$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 505 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Corker
Mid Michigan
Jan 23, 2013

Great hotel, but oh what a bar

January in Chicago is a time for deals and this was an excellent one. Excellent price on a hip, comfortable hotel. Nice touches with the happy hour and snacks in the lobby. Friendly staff. But the bar!!!! The best cocktails in Chicago I've had. Amazing whiskey selection. We never ventured off of the appetizers and we happy we did not. New cocktail, new appetizer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Donut Vault for breakfast. Get when it opens or you will be out of luck. These are the best tasting donuts I've ever had and I consider my self a man that appreciates fried dough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamiLyn
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Sep 4, 2013

Very nice for the price!

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, with few exceptions. We weren't notified that it would cost an additional $58.00 per 24 hours for valet parking if we brought our car. Other than that it was a great hotel with wonderful staff and a great location in downtown Chicago. There was a small piece of garbage left in one of the closets and the belt loop on the robe in the closet was broken, which I thought was a little off considering this is a very pricey hotel. Considering I saved $100-$150 on the luxury sweet by booking with the booking company, I can't complain too much. It was really a great value for the money I spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's is amazing! Delicious, inexpensive, and a staple of every trip we make to Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jays getaway
Business
Chicago, il
Sep 1, 2013

Romantic getaway

This was just a nice night out. Super nice hotel room for a great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Godaveygo
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 1, 2013

Last night in Chicago

The staff were great and very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Would have made for a great extended stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many El train options in just a couple of blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2013

Pricey but good

We enjoyed our stay at the Palomar - great staff, great location. It's pricey and we've had much nicer rooms for less $. There's a pool (no spa), a small outdoor sun deck, a work out room. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning and a wine hour (5-6) in the afternoon. Lots of great places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Purple Pig on Mag Mile!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicagogirl from Texas
Business
Texas
Jun 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel

The Palomar was an excellent hotel! Great location, in fact, it is perfect location to mass transit (across the street), on the route for free trolley to Navy pier (comes by every 15 minutes), in the heart of downtown. Really enjoyed the 5 pm wine tasting and wonderful coffee in the morning. We loved everything about the hotel and now fans of Kimpton Hotels! My advise is to STAY at the Palomar. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy Pier is a happening place day and night, from the live music to the fire works on Wed and Saturday night, Navy Pier, the stain glass museum, the rides, the boat rides are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDSSSS
Business
Phila
May 2, 2013

Overall excellent

Hotel is clean, rooms are spacious. Overall a good value, but a bit out of the way depending upon which business district you are operating in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boulder Girl
Business
Boulder, CO
Apr 16, 2013

Fabulous Hotel

We had a fantastic stay over Easter weekend. The hotel is in an excellent location with super easy access to the subway. The room was very nice; we were on the 14th floor with an awesome city view. Make sure to get the cucumber and lemon ice water in the lobby to refresh you after a day of touring around the city. The hotel is excellent, but the best part of our stay was definitely the staff. From the check in, everyone was friendly, helpful, and had a smile. Jean Luc is a wonderful bell hop who we got to know pretty well on the elevator, the entrance, and the bar. Don't miss the cocktails in Sable, the bar. They're pricey, but worth EVERY PENNY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of costly cabs, use the subway on State/Grand. A 7 day unlimited pass is only $28, and a 3 day is about $14. A cab ride for 2 anywhere costs at least $10 with a tip. We got 7 day passes even though we were only there 5 days. (You can use it to get to either airport as well!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAB1
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Excellent location

Pros: hotel is located in River North, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping; clean and well maintained; excellent water pressure; indoor heated pool for kids; Cons: beds are extremely uncomfortable; only 2 elevators; pool area not well maintained, no towels available despite calling front desk; front desk agent promised to place the "goldfish on loan" in our room for our 6 year old, not delivered; there were no appetizers in the lobby during supposed happy hour;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Xoco and Slurping Turtle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
decorator lady
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 28, 2013

Downtown visit

Phenomenal location on State street only a few blocks from Mag Mile shopping, a half dozen blocks from Merchandise Mart and near amazing River North restaurants. Loved the helpful staff too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to River North restaurant Slurping Turtle by top chef master Takashi! Delish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dcarl1
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 30, 2013

Great hotel in a convenient location

Rooms and staff are phenomenal. The business center arrangements are fairly awful though. I was charged almost $30 to print a few simple documents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top