$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Hotel

The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was great. Amazing cocktails Room was clean, big, and... See full review

  • Chi city traveler
  • Aug 12, 2014
Wonderful hotel, Perfect Location

This hotel had everything - it was perfectly situated in the River North area - close to great... See full review

  • Laura L.
  • Aug 4, 2014
Hotel Palomar Chicago The experience at Hotel Palomar is one of timeless sophistication paying homage to arts many articulations such as visual art fashion dance literature and architecture

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Accessible Double Double Deluxe Rm 365 sqft Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
The Artist Suite
The Artist Suite - 867 Square Feet
The Portrait Suite Bedroom
The Portrait Suite Bedroom - 350 Square Feet
The Portrait Presidential Parlor
Portrait Presidential Parlor - 520 Square Feet
Accessible DBL DBL Roll-in Showe
Accessble 2 Dbl Bds 365 sqft Roll in showers. Communication Ftrs Avail
Accessible City View King Deluxe
Accessible City View King Deluxe, 325 sq feet
Accessible King Spa Premier Room
Accessible King spa premier 1K 490 sqft living rm lower jetted tub walkin shower
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Ro
Accessible Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome LCD TV and Etro bath products
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite 2 Queen B
775 sq ft 2Q separate living rm sleep sofa jacuzzi tub walkin shower
Accessible King Deluxe
Accessible King Deluxe 1King 325 sqft Communication features for hearing impaired.
Accessible King DLX Accessible T
Accessible King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft amenities Bathroom with grab bars by toilet and in tub
Accessible City View KG Roll-in
Accessible Cityview King Deluxe 1K 325 sqft Larger bathroom with grab bars
1 Bedroom Suite
1 bedrm ste 1K separate living rm pull out sofa 400 sq ft jetted jacuzzi but walk-in shower
City View King Deluxe Room
Cityview King Deluxe 1Kg 325 sqft higher Unobstructed City View iHome docking station
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite
The Mosaic Hospitality Suite - 590 Square Feet
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe 1Kg 325sqft. Amenities include bath robes LCD TV iHome and Etro bath products
King Spa Premier Room
King Spa Premier Rm 1Kg 490sqft studio living rm area jetted jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite
Luxury 1 Bedrm Ste 1K separate living rm pull out-sofa 775 sqft jacuzzi tub walk-in shower
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Rm 2Q 365 sqft Bathrobes iHome Docking Station Etro bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Sable
An impressive array of single malt scotches and bourbons signature cocktails and diverse beer and wine selections pair perfectly with Chef Heather Terhunes flavorful regional cuisine. From snacks and small plates to large plates and luscious desserts Chef

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MN Dan
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 1, 2013

Location, Comfort and Style

50 feet from Redline Grand Ave Stop. Hotel was great. Bed was super comfortable. Fitness Center was great. Got a great deal on price. I can't really think of anything to make it better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grahamwich for a great sandwich.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty and Doug
Business
Maryland, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Chicago December

wonderful stay. very comfortable. great location to visit the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bump in the road
Business
Okemos, MI
Dec 28, 2012

I had a great time visiting my daughter.

I was visiting my daughter. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel restaurant is excellent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RPM Italian is a great restaurant for a cocktail or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple in lovee
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 18, 2012

Awesome weekend

We had a wonderful weekend at the Palomar. It was conveniently right outside the train station as well as a block away from the Magnificent Mile shopping district. We were thoroughly impressed with the amenities and staff. There were also many lovely restaurants in the area as well as a solid nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a block away check out Shaw's Crab House for Sunday brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathyrie
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Dec 8, 2012

Sexy and chic

Lovely staff. There was a line when I checked in, but it moved quickly. Staff were engaging and warm as well as efficient. I love a good hotel lobby and this one has a chic and comfortable "living room" with a gas fireplace. Coffee, tea and a hot chocolate bar are served there in the morning. Great place to read the paper and people watch. Room was chic, spacious and great city view. Only complaint was that several of the light switches seemed to be broken. We had drinks and dinner in the hotel restaurant, SABLE, before heading to the theater. Service and food both great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the shrimp and grits!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GONY
Business
NY
Oct 12, 2012

good location but maintenance of bathroom facilities can be improved

good location, lobby but maintenance of bathroom facilities can be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beer traveler
Business
Alexandria, VA
Oct 1, 2012

Good Service & Location

The Palomar is in a great location, convenient to shopping, dining and entertainment. The staff is friendly and efficient. Room service arrives at the appointed time. Our breakfast was good. The staff was uniformly friendly and courteous. We would definitely stay here again. Great for vacation or business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the rooftop bar across the street at the Rock Bottom Brewery Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodie Tourist
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 18, 2012

Great Long Weekend

Perfect trip. From the helpful concierge (who directed us to great restaurants and shopping and who had champagne and strawberries delivered to our room for our anniversary) to the seriously incredible soaking tub in the king spa room, this was a truly great travel experience. The hotel is very conveniently located near many tourist attractions and great restaurants. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel fan 34
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

nye 2012

Great location. great room. great resturant. the down side overall review of this hotel is overpriced for what it is,and snobby staff. No nye decoration or even an happy nye at check in. I was given a book of rules when i walked in instead of a friendly hello. You were not allowed to bring ANYTHING AT ALL food or drink wise in the room with you, not even vitaman water!!! The pool was very small and cold .overall rude staff and very very long check out. When I asked for late check out I was deneyed even for an extra charge. When I asked for a room upgrade was also told no wich I understand because of nye , but no were sorry or anything to make up for the lack of cust service. I work in the industry and was not impressed by anything but a really nice room. So if thats all you care about go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend for great shopping are and great dinning. nice room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lynner
Business
Michigan
Nov 22, 2011

Palomar was Disappointing

I was disappointed the whole time. I had booked ( and had called the day before) for queen beds. When we arrived - they said they were all gone and that the hotel was sold out.. That was the one reason I had booked at that hotel. I paid $120.00 more than friends who had booked 2 weeks ago - I had my reservation for 4 weeks. The concierge was supposed to book a reservation for dinner for us , when we arrived at the restaurant - there was no reservation made. The following morning - when we left our room - we waited nearly 15 minutes for an elevator - at one point one of the elevators was carrying housekeeping maids. The coffee and hot chocolate were always empty ....I was disappointed about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top