The river, grocery and convienance store 1/2 block, restaurants all around it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top